Rising Star Kim Baptiste: “I wish someone told me not to beat myself up for not getting a callback”

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readSep 26, 2019

--

…Not to beat myself up for not getting a callback and/or booking a role. There were so many times everything felt so perfect in the audition room and I believed the role was mine because of how I felt. Only to never hear back from casting. I know now there are too many variables why an actor doesn’t book a role and it’s completely out of my control. I freed myself from that burden by pleasing myself in the audition room.

As a part of my interview series with popular culture stars, I had the pleasure of interviewing the lovely Kim Baptiste. Kim was born in Queens, New York and got a taste for working in film when she booked a role as a stand-in for Paula Patton in the film “Deja Vu” starring Denzel Washington and directed by the late Tony Scott. In 2011, Kim expanded her horizons through vigorous training to embark on her acting career. Since then she’s appeared in various TV shows (NCIS: New Orleans, Claws) and movies (I Killed My BFF, The Ultimate Legacy, Sacrilege).

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator