Rising Star Lashon Byrd On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readMar 11, 2024

An Interview With Elena Cohen

Don’t be afraid to seek help: You don’t have everything figured out, no one does. We all need help along the way, at any stage in our journey. Before I gave up, I sought help, and it only proved beneficial.

As a part of my series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Lashon Byrd.

Lashon Byrd is a widely known and regarded polymath. He’s made multiple notable contributions to various fields, and has earned himself a prestigious place amongst the leaders and innovators of his generation. In pop culture Lashon has been recognized as a humorous, charming, and very talented entertainer with multiple major award nominations, and initially became internationally famous in pop culture at a relatively young age. Before making notable contributions to other fields. As Lashon is still a young man as of 2024, this is only the very beginning of a legendary, remarkable, life and legacy, with an inedible mark on the world. As Lashon shows an incredible level of talent, drive, determination, ambition, and maturity that only the future can speak for.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Growing up I was always the “weird kid,” but the cool weird kid. Like the weird kid people liked, and came to, and had girls all over him ha-ha. But deep down, I did feel just a little isolated, as I did make true friends, but always felt just a bit misunderstood by everyone. Everyone also told me I would be tall because my dad is tall, they’d be like “Oh yeah trey,” which is my nickname, “people will be asking if you play basketball or some other height intensive sport.” But I was never tall, even now I’m average height at best, but I still have more potential for significant growth until my early 20s so I’m not very concerned. I’m even content with my height at the moment. In 5th grade, there was a guy named “Rayvon” and he was the guy all the girls fawned over. And, when I first attended the new school, I went to in 5th grade, girls’ kind of shifted their focus from him to me, we even dated the same girls ha-ha. So much so in fact, we bonded over that, and he started calling me his “son.” Arguably one of the most interesting chapters in my life. That makes me realize something you know, I’m just happy to be attractive enough to have never worried about attracting girls, or a first kiss, or having sexual experiences, because I’ve met some guys genuinely worried about such. And competing with other guys for the same girl, something I never have done, or will. Additionally, having zero allergies or medical conditions, you know little things that most people take for granted I’m just so grateful for. When we start to appreciate literally every blessing we have, we find happiness.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

Oh man, this will be pleasant! So, my great grandmother would take me to the movies nearly every single weekend, and the movie magic just captivated me. I always walked out of the theater inspired, full of imagination, it would stroke my creative muscles. Add on to the fact I grew up in a magnet performing arts school, doing performances and being constantly exposed to the passion and joy the performing arts brings, I developed an obsessive passion for acting. I wanted to see myself on screen so bad, auditioning for amazing projects, meeting amazing people and connections. I was always very expressive and animated; I was the kid that would do anime play fights with their friends ha-ha. Teachers and peers would say watching me is like watching a TV show and I was entertaining. All that just fueled my passion even harder. Late 2020, I fell for a scam that promised to make me a Disney star lol, they made me feel so special by auditioning in front of hundreds and being one of 20 people that got selected. I’m talking about “Prestige Talent,” In Las Vegas. I fell for 2 or 3 more of these similar scams and started to lose a bit of hope of becoming an actual actor. But I kept going, even during all the intense sorrow and sadness I was feeling because I couldn’t find an agent or book gigs. But eventually after a lot of struggles, right around my birthday in 2021, I signed with my first major agent and started getting gigs, even filming little, short films on my own to build my resume. The journey is like a roller coaster, and I love it. Even now, that I’ve achieved some success as an actor, I still just have a love for the journey.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your entertainment career?

On my IMDB page I have a credit for the short film Corporate Monster, I don’t have any affiliation with the project ha-ha, I was just randomly added to it. I even tried to have it removed, but IMDB refuses so I just keep it, but I didn’t add it to my resume because that’d be disingenuous. Also, Prestige Talent the first scam I fell for, they tried to have me fly out to Las Vegas for an “agent showcase,” and we almost went through it with it but luckily dodged a rocket. Also, I auditioned for the role “Noah” in the upcoming film “Turtles all the way down” and honestly my audition was pretty bad ha-ha, so I didn’t get it. So, to the guy who has it now, perform the role well! I could do it myself now!

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Oh! So, there’s many, many scammers and fraudulent companies whether they call themselves “management companies” or “agencies.” They’ll often hire some background Disney actor to make them seem more reputable and legit such as Conner Weil, no shade to him. Don’t fall for it, real managers and agents don’t ask for a dime for representation, meetings, or anything. The funniest mistake I made was fall for the seemingly, endorsement, by the Disney actor and go through with the process and transactions. I mean it gets really absurd, in those meeting the “talent scouts” will say things like, “none of you are successful, famous, have connections, or have a resume even! And nothing is free, even chasing your dreams, everything costs money. You must invest in your dreams by paying us $2000 to get a chance at getting an agent!” They also usually target younger kids, because they’re hungry to be on the screen, and much more likely to fall for it. And the chance their parents know the entertainment industry or are entertainers themselves are low. Which is how I got scammed multiple times a few years ago.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now? How do you think that might help people?

I’m working on a horror game Bionics, which I compose the music for, coming to Steam. I also have a new sitcom called “Coin Collectors,” which is inspired by the video game high on life from the creators of Rick & Morty. Coming to Cineverse. I think it’ll help people de-stress and stop taking life so seriously and have a little laugh. Take their minds to another dimension and touch their hearts, which is why I love entertainment.

Most young people your age don’t have to balance work and school. Can you tell us how you manage to balance your schoolwork, auditions, and time on set?

Oh my! To be quite honest I skipped, and do skip a lot of school, I have since my freshman year of high school ha-ha. I’m skipping right now to do this interview ha-ha! I’m pulling a Juice WRLD, I’m soaked in my passions and career, I could care less about trying to be exceptional at school, school is just an unavoidable hurdle I must overcome. So, I do what I need to pass, and that’s honestly the bare minimum. I prioritize my work; it makes me happy. I don’t attend a normal public school either, that’d make me miserable I hated attending a normal public school, so I attend alternative private or charter institutions that give me a lot of flexibility and freedom to travel and prioritize my work. While also doing the least I need to pass ha-ha. I’ve met some really awesome entertainers my age who share the same philosophy.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Kurt Yue, he’s so helpful and amazing. I watch almost all of his videos, without his help and the tools he provides to new actors, I don’t think I would’ve had the grit to keep pushing when it got rough and drenched in uncertainty. His channel is “Acting Career Center.”

Ok, thank you for all that. Now let’s jump to the main part of our interview. What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? (Please share a story or example for each.)

1. Never give money to an agent upfront: They make 10–20% of what you make. I got scammed numerous times because I was unaware, use me as an example.

2. Make your own films: A simple skit on your phone can count as a credit on your resume, I’ve made plenty of them to build my resume.

3. Don’t take sh*t from anyone: Producers, castmates, casting directors, directors, etc. you can do it, and you will. I felt like giving up many times and was very close to pulling that string. But I remembered why I started, and now have my own sitcom.

4. Don’t be afraid to seek help: You don’t have everything figured out, no one does. We all need help along the way, at any stage in our journey. Before I gave up, I sought help, and it only proved beneficial.

5. Network like a beast: In the entertainment industry, making connections is very important, many people skim over this. When I networked to the best of my ability, I auditioned for projects with companies like Dicks sporting goods, Pepsi, Nestle, even Warner bros.

You are a person of enormous influence. How do you think you can use social media as a platform to be a positive influence on your fans, and for society at large?

I have full blown chats with my fans on social media, write articles, and make very inspirational posts. I utilize every aspect of social media to be a positive influence on them and society at large that way. Also being relatable.

If you had the ability to choose to work on any TV show or film, or work alongside any co-star, or with any director, what or who would that be, and why? You never know who might see this article, especially if we tag them. :-)

I saw Dua Lipa recently acted in a movie, I’d absolutely die to work with her. She’s a good actress and I love her music, I have her on my film playlist, which has songs full of set memories. I’d definitely choose Dua Lipa.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

Linkedin: (16) Lashon Byrd | LinkedIn

Medium: Lashon Byrd — Medium

Vero: https://vero.co/lashon

This was very meaningful, thank you so much!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music