Rising Star Julia Garcia On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

An Interview With Elana Cohen

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
7 min readMar 14, 2024

--

Don’t take yourself too seriously. This was definitely my issue in the beginning as a young child actor, you want to do well and book the next job. At the end of the day being relaxed and easy-going is what is going to set you apart from others.

As a part of my series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Julia Garcia

Julia Garcia is best known for her recurring role on Disney Channel’s Sydney to the Max with Ruth Righi and Jackson Dollinger which is still airing new episodes internationally. Other notable roles include a recurring role on ABC’s Fresh off the Boat alongside Randall Park and Constance Wu as well as guest starring roles on S.W.A.T. with Shemar Moore and Station 19 with Stefania Spampinato. The Station 19 episode had several clips that went viral including one clip reaching 36.7 million views. Since her start in the industry at just 5 years old, this Cuban/Filipino actress has over 20 National Commercial Campaigns. Julia has started working behind the camera as well, producing movies in 2022. Her first short film Abuelo qualified for Oscar consideration and her second short Sharing the Floor with Lily Brooks O’Briant won numerous awards. Her most recent producing credit is the documentary Shura, which is in the final stages of being Oscar qualified as well. A classically trained ballerina, Julia can now add teaching to her extensive resume. Currently she assists world renowned teachers/choreographers with their video tutorials for Millennium Dance Complex. Knowing the value of giving back to her community, Julia lends her voice to such charities as CHLA and St. Jude Children’s Hospital. When not studying to learn everything she can about her craft, she enjoys spending time with friends, mixed martial arts, and boxing.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I’m the youngest child, I have one older brother named Jaxon who’s my best friend. I always loved to dance so my parents put me in ballet classes at the age of two. I really enjoy performing and at the age of four I transitioned into acting first with commercials and eventually into theatrical. I’m currently 17 years old and I’ve literally grown up in front of the camera.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

Dancing on stage ignited my love for performing. I begged my parents to put me on tv, but they had no idea where to even begin. I was four years old and saw a friend in a McDonalds commercial. I turned to my mother and said to call her she knows. The rest is history, thank you Izabella Alvarez.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your entertainment career?

When I was twelve years old, I was on set filming a television show. We had wrapped for the day and some of us were hanging out riding bikes on the studio lot. I was messing around doing tricks and, in an attempt to avoid hitting a soundstage wall, I hit the brake really hard and flew over the handlebars. I chipped my front tooth and had road rash all over my face and arms. Production had to strategize camera angles because filming continued the next day.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

This isn’t necessarily a funny story, but I was really young when I first started acting. Being so young, there was a time when I would look down at my mark when walking into a scene. It really wasn’t a big deal; some may say barely noticeable. Looking back on footage, I cringe but I would make it a game of trying not to look at my mark. One time a well-known actor walked in and he looked at his mark while we were rolling. After we cut I called him out on it, I didn’t know any better. Thankfully he was very kind and we both laughed about it and to this day we cross paths and point to the ground. Over the years I had to learn to trust myself, my placement (mark) now becomes second nature.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now? How do you think that might help people?

There are a few interesting projects I’m currently working on, unfortunately due to NDAs there’s very little I can discuss, but one of the projects I’m passionate about at the moment is about a mythological creature from South America that torments a family. I’m so passionate about it because this creature comes from Latin America folk tales. Bringing my culture and other Latino cultures to light in front of the camera means a lot to people. I feel that when people and cultures are represented in front of the camera it resonates and I can only hope that people can see small aspects of themselves in the movies I make.

Most young people your age don’t have to balance work and school. Can you tell us how you manage to balance your schoolwork, auditions, and time on set?

Wow, great question balance is difficult, and I try to understand the intention behind what I spend my time on. Thankfully, I’ve already graduated high school and when it comes to the other aspects of my life I have to prioritize. Auditions are my first priority because this business is a hustle, and we are all trying to book the next gig. It does get tricky when you’re already on a job and then those auditions come in. There are times that after a long day of filming you’re exhausted and have very little to give but you’ve got to find the strength to put in the work and break down that new script for the audition. It’s all about booking the next job while giving your current role 100%.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Oscar Alvarez is my person. He is my second father, the person who walked me through the ins and outs of the business and he’s believed in me since day one. Oscar embodies what is right in Hollywood and he is the man behind my success.

Ok, thank you for all that. Now let’s jump to the main part of our interview. What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? (Please share a story or example for each.)

1. Don’t take yourself too seriously.

This was definitely my issue in the beginning as a young child actor, you want to do well and book the next job. At the end of the day being relaxed and easy-going is what is going to set you apart from others.

2. Pivoting

This is the name of the game. In Hollywood it’s essential to constantly be reinventing yourself, you do not want to be type cast in any way. Pursuing different genres or moving from television to film then to voiceovers. Work your resume to its fullest and when one job ends, you’ll be ready for whatever comes your way.

3. Don’t take things personally.

Often productions have multiple boxes that need to be ticked in order for you to book a role. Sometimes it’s about looking like other family members that have already been cast, or it could be your age which gives the production limitations of you’re under the age of 18. At the end of the day, it’s just business.

4. Don’t get attached to a role you’re auditioning for.

Many times, you’ll have to audition for the same role multiple times. It’s easy to fall in love with a role or character. There are so many factors out of your control that every time you audition, you have to leave it in the room and not put a second thought into it until that production reaches back out.

5. Networking

In Hollywood, networking is everything and absolutely essential, building connections is the foundation of the business.

You are a person of enormous influence. How do you think you can use social media as a platform to be a positive influence to your fans, and for society at large?

Having a platform that has endless boundaries is a blessing and I don’t take it lightly. The ability to connect with a diverse audience allows me to encourage unity, empathy, and understanding to people. Social media allows me the opportunity to inspire awareness and positive change I’d like to see in the world.

If you had the ability to choose to work on any TV show or film, or work alongside any co-star, or with any director, what or who would that be, and why? You never know who might see this article, especially if we tag them. :-)

I admire Natalie Portman in many ways, working with her would be an absolute dream. Natalie started acting young and she’s insanely talented. The way she embodies a character is truly amazing to watch. As an actress and creator of art I am in awe of her many talents.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

IG: realjuliagarcia

TikTok: realjuliagarcia

Facebook: Julia Garcia

X: realjuliag

This was very meaningful, thank you so much!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music