Rising Star Wida Karim: “I want to be an example that no matter where you are born, how old you are, what your background or skin color, that you are deserving and worthy enough to have a dream and to chase that dream”

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
10 min readJul 6, 2020

I hope to someday have a large enough platform to be able to influence and encourage young, immigrant girls to follow their hearts and chase their dreams no matter how wild they may seem. I want to be an example that no matter where you are born, how old you are, what your background or skin color, that you are deserving and worthy enough to have a dream and to chase that dream. I want little girls from Afghanistan to see someone that looks like them on television and on film. I want them to be able to see themselves represented in an empowered, smart, and beautiful way.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Wida (Weed-Ah) Karim.

Born in Kabul, Afghanistan, Wida and her family fled to Pakistan when the Soviet Army invaded. They immigrated to America in 1981. Although she was only a toddler when escaping her homeland, she remembers the traumatic journey vividly. The bombs, the gunfire, the sights and sounds of war are hard to forget. Her family came to America, not only to find a safe haven but also in the hopes of achieving the “American Dream.”

Wida was raised in a very conservative home in Alexandria VA. She kept her dreams of acting to herself, but quietly took several drama classes in high school and college. After graduating from college with a degree in Broadcast Journalism and a minor in Political Science, she pursued a career in broadcast news but later decided to work in the field of public relations for approximately 17 years.

For many years, because of her conservative nurturing, she was not able to pursue her dreams of being an actress, to really achieve the “American Dream,” that is until 2016.

Since then, Wida has fully dived into acting by taking classes with Robert D’Avanzo, Amy Lyndon, Mark Daugherty and improv at The Groundlings. She has also completed a 12-week stunt fighting for actors training from Action for Actors Academy and boxes regularly. Wida has started adding to her credits; including, a Lifetime Network (MOW), a feature film, an Olympus Film Festival Award-winning indie film, several short films and over a dozen commercials.

She is currently slated to star in an indie film called Rumrunners, as well as, a leading role in an upcoming feature film, Faction of a Hitman.

Thank you so much for doing this with us Wida! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I was born in Kabul, Afghanistan. When I was about three years old, my family and I were forced to flee to Pakistan to escape the Soviet Army’s invasion, during which two million Afghans were killed. We immigrated to America in 1981. I was only a toddler when escaping, but I remember the traumatic journey vividly to this day. The bombs, the gunfire, the sights, smells, and sounds of war are hard to forget. My family came to America not only to find a safe haven but also in the hopes of achieving the “American Dream.”

We first settled in Alexandria, Virginia, where my sister and I were raised in a very conservative home. We grew up very differently from our peers. Our parents did not allow us to date, to go to school dances, or even hang out with our friends after school. Their intentions were to protect us and make sure we were focused on our studies. I knew that a career in acting would not be permitted or supported by my parents so, I kept my dreams of acting to myself, but quietly took several drama classes in high school and college. After graduating from the California State University of Fullerton with a degree in Broadcast Journalism and a minor in Political Science, I pursued a career in broadcast news but later decided to work in the field of public relations.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

For many years, because of my conservative nurturing, I was not able to pursue my dreams of being an actress and to really achieve the “American Dream” until 2016. That’s when I decided to leave my public relations career after 17 years to FINALLY pursue acting; better late than never. But leaving a career after so long was not an easy decision to make. Not having that stable, fat, monthly paycheck is definitely a rude awakening; however, nothing beats the feeling of chasing a dream that I’ve put aside for so long. Luckily, I’m blessed to have a very encouraging and supportive husband who continues to push me to chase my dreams.

In the past few years, I dove into acting by taking classes with Robert D’Avanzo, Amy Lyndon, Mark Daugherty, and improv at The Groundlings. I have started adding to my credits; including, a Lifetime Network (MOW), a feature film, an Olympus Film Festival Award-winning indie film, several short films, and more than a dozen commercials. These opportunities have allowed me to be creative, work with experts in this craft, gain first-hand, on-set experience and push myself out of my comfort zone.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I hope my story can encourage others to both pursue their dreams and to listen to their inner voice. When I first began my acting career, I was told how challenging it would be to get my SAG-AFTRA union membership and that it can take five to ten years. It sounded daunting to me, but I didn’t let that discourage me. After about two years pursuing an acting career, I booked a SAG Low Budget indie film, Windward Spirits https://windwardspirits.net/ which qualified me to join the union! To my delight, it only took me two years, not five, not ten to get my SAG-AFTRA membership. This milestone was a huge confidence booster for me and I took it as a sign that I’m on the absolute right path.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I’m very excited about an upcoming indie film, “Rumrunners” set in the 1920’s era, which follows a group of bootleggers in New York City, looking to make names for themselves during prohibition. The story involves a plan for a job to put them on the map and finally acquire the wealth they desperately seek. I will be playing the role of, Layla, a fiercely dedicated wife and partner-in-crime to her husband, Johnny. She’s ride-or-die with him, no matter what! I’m also waiting to begin work on a feature film, “Faction of a Hitman,” in the lead role of Agent B. Nelson. Nelson is a street-smart badass and by-the-book FBI agent leading an investigation to take down a big mob boss and his dirty business. All projects have been delayed because of COVID-19, but, fingers crossed, production for this film starts sometime in late July 2020. In addition, I’m finalizing my own short film script and looking forward to getting that off the ground this year.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Acting is not an easy career to pursue, especially being a MENASA (Middle Eastern, North African, South Asian) female. We are typically typecast into stereotypical and one-dimensional roles such as hijab-wearing, submissive, passive women, or terrorists. I’m none of these! It is my hope that I play roles that truly represent a modern Afghan woman, which is an intelligent, empowered, kick-ass woman who can be anything her heart desires. Trust me, with our rich history and ability to survive the worst, we bring an emotional range that adds depth to any role we take on.

I hope that current events help Hollywood become more inclusive and diverse. Television and Film must represent the entire viewing audience and it’s not one dimensional one background or one race. I want Afghan women to portray badass detectives, articulate attorneys, sexy assassins, superheroes, romantic comedy love interests, and LEADING ladies.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Not to take anything personally, this is a business. People will do what is best for their project and their budget.
  2. Rejection is like the air you breathe and it’s ok because what is meant for you will find you. I’m learning to embrace this myself, but it truly helps to let go of auditions and just trust that the right project will be yours if it’s meant for you. I find a lot of comfort in this.
  3. That there is NO right or wrong way to pursue an acting career. There is no guide, either. You have to create your own path.
  4. Agents and managers come and go. Do not get attached and again, don’t take things personally.
  5. CELEBRATE THE SMALL VICTORIES AND MILESTONES on this journey, you have to appreciate the smallest of accomplishments, so stop and smell the roses along the way!

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

The biggest tip I can give is to not have any expectations in this business and to just keep going, no matter how difficult things may seem. I’d tell them to have a hobby to blow off steam, like boxing, hiking, meditating anything to help release stress and anxiety. Self-care is a must in order to stay creatively flexible and NOT burn out.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I hope to someday have a large enough platform to be able to influence and encourage young, immigrant girls to follow their hearts and chase their dreams no matter how wild they may seem. I want to be an example that no matter where you are born, how old you are, what your background or skin color, that you are deserving and worthy enough to have a dream and to chase that dream. I want little girls from Afghanistan to see someone that looks like them on television and on film. I want them to be able to see themselves represented in an empowered, smart, and beautiful way.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I am so blessed with the amazing souls that have come into my life during my acting journey. I’d first have to thank my friend and acting coach, Mark Daugherty from the Actor’s Collective without whom I would not have any of the tools I need to pursue my acting career. He truly gave me the foundation that I needed to feel confident in my instrument and trust myself.

I’m also grateful to Rafael Zubizarreta Jr. the writer and creator of Windward Spirits for giving me an opportunity to play the role of Zamira, which earned me my SAG-AFTRA membership. In addition, I’d like to thank my dear friend David Sandoval, Jr., who is the writer-creator of the upcoming feature film Faction of a Hitman. We met on the set of another show and hit it off. Soon after, he contacted me about playing the lead FBI agent in his feature film, which is based on his family’s life. It’s a role that I have dreamed of and I look forward to bringing FBI Agent Nelson to life in the near future. And, of course, I couldn’t chase this dream if I didn’t have the continued encouragement and support of my husband, Ray, and son, Aaron, — love you both!

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

There’s a quote by Jared Leto that has become my mantra: “Try and Fail, but never fail to try.” It truly encompasses the risk-and-reward factor of life. We can either fear trying something or have faith and trust that we will be guided in the right direction. If we don’t take risks, we will never grow and never know what could have been. Leaving my public relations career after almost two decades meant having faith in something I did not, and still don’t fully see. Yet, I believe in my heart that acting is my personal legend, my life’s purpose. I know it’s the right path for me, so the risks and the unknowns are going to be part of my journey. I can either accept it or fight it, so I’m embracing it!

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Hands down it would be Jared Leto! Although, I’d probably be too nervous to eat. I am a huge fan of his music, his acting, and his incomparable work ethic. In fact, his band’s (Thirty Seconds to Mars) music has been the soundtrack of my life. It’s gotten me through the darkest times in my life. When I had no one to turn to, I turned on “Mars” music. His lyrics not only gave me the strength to keep going but also encouraged me to chase my dreams no matter how out of reach or crazy they seemed to me. His Oscar’s acceptance speech spoke volumes to me and was the catalyst for me to finally quit my 9–5 desk job as a communications director and go for it. I have such a long way to go, but there’s no turning back now and no plan B.

How can our readers follow you online?

Check out my website at www.widaetemadikarim.com

IG: www.instagram.com/widakarim/

IMDb: imdb.me/widakarim

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--