Rising Star Fuller French: “Blaze your own trail; Many young musicians try to sound like their musical influences instead of finding their own sound”

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readJul 23, 2019

--

…Another very important bit of advice is to blaze your own trail. A lot of younger musicians try to sound like their musical influences instead of finding their own sound. That was certainly the case with me and I should’ve concerned myself more with my style instead of trying to sound like this person or that person. But it comes with time and fortunately I progressed quickly enough that it didn’t weigh me down. As Miles Davis wrote in his autobiography, one of the hardest things a musician can do is sound like oneself. It’s also a remarkable feeling when you find it.

We had the pleasure to interview Fuller French. Fuller is the Texas born and bred singer, songwriter and pianist known for swooning audiences with romantic lyrics and his debonair demeanor. Mused by the quick-witted banter ensuing one’s innate search for

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator