Rising Star Kelly Walker: “Being busy doesn’t mean you’re being productive. It’s important to maintain some sort of life outside of work

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readMay 9, 2019

--

I’ve really had to master the art of balance. I love work, I love the hustle and I crave being busy. However, being busy doesn’t mean you’re being productive. I think it’s important to give yourself breaks and maintain some sort of life outside of work. For me it was finding hobbies that had nothing to do with my career and allowing myself to enjoy them. My husband is really great at that work/life balance, I learn so much from him.

As a part of my series of the rising stars in popular culture, I had the pleasure of interviewing Kelly Walker, an Australian multi-hyphenate award winning filmmaker. She’s had multiple short films in the festival circuit, most notably The Brownlist, co-directed and edited by Walker. The Brownlist recently wrapped its festival run, including several Oscar qualifiers and the Jury Award for Best Short Film at Geena Davis’s Bentonville Film Festival. Walker and the creator are set to direct a feature film

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator