Rising Star Jason A. Rodriguez: “How we can decrease gentrification by expanding, lifting and adapting our community with the arts”

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readJan 5, 2020

--

I’d like to start a movement to protect your community. I would call it the Zenith Movement. Creating a zenith institution of the arts to help decrease gentrification by expanding, lifting and adapting your community with the arts.

As a part of my series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Jason A. Rodriguez. Jason is an American dancer and actor famous for depicting Lemar in Fx’s TV series Pose. Not only can you witness Jason’s acting skill in the highly acclaimed drama series, Pose, but also his choreographic prowess. Jason portraying a gay character opposite Jeremy McClain who plays Cubby.

Thank you so much for joining us Jason. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Born and raised in Washington Heights, Uptown Manhattan. I spent many summers in Dominican Republic which made me feel very connected to my culture. I was raised as an only child who was introverted and would come home to play video games. Found acting in the Drama Club in high school and played Shakespeare…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator