Rising Star Stuntman & Actor Preston Corbell On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Find one thing you’re good at such as acting, fighting, driving or whatever it is and excel at that, be the best at that one thing, and the rest will come.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Preston Corbell.

Preston Corbell is an American stuntman and actor, he started his career in the film industry as a teenager. His career has a span of 20 years and over 100 productions. Notably, he’s doubled for Kenny Powers in Eastbound and Down and Lucas Scott in One Tree Hill.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in Newport Beach, California. I was a wild child, I wasn’t scared of heights and always willing to trying something if I thought it would be cool.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

When I was a kid basketball was life. I ruptured my Achilles going into my collegiate career which made me shift my focus and I fell in love with the film industry.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

My career has been full of adventure, danger, pain and learning how to constantly push myself. One story that sticks out was towards the end of my career I was doing a car stunt, something I’ve done many of times before but this time I snapped my finger on the windshield and the bone was sticking out. The worst part was getting it surgically repaired. It took 5 sessions to close the skin fully because the skin kept dying around the injury. It was so painful each time without pain medicine and using only a tourniquet.

It has been said that mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I think in stunts the best teacher is failure. When I failed I felt that pain and I didn’t want to feel it again.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I’ve been a part of some really cool projects such as Eastbound and Down, Workaholics, Reno 911!, Blue Mountain State, One Tree Hill, The Vampire Diaries, DC’s Doom Patrol and so many more.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

Find one thing you’re good at such as acting, fighting, driving or whatever it is and excel at that, be the best at that one thing, and the rest will come.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Diversity is important especially in film because people watch entertainment to escape and to dream. We all come in different shapes and sizes and to have diversity represented in film allows people to dream alongside their favorite film.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

https://youtu.be/jOM5NfkyT0U

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Listen to your body when training and overcoming injuries. I never burnt out but my body gave out, so keep that dream alive as long as you can.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

It’s all about love and respect for those who have put in the work and paid their dues. Love and respect.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My family has inspired me and kept me going along the way. This career path isn’t easy, it took a tremendous toll on my body and mind. Without a stable home to go to I would not have been successful.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Quickly breathe, gather and go back one.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Sadly, I can’t tag her but it would have been Lucille Ball. She was a trailblazer, incredible actress, business women and could run circles around anyone in entertainment today.

How can our readers follow you online?

https://www.instagram.com/stunt.beast/

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.