Rising Star JR Rodriguez On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

An Interview With Elana Cohen

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
12 min readFeb 2, 2023

--

Find your wheelhouse. For me, it’s father roles…Has been for long time. I played Warbucks the first time at 30. The challenging roles will come…But even with writing…Write where you’re comfortable. Write what you know. Push yourself once you get a rhythm…But, get the rhythm first.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing J.R. Rodriguez.

J.R. is an Award Winning Actor and Writer and a student of Emmy Award winner and Founding Artistic Director of Opera House Theatre Company, Lou Criscuolo. With over 150 theatre credits and (Much fewer, but) a number of film credits to his name, J.R. has travelled the east coast in the roles of Oliver Warbucks and John Adam. He has written 5 screenplay including festival favorite PROPHETS(A thriller dealing with the Human Trafficking issue in a small town interwoven with local mythology) and the new comedy Never Break The Chain or The Effects of Rumours on Our Lives, a semi-autobiographical story about 6 friends desperately adjusting to turning 50. With producers Jonathan Landau, Ryan Risley and Marty Landau, the journey of Remember Yesterday has been a bit of a struggle, but one he would take on again. “Telling stories is the the most basic form of displaying human emotion to the masses. Yelling at one another has grown tiresome. I hope my stories bring us back to listening to one another.” J.R. is based in Wilmington NC

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in small town, Wilmington, NC during the 70’s and 80’s and even then, I knew I was in a different town than most southern out post. My father was a retired Army man who earned a second career at General Electric and my mother work in school cafeterias advancing up to managing her own school. I remember the first rated R movie I saw was by accident. Before my father got out of the army, we would go to the Post cinema. He said he was taking me to see Cinderella and of course, it wasn’t. I believe he just knew my mother wouldn’t approve of him watching The Godfather, so take someone who didn’t have approval rights and he could get out of the house. I can tell you this, The movie had a great effect on me and I knew I wanted to be in entertainment…Not knowing what that was gonna be. I had great people in my life, but they mostly followed a path of things they wanted to do, but…They weren’t quite as, how can I put it…exciting as what I wanted to do. I know now, after making my first movie, it ain’t all glitz and glamour. I proceeded to spend most of my adult life getting drunk in bars and telling anyone that would listen that I was gonna be big, BIG I tell ya. All while ordering another drink and accomplishing nothing. When I finally got sober, I was 46 and saw where I had landed and thought…Screwed the dog there, huh? I had written a few script and shot a few shorts, but you could tell, I didn’t know what the hell I was doing. Then I met Jon Landau and his wife Marty and the journey for Remember Yesterday began.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

Sure. I wanted to be famous. Politics didn’t interest me back then…It does now. But, I guess I was so unhappy of who I was…I didn’t feel like I fit in, still don’t, really…So, I wanted to act. I liked falling into another “Person’s” shoes. Then I met Lou Criscuolo, and I really became an actor.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Actually, it happened not long ago. I was working on an episode of Superstitions with Mario Van Peebles. Now, I don’t like getting in the way that much when I’m on a set because, well…I know I’m there for a job, not a pat on the back. Mario came up to me when he had a break and I must say, Anthony Bourdain had died that morning and I truly admired Bourdain then. I guess it’s kismet what happened. I was feeling a little down and I had been called to the set. And like I said, Mario came over when he had a break. Now, this guy had been working ALL DAY and I know he’s in great shape, but he had to be tired. Didn’t show it. He had all the energy of a 20 year old kid and he told me how happy he was I was there, the whole bit. I told him I had found out about casting a week earlier and how my father’s favorite Eastwood movie is Heartbreak Ridge. Plus, my father is a big fan of New Jack City. I told him my father had watched Heartbreak Ridge 10 times since I got the call and how all our neighbors now knew (And probably sick of it) that I was gonna be working with Mario Van Peebles. This guy, being told were running long says, “We gotta get a photo for Pop.” He wouldn’t budge until we got a photo I thought Pop would be happy with. That’s Mario Van Peebles. My father, until he got sick, showed that photo to anyone who walked through the door.

It has been said that mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I hope this doesn’t get me in trouble. Years ago, a buddy of mine wanted to produce Steel Magnolias with an all male cast. Being from the south, I know what that show means, so, I was playing Clairee and hell or high water, I was doing it. So, I refused to read for anything else. And I was good, Jack. So, while day drinking with the director, I had to take a pee. As I’m standing there, relieving myself, the director buddy comes in. Now, remember, I was half in the bag. He looks at me and says “Loved your audition. Thought it was great. I need you to play M’lynn.” I was fuming. THE MOTHER!!! “Just sit in on the read through and we’ll go from there”. He was right…I was wrong. I’ve done the role twice now. (Ladies, I promise, I have learned from my mistakes, I’ll never do it again.)

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I wrote a story called PROPHETS, a thriller in a small town. It deals with human trafficking and is interwoven with local folklore. I did a lot of research and it’s shocking how, the government wants to do the bare minimum and yet pat themselves on the back. New Hanover County is the smallest county in North Carolina, yet is rank 3rd in number of cases. I hope I get to make it. I’ve also just finished a semi-autobiographical screenplay about an aging (50’s) group of friends dealing with death, alcoholism, infidelity, life after death and over looking what’s right in front of you. And that’s the funny stuff. I did a lot of weird things in my life…And my friends, well…They did them with me.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

I like the quote, and I can’t remember who said it, but…No one fails, they just quit too soon. The most exciting thing in Entertainment right now, at least for me, is what is happening to Ke Huy Quan. What a beautiful soul. Now, of course, he’s worked a lot, but, MAN…This whole run with Everything, Everywhere All At Once is so majestic and he’s response to it, so wonderfully Noble. I truly believe we can do this…I was a 46 year old drunk theatre actor, who in 10 years…Cleaned himself up, wrote a script and has a movie coming out. And I’m not smart…You smarter folks out there, DO IT!!!

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Going back to Steel Magnolias, yeah, it was fun, it was cute…But, it was disrespectful to Female Actors. I honestly believe that. I didn’t think like that when I had a bottle in my hand, but I’m now seeing America for all it’s beautiful colors and shapes and angles. If we were all walking the same direction, that would be boring. What we have missed for so long, take out all the bigotry and racism and sexism and bring it down to the barest of bones…Color, shapes and angles are far more interesting. A director I know, Erika Edwards doesn’t say good or great…She wants something interesting. I’m sure others have said that, but from her, I noticed. I’m not saying bigotry, racism and sexism don’t exist, they do…And they have been triggered. What they don’t understand is, Women can direct, people of color can write and people of ALL colors, shapes and angles can create magic. Stifling that is not only hateful…But, to me, it’s irresponsible. JP Morgan, much like modern day Elon Musk, he didn’t create things, he bought them and took credit for them. It’s easy when you are the upper crust. It’s hard to see the floor with your head up your ass. But I like being down here on the ground and seeing all the beautiful colors, amazing shapes and interesting angles.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

1. Someone once told me I was a good actor. Won an award for a performance and I was off. That was stupid. I wish someone would have told me to listen. Not just to characters, but to experienced actors.

2. I wish is was more aware, early on, of diversity. I’ve been directing stage for a while…And I always played it safe. With a guy I met in an airport once, just playing Willie Loman(The incredible Wendall Pierce) on Broadway, man, proves, don’t play it safe. The sky is the limit!!!…I’d love to go back and reexamine some Williams pieces I’ve directed…Could change the meanings.

3. Always be working. I’m an Aquarius, and an actor should always be looking at people. Being an Aquarius, I do that anyway, but it took me years to realize…That’s part of the gig. Go to the mall and start a starin’!!!

4. I wish I had the money before we started filming. I was so ready to start, I didn’t wait…Subsequently, I had to go back and raise money 5 times. Don’t do it. It’s frustrating.

5. Five is easy. Find your wheelhouse. For me, it’s father roles…Has been for long time. I played Warbucks the first time at 30. The challenging roles will come…But even with writing…Write where you’re comfortable. Write what you know. Push yourself once you get a rhythm…But, get the rhythm first.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I really don’t know. I really, I like working and if I only didn’t need that side hustle and just do this all the time. Man, I’m in for the long hours. There is NOTHING like a night on a set or an entire day in blocking rehearsal. It’s pure heaven to me.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Other than firing every politician in the country and starting from scratch you mean? Naive, I know…

It is senseless for us to continue to blindly call ourselves the greatest nation on earth and turn a blind eye to so much that is, I’ll be kind, no good in this country. What kills me most is seeing a hungry kid. Any kid suffering, it just brings me to my knees. Why are the richest of the bunch still racing to see who is the best? Why does our government waste so much money on toys they never use. How do these people sleep at night, knowing there are children steps away from them that are going to sleep without food. And then there’s the middle of the pack that, even a dollar here a dollar there is too much. I know people are struggling, but man…If we could find a middle ground. Agree on something that would benefit others…And really agree on it and hold people accountable, that would be be a start. We have far too many problems to concentrate on just one. But if we could start with kids…Give them a future. They might actually take care of us when we are on the other side of it.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I met Lou Criscuolo in 1989 the first time. We didn’t hit it off at all. Fortunately, a director for his company, Kevin Warner (Gotta mention him right?) Needed a Kralahome for a production of The King and I (Another mistake, I know, The Kralahome should be Asian…I know now) so Kevin brought me in. Lou and I had a chance to actually talk to one another. My acting world changed. Lou had come from New York, The Actor’s Studio and he studied with Strasberg. Now, I think Strasberg hung the moon…Then, I got to know Lou and that changed. My love for Strasberg never has died, but Lou was the teacher I NEEDED. And yes, he would yell at me when I was phoning it in or not concentrating, but he also always made me feel like I was important. I wish I had always listened, but…I didn’t. I left for a while and when I got back, I was working the deck of a production of Les Miserables for Lou. We were outside smoking a cigarette and he asked me what was new in my life. I told him I had quit drinking. He grabbed my head, kissed me on the cheek and said “I’m very proud of you.” When we lost Lou, there was and I think still is a big void in the Wilmington Theatre World…I still haven’t fully recovered and it’s been a number of years now. The movie is dedicated to him.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Lou told me once, the best advice Elia Kazan ever gave him was, don’t act, be. I like that best.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Well, The Dalia Lama of course, but…

Right now, Ke Huy Quan…the man has been ringing the bell for a long time and he’s finally getting the REALLY BIG STUFFED BEAR!!! Just seeing his face light up the way it did at The Golden Globes was pure magic…My first question would be, what was it like to drive a car at your age with Harrison Ford & Kate Capshaw in the back seat, knowing if you wrecked the director would lose his mind because he put his wife in the car with a kid driving…(Probably wouldn’t REALLY be my first question)

How can our readers follow you online?

https://www.facebook.com/jrsegtefilms (FB)

Theetobbotfilms — Instagram

@JRsFilmWorld — Twitter

@RememberMovieNC — Twitter

@RememberYesterdayMovie — Instagram

@RmemberYesterdaymovie — FB

Tobbot Films- FB Group

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

I’m very fortunate to be allowed to join you. Thank you for the invitation and I hope, when I have something else, you’ll bring me back. My deepest heartfelt thank you.

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music