Rising Star Stamaur ‘Ayye Pap’ Mitchell On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Stay consistent and stay original. A lot of people think when they start off that they have to copy other people in order to succeed. You have to build from scratch. Never steal content or jokes. Coincidences happen in comedy, but there’s a difference between being inspired and being a thief.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Stamaur Mitchell, better known under his stage name Ayye Pap.

Ayye Pap noticed his ability to make the people around him laugh at a very young age. He grew up creating humor from even the darkest of situations in life. He eventually gained a sizable supportive following across social media while creating viral content. His natural talent has landed him on stage at some of the most renowned comedy clubs like The Comedy Store, The Laugh Factory, LA Improv, and others. With his versatility and love for entertaining, he intends to leave a mark on the industry as he continues to entertain the masses.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Well, I’m from PG County, Maryland right outside of Washington DC. I grew up in what we call “The System” in my culture. At an early age, I was put in foster care due to the fact that my mom had a drug addiction problem. I bounced around from several different foster families before my cousin Tan finally found me and adopted me. Tan raised me in a pretty strict household… which at the time I didn’t understand because I felt like all my other friends had it sweet. But looking back, I thank her for that because it helped me to develop maturity skills at a young age. I learned a lot from my cousin that I’ll never forget, and I’ve thought about her everyday since she passed away.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

What really got me into creating was the Vine era of social media and seeing other people from my area like That Girl Jaycole, McKenton and others dominating the app really inspired me. I’ve always loved comedy and so I took a chance and started performing at open mics in DC. I was getting a good response so I kept going.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Earlier this year, I got booked for a show in Miami right after I had just put in an audition tape for a feature film. I found out that I had a second audition the day before I went to Miami. I landed in Miami for the show and ended up stuck in the airport trying to get my rental car because the line was super long. I had to find WiFi so that I could log onto my laptop and email the casting director to let her know that I was running late. She was able to bear with me, so when I finally got my rental, I was gunning it to my hotel lol. I checked into my hotel and immediately jumped into my audition ( via zoom ). I do my thing and then take a nap. I finally got to my comedy show that night and as I was walking into the venue, the casting director called me and told me I had gotten the role. I was super excited AND had a great set that night at the Miami Improv.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I didn’t write out my jokes in the beginning. I would freestyle, which is what you should never do in stand-up. I would pace back and forth thinking of my next joke. I learned that I needed to take my craft more seriously and that you never show up unprepared. Even the most naturally funny comics practice their material for their set and if I wanted to be great then I knew I had to prepare.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I get to play a soldier in an upcoming feature film Four Horseman and it’s interesting to me because it’s not a comedy. I get to play a disturbed character in a dramatic thriller and I love getting to show my range as an actor. I’m also headlining a New Year's Eve show in Washington DC that I’m really excited about at District Sports Bar.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

Stay consistent and stay original. A lot of people think when they start off that they have to copy other people in order to succeed. You have to build from scratch. Never steal content or jokes. Coincidences happen in comedy, but there’s a difference between being inspired and being a thief.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

We get to learn each other’s cultures and we get to see different things in the media told from different lenses. Everyone has different tastes and there’s plenty of room for different perspectives. Diversity can bring us together.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why?

  1. Put your pride to the side — in the early stages I had too much ego and waited for opportunities to find me instead of reaching out and letting them tell me no
  2. Don’t be afraid to fail — it’s the only way to learn how to win.
  3. Step out of your comfort zone — Initially, I only felt comfortable performing in front of black crowds, but I didn’t want to be a one-dimensional comedian.
  4. It doesn’t happen overnight — It’s only through time and consistency that you’ll see results
  5. No matter what you do you will have haters — I get comments from trolls all the time, but the love always outweighs the envy.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Take a nap. Rest. You’re no good to anyone if you’re not at your best. The work will still be there when you’re done

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Normalizing therapy in my community is a movement I would love, and that I know would bring so much good and peace of mind to many.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

McKenton was the first person to collaborate with me and he was from my hometown. He also was a big help when I relocated to Cali

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Your health is your wealth. As a fitness enthusiast, it’s something I take very seriously. I work out daily, eat right and only drink socially.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Jennifer Lewis. I really think she is the funniest woman on this planet and growing up watching her on tv, I always felt she is the mother I would love to have.

How can our readers follow you online?

My username is @Ayye_Pap on every social media channel

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.