Rising Star Richmond Obeng: “I want to send the ladder back down to those who seem to need it the most”

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
10 min readOct 6, 2019

--

I want to be in a position to share film industry information as properly and honestly as possible to those who are starting out as I once did. Being able to share that understanding for me is key. I want to send the ladder back down to those who seem to need it the most… As I continue to learn, I want to be able to pass along that knowledge to the people who can draw inspiration from my experiences in the film business.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Richmond Obeng, a narrative and documentary filmmaker. His very first documentary, Some Sort of Judas, enjoyed over one hundred thousand views on the TVO network in Canada in its first week. It chronicles the life of Kevin Williams and Mark Moore who grew up in Toronto’s “Jungle”, the violent neighborhood of Lawrence Heights, sandwiched between a busy urban freeway and a high-end shopping mall. Obeng is working on his next picture, about the life of Leslie Wagner which was based on the book Slavery of Faith: The untold story of the Peoples

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator