Rising Star Julian Bailey On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
Published in
12 min readFeb 18, 2023

Watch as many movies as you can. You can learn a lot from watching the greats. It’s funny how some people talk about watching films or great television as though it’s “wasted time”. If you’re learning something, it’s never wasted time.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Julian Bailey.

Julian Bailey is a Canadian film and television actor with theatre roots. Bailey appeared in a number of critically acclaimed stage productions in Chicago, before the actor’s portrayal of a sociopathic young naval officer on the hit show, NCIS, earned him a fan following from around the world. Bailey would go on to appear in many internationally syndicated and beloved programs, films, and video games, including titles such as Supernatural, Dark Phoenix, and Far Cry 5. As the lead voice (HQ) in Rainbow Six: Siege, Bailey’s vocal talents have anchored one of the world’s most successful video game franchises in history, with more than 70 million players registered worldwide. Animated projects include beloved series’, The Jungle Book (as Mowgli), as well as HBO’s award-winning original Madeline specials (as Pepito), narrated by Christopher Plummer; in 2021, Bailey voiced the title character for the English version of the globally popular Korean Netflix series, Vincenzo. Julian Bailey currently stars as enigmatic artist, Peter Morrow, on Amazon Prime Video’s smash-hit television series, Three Pines, along with Alfred Molina and a dynamic ensemble cast. Three Pines is based on the N.Y. Times best-selling novels of Canadian author, Louise Penny, and is helmed by England’s Left Bank Pictures, who also produce Netflix’s hit series, The Crown.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Thanks for having me! I grew up in the 80’s in Montreal with a piano teacher Mom and a stockbroker Dad, two older sisters and a little brother. My Mom was from London and all my grandparents were British, so that culture was predominant in my upbringing. Growing up near the downtown area, we were raised in an urban environment and exposed to a lot of different cultures, but also spent time in the country at an old farmhouse we shared with another family. It was close the border, so about every other weekend, we’d cross into Vermont to fill up on cheap American gas, baseball cards, and factory rejected (“imperfect”) Ben & Jerry’s ice cream! The U.S. always had a homey feel for me, I suspect because of my childhood love affair with baseball, and I spent a lot of time in upstate N.Y. and New England as a kid. My little brother and I were given music lessons and raised to have an appreciation for art and culture, but just as much with a focus on the importance of living life with a certain discipline and spiritual awareness; but, sports was my pastime passion (playing and watching). I was educated in public schools, and left home to attend a performing arts academy in Southern California after turning eighteen.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I loved music, but the classical approach felt restrictive. I knew I could making people laugh, that came easily to me. I had a strong desire to perform and asked my parents if I could join a children’s theatre after school program in the city. There was a boy I went to school with who was on a popular Canadian kids show, he was somewhat of a child “star”. I remember thinking, “I could do that.” Eventually, the directors of the children’s theatre school referred me to a dubbing studio looking for young voices; I auditioned for a Japanese anime series about a village of little talking snowmen and I got my first part. Around that time, a casting director came to my school looking in search of two boys for a small Christmas film she was casting for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). I auditioned and was offered one of the roles. After wrapping that film, I was asked to join the National Theatre School of Canada in a production of Antigone. As far as my sports dreams went, a serious knee injury ended my basketball season in the 8th. grade; I realized a career as an athlete was probably unlikely, and my focus narrowed in on acting.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Hard to boil it down to just one story, but in general, I’ll say that in pursuit of my dreams, I’ve had lots of “interesting” living situations, jobs, and encounters with a variety of characters. In between acting jobs, especially as a non U.S. citizen in America on a limited work permit, I had to do whatever I could to survive to make it to the next audition. I was briefly homeless in Chicago, and in Los Angeles (less briefly- although sleeping in your car in SoCal is easier than being on the streets at night in Chicago). I eventually broke through in Chicago and got my SAG card, later returning to Los Angeles where I wound up staying in friends’ garages or occasionally my car, throughout various parts of Burbank and the Hollywood Hills. At some point I met a legend of a lady in West Hollywood who agreed to let me stay in a building she ran her business out of, on the condition that each day I’d be out of there before the start of the following work day- everything I owned was kept in my little Geo Metro. That was my “living arrangement” for nearly two years while I auditioned without a single booking. During that period, I started doing stand up at The Comedy Store just up the street on Sunset Blvd., where I was seen by an agent. I finally booked my first recurring role on a tv show, then found a proper place of my own (a little guest house in Reseda right next door to an insomniac rooster!). But that’s just the tip of the iceberg (if I ever write a book, you can read about the rest in there)!

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

When I was still a kid, I was recording an original animated series with a very talented actress. My voice hadn’t broken yet. The girl and I were recording a duet and had to sing many of the same lines (this is an important detail), both separately and together, before they were mixed, layered, etc. At one point, we were all in the engineering room listening to playbacks. The engineer started playing back of one of the solo parts of the duet we’d just recorded, raw, without any effects or treatment put on it yet- I thought the part I was hearing didn’t sound great, and I blurted out, “ohhh, man, I suck!!!”… Immediately, the engineer leaned over and whispered in my ear, “uh, hey man… that wasn’t your part.” I still cringe when I think about it. The lesson I learned was to keep my mouth shut when I’m working, especially about any negative opinions, and not be self effacing- cause nobody wants to hear it (especially when you’re accidentally “effacing” someone else)!

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

In terms of new projects, I can’t say too much at this point (darned NDA’s!). I can say that I’m tinkering with a screenplay or two of my own- I’d love to see something I’ve written get made eventually, and maybe direct a film or two, as well. I still do voice work and have been dubbing some foreign series’ for Netflix, which I love doing.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

Don’t think of failure as “failure”, per se. Experience, good and bad, is all fuel for the fire. The worst thing someone with a big dream can do, is nothing. Practically speaking, set small goals and move towards them. A friend once told me, “Don’t expect God to steer a parked car”- if you’re afraid to move, move anyway, and learn from every detour. As far as the “big picture” vision goes, don’t try to hit bullseyes, but shoot in the general direction of where you envision yourself, and keep on shooting. Have faith (you’ll need it), be kind to others (you’ll need them), and be relentless in your pursuit of excellence (if you aren’t, someone else will be). Hardships and obstacles are guaranteed, so be prepared to fall on your face a lot. Be honest about your strengths and weaknesses, and embrace them both. Seek out community. Don’t make your whole life about achieving material success. Be careful who you listen to or take advice from (including “acting teachers”). Be bold, resolute, and never stop learning.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Diversity in our industry is so important because of the massive influence we have on culture. Real life involves people from all sorts of cultures and backgrounds, all of whom should be accurately represented in the stories we tell as directors, screenwriters, and actors. I think our culture can be so positively impacted when we don’t enforce and propagate stereotypes, but rather, encourage real stories to be told, authentically and unapologetically.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Watch as many movies as you can. You can learn a lot from watching the greats. It’s funny how some people talk about watching films or great television as though it’s “wasted time”. If you’re learning something, it’s never wasted time.
  2. Don’t eat bad food. Prioritize a routine of physical fitness and stay as fit as possible. (I haven’t and don’t always do that, though I aim to, and sure feel better when I do. I think of it as, “you’re going to pay a price one way or the other. I would much rather sacrifice ninety minutes a day sweating in the gym, than feel bad, look worse, and have regrets.
  3. Don’t audition to get a job, but to make someone else’s day a little more interesting. When I began to view auditions as opportunities to exercise my craft and offer a free performance to someone who is likely getting tired seeing the same material all day, it became a lot more fun.
  4. Learn the power of stillness (whether when working or not). Being comfortable with resting, and with what may seem like inactivity- not to be confused with laziness!
  5. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Life isn’t supposed to be “fair”. I used to work with kids at after school programs in the L.A. Unified School District. Some kids came from significantly greater disadvantage than others, yet would choose to work hard and do all they could with what they had. We are all given twenty-four hours in a day. We can start by being grateful for that fact, alone.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not burn out?

  • Relax. You’re not in a war zone or performing brain surgery. Life is about more than “Hollywood” stuff. Read books, be a well rounded person. Have fun! Enjoy every day and make the most of being alive. Count your blessings and maintain a certain mindfulness to be grateful- including for every challenge you encounter along the way.
  • Don’t be deterred or afraid of what others think of you. Anyone doing purposeful work, or living a meaningful life, for that matter, will face opposition, deal with setbacks, or hear the cries and complaints of critics (within or without!). Trust your gut and take care of your body, without neglecting you heart and soul.
  • Get lots of good quality sleep, and go for walks. I think sleep and basic exercise are two of the most effective yet underrated tools in dealing with stress and fatigue. Eat good food, too.
  • Choose quality friends, and don’t get sucked into draining situations or relationships. Surround yourself with positive, encouraging people who love you and will tell you the truth even if it hurts.
  • Don’t underestimate the power of prayer and meditation. Be militant about what you spend time thinking about, and mindful of the words that come out of your mouth.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

The first thing that comes to mind would be something geared to kids. Creating opportunities where children can learn that there is life outside of social media, teaching them that they matter, that they can thrive without superficial affirmation (i.e. followers or likes on social media). I think people can get jaded at quite an early age, and that cycle can be difficult to undo. If our youth can get a hold of the truth that, 1) they’re amazing, beautiful, and loved by their Creator beyond description, 2) that their life isn’t an accident, but purposeful and by design, and 3) choices matter- they (and all of us) have the power to make good ones, and can become truly powerful and impactful citizens of the world… our civilization will be better for it.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I totally agree. Yes. My mother, who’s been there for me from day one, always encouraging, supportive, steady, and full of faith. Then, my wife, who’s been a true friend and helper, even before we were married and weren’t sure where we were headed; she’d be there when I needed to put down a self tape, or to give me mercilessly honest feedback and remind me to not take myself too seriously, but also of the destination ahead. Thirdly, I’d say the small handful of friends in SoCal, who’ve had my back through thick and thin. Back in the day, I had just returned to L.A. from Europe where I’d been shooting a movie. I’d been in a temporary housing arrangement, which ended unexpectedly and abruptly when I returned. An old friend of mine, Blake Shields, who is a great actor and a genuine soul (we’d met years earlier at the American Academy of Dramatic Arts in Pasadena), didn’t hesitate to open his home to me. I slept on the floor in his kitchen for five months. I have many stories like this of people who proved they were real friends when it counted (they know who they are), and I thank God for every one of them.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

I think the quote that’s stuck with me the most over the years is that famous one from Henry Ford: “Whether you believe you can, or you believe you can’t, you’re right.” I first heard it from an old friend who had decided to stop waiting for someone to give him a break and went ahead with making his own movie. I’ve had moments when I’ve needed those words to re-center and remind me that what I believe matters.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

This is one of those questions that’s tough to answer because there isn’t just one person like that. There are three actors who come to mind, and they would be Anthony Hopkins, Denzel Washington, and Tom Cruise (three of my favorite actors). Or maybe a director, in which case I’d have to go with Steven Spielberg, because I’ve loved his films since childhood. I’d need some time to decide who it would be if I had to narrow it down to just one!

How can our readers follow you online?

Instagram is the best way to follow me online: @iamjulianbailey. I have a Twitter as well, but I haven’t used it much, so I think my mom, my brother, and my dog follow me on there and that’s about it. Kidding (they don’t follow me), but I am teetering on the brink of cracking double digit followers! If you want to help the cause, my Twitter is also @iamjulianbailey.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

Thank you! Much appreciated. Anytime!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music