Rising Star Wyatt Walter On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

An Interview With Ming Zhao

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine
6 min readJul 31, 2022

--

I wish someone would have explained to me how crucial it to find a sense of balance. At times, we can become so wrapped up in our work and prep, especially if it’s a complex character, that we need to be sure to hit the reset button. Personal development is a big part of the acting journey and I think the pandemic has generally shifted that mindset for many. Work hard, but don’t forget to find time to play. When I am not working, I really enjoy playing music, video games and hanging out with family.

As a part of my series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Wyatt Watler.

Wyatt Walter’s upbringing in North Carolina largely influenced his passion for acting and his desire to make a breakthrough in the entertainment industry. Upon booking his first role, Wyatt and his family moved to Los Angeles where he immediately got an agent and began taking acting classes. Past roles include “Sons of Thunder”, “NCIS: New Orleans” and “Sydney to the Max”. When not acting, Wyatt enjoys skateboarding, working out, fishing, and spending time in the kitchen cooking or baking. Wyatt also enjoys spending time with his four rescue dogs, two rescue cats, and two rescue guinea pigs. Wyatt is passionate about giving back to his community in North Carolina and frequently volunteers at local food banks.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

There was an open casting call near my hometown and my grandmother, being a former schoolteacher, bribed me with my favorite treat — donuts and ice cream, to get me to go with her to the audition. After I went and auditioned one thing led to another and the rest is history!

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your entertainment career?

I had the honor of attending the Revelations Productions holiday party. There, I met Morgan Freeman and we had a wonderful conversation about the business. He taught me so many amazing lessons that night, including: “you don’t try to be an actor. You ARE an actor; you can TRY to make a living out of it.”

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

“The Rookie” was my first experience with a choreographed fight scene. I was a little too excited and momentarily forgot the cue to duck which led to my co-star giving me a little love tap. Producers were thrilled to capture it all in real time, but my cheek was not as happy.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now? How do you think that might help people?

I really enjoyed working on “Killing It” and am thrilled announce that the series will have a second season! I hope that our audience can continue to disconnect from their busy days to laugh with us!

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I have so many people to thank that the list would go on for hours. First and foremost, my agent Danita Florance, my acting coach Mr. Michael Nouri, my grandmother who definitely helped pave the way, and most importantly, my mom. My mother uprooted her life in North Carolina to move with me to LA when I was just 13 years old. She asked me, “Is this the career you want? If so, let’s give it our all”. We did just that!

Ok thank you for all that. Now let’s jump to the main part of our interview. What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. (Please share a story or example for each.)

  1. I wish someone had told me how important improv is. While working on “Killing It” I noticed a lot of ad-libbing coming from Craig and my other castmates and realized how crucial it was to be able to be in that moment and play.
  2. I wish someone told me how important it was to find the right acting coach. In the beginning of my career, I was jumping around from coach to coach because I couldn’t find someone I truly connected with. It wasn’t until I met my amazing coach, Michael Nouri, that I understood how important it is to find a coach that matches your energy. When you find the right person, everything flows.
  3. I wish someone told me to feel confident in my work. When you are going through the audition process, know that you’ve put your all into it and leave it at the door. All we can do is our best and if we’ve done that, then we can’t be so hard on ourselves.
  4. I wish someone would’ve explained to me how much I would need to keep up with my hobbies that support acting, like singing and dialects. You never know what day of the week you will get an audition with an accent or singing component. While I’ve always trained with coaches and used my resources, it is something I’ve learned to incorporate into my weekly routines, just like working out.
  5. I wish someone would have explained to me how crucial it to find a sense of balance. At times, we can become so wrapped up in our work and prep, especially if it’s a complex character, that we need to be sure to hit the reset button. Personal development is a big part of the acting journey and I think the pandemic has generally shifted that mindset for many. Work hard, but don’t forget to find time to play. When I am not working, I really enjoy playing music, video games and hanging out with family.

You are a person of enormous influence. How do you think you can use social media as a platform to be a positive influence to your fans, and for society at large?

I believe social media is a crucial tool to express yourself. If you’re passionate about something, it’s the best way to share it with the world. I try to keep my social media pages light and fun. Rather than posting my opinion on a lot of topics, I instead try to spread love and positivity.

If you had the ability to choose to work on any TV show or film, or work alongside any co-star, or with any director, what or who would that be, and why? You never know who might see this article, especially if we tag them. :-)

I love performers that take you on a journey. My coach always says if you can watch a performance without audio, or listen to a performance without video, and you can still feel the conviction of the performer, then they are an amazing artist. The artist that most comes to mind when I think of this is Denzel Washington. He’s been at the top of my list and any opportunity to work with such an icon would be legendary!

How can our readers follow you on social media?

@WyattRayWalter on Twitter and IG

@WyattWalter on Facebook

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We wish you only continued success in your great work!

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.