Roxane Boonstra Of Coral Restoration Foundation: 5 Things We Must Do To Inspire The Next Generation About Sustainability And The Environment

An Interview With Martita Mestey

Martita Mestey
Authority Magazine
9 min readMar 29, 2024

--

Lead by example and encourage the study of respectful communication. For me, this was represented by exploring and understanding other points of view of and the critical aspects of any issue at hand. Understanding contrary opinions or perspectives can lead to finding common ground and better policy making in the long run.

As a part of my series about what we must do to inspire the next generation about sustainability and the environment, I had the pleasure of interviewing Roxane Boonstra- Learning Ecosystems Administrator at Coral Restoration Foundation™.

Roxane Boonstra grew up in South Florida, with easy access to the third longest barrier coral reef in the world. She started snorkeling and diving at a young age, which inspired a life-long passion for the marine environment. Her journey to Coral Restoration Foundation™ includes a Masters of Science in marine biology, working as a SCUBA instructor and marine conservationist in the Cayman Islands, and finding ways to feed and share her curiosity about the natural world.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about how you grew up?

I grew up in South Florida, in Miami! I’m lucky that my parents are very “outdoorsy” and that they took me snorkeling at the tender age of four and signed me up to become Junior Open Water SCUBA certified at ten. The adventures I shared with my parents, as well as activities like handling lobsters during lobster season to SCUBA diving, deeply instilled in me a passion for the outdoors, particularly the marine world.

Was there an “aha moment” or a specific trigger that made you decide you wanted to become a scientist or environmental leader? Can you share that story with us?

If I had an “aha” moment, it was probably that very first snorkel trip at 4! I remember my father jumping in and warning me that there was a “very big, very scary fish called a barracuda,” but that it wouldn’t hurt me; not knowing what that meant, I jumped in and came face to face with a fish as big as me and with lots more teeth! My dad likes to joke that he never saw anyone scramble back onto a boat as fast as I did, but after some coaxing back into the water, they’ve never managed to get me back out! Since that day, I’ve felt most connected other “tribes” of ocean lovers and have looked for ways to share it with people less exposed to the marine realm than myself.

Is there a lesson you can take out of your own story that can exemplify what can inspire a young person to become an environmental leader?

Absolutely! I would encourage people to see beyond what might be perceived as “scary,” like my barracuda, and see the ocean for what it is — an amazing, unique world that many people don’t get a chance to visit! It comes with its own dangers and beauty, and it’s an incredible world to explore. Even my barracuda, after years of seeing and diving with them, has a personality that I’ve come to love and appreciate.

Can you tell our readers about the initiatives that you or your company are taking to address climate change or sustainability? Can you give an example for each?

I often think of our approach to climate change or sustainability as two facets: there’s the work Coral Restoration Foundation™ (CRF) is known for, namely the coral restoration work, and then the education aspect of CRF. The coral restoration work we do is a direct tie to making a positive difference for both the reefs of the Florida Keys and being a global leader in the restoration field. We work to support the reefs’ natural recovery processes through the large-scale cultivation, outplanting, and monitoring of genetically diverse, reef-building corals.

The educational side of CRF is a little more abstract and embodies our large-scale massive action mindset by inspiring and motivating people to not only help in restoration work but to find ways in their own lives that they can make positive differences every day. We engage and empower the community to join us to save our planet’s coral reefs with dive programs, educational activities, and scientific collaborations.

Can you share 3 lifestyle tweaks that the general public can do to be more sustainable or help address the climate change challenge?

There are so many ways that one can be more conscious. I’ll state a few things I follow in my life that have.

  1. Living in South Florida is HOT! My water bottle is a constant accessory everywhere I go and is probably the most immediate way that I cut down on plastic consumption.
  2. Where possible, I support local farming or small local businesses to cut down on my carbon footprint from shipping.
  3. Finally, it’s never too early to learn about political policies that support sustainable, local or global initiatives and the overall ocean environment!

Ok, thank you for all that. Here is the main question of our interview: The youth-led climate strikes of September 2019 showed an impressive degree of activism and initiative by young people on behalf of climate change. This was great, and there is still plenty that needs to be done. In your opinion, what are 5 things parents should do to inspire the next generation to become engaged in sustainability and the environmental movement?

1 . Find ways to get engaged in the natural sciences. Whether it’s doing kitchen chemistry with yeast, taking a tour of botanical gardens, trying snorkeling for the first time, watching Planet Earth on a sick day or visiting a museum on a rainy day, you never know what will stimulate long-term inspiration! Visiting natural history and science museums were a particular favorite of mine, and many of the interactive displays gave me an early introduction to the basics of chemistry, biology, and physics.

2 . Be open to (reasonable) ideas that put a magnifying glass to your own way of living. As part of a high school science fair, my science partner and I required anyone living in or visiting our homes to track every item and quantity of trash that was thrown away for two weeks in a notebook by the kitchen trash can. Based on the data, we drew conclusions about our nutritional and eating habits and compared it to the actual food consumption of the household. It was tedious and annoying, since anytime someone didn’t document a trash instance we had to dig through the trash to ensure it was captured in the notebook, but we made it to the state science fair with our project! It’s been over two decades since that undertaking, and the long-standing result is my awareness of food waste that has led to more sustainable shopping and eating habits as an adult.

3 . Encourage youth to ask questions, do research and teach you what they learned in return. My family encouraged independent research and application, which sometimes ended in their favor (but not always). In one instance, we had a surplus of mulberries from a tree in the yard, and I started a month-long project to make mulberry preserves; it was messy, and I made many mistakes that sent me back to researching preservation techniques, but in the end we had a lot of mulberry jam.

4 . Lead by example and encourage the study of respectful communication. For me, this was represented by exploring and understanding other points of view of and the critical aspects of any issue at hand. Understanding contrary opinions or perspectives can lead to finding common ground and better policy making in the long run.

5 . Let youth know that things take time, and that big ideas and change are worth waiting for. Encourage them to not be disappointed or impatient, but to instead learn from actions and adjust future activities to increase impact. When an invasive species, lionfish, arrived in the Caribbean, it took a long time before they were accepted and even valued as a fishery. Along with countless other ocean lovers, I spent many years organizing, directing and spearheading efforts to increase awareness of lionfish as a sustainable food option, and it’s wonderful to finally see them as an option in many fish markets and restaurants.

How would you articulate how a business can become more profitable by being more sustainable and more environmentally conscious? Can you share a story or example?

There are certainly many ways a business can strive to become more sustainable and environmentally conscious, such as creating green spaces at the office and planning to make sustainable sourcing a priority. One of my favorite methods I’ve experienced are larger companies encouraging employee volunteer matching opportunities.

We’ve had several employees from large companies that dedicated work and personal time to projects that supported us at the Coral Restoration Foundation™ — whether through development of a project or joining us underwater and being on the frontlines to help us outplant coral. Having their expertise and time dedicated to the work and then further supported by their company matching the employee’s hours through a donation was one of the more impactful ways I’ve seen a business support sustainable initiatives and the passions of their employees.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

People in both my personal and professional life have helped me get to where I am now, and they are the same people who constantly push me to go outside my “comfort zone.” From my Masters thesis advisor(s) who challenged results and ideas to my significant other who always asks me, “why not?” when I’m considering something new, everyone who has offered a minute of their time has offered something valuable. Most interactions are supportive, which are wonderful, but I also acknowledge the times I was told something wasn’t possible. It gave me energy to keep trying or the wisdom to take a different direction.

You are a person of great influence and doing some great things for the world! If you could inspire a movement that would bring the greatest amount of good to the greatest amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. ☺

A common question I hear is if the actions of someone living in a land-locked area can truly impact coral reefs and the ocean. The answer is, of course, yes! Understanding that just because the ocean is still blue and wet and “there” doesn’t mean that our everyday lives don’t impact it — whether for better or for worse.

Our oceans drive our planet’s climate and weather patterns through currents and temperature changes, as well as support trade routes for our everyday life. Our daily actions, from carbon emissions to trash management, add up across billions of people to impact overall ocean health. I would like people to know that actions have worth and value, and that united, positive changes can be achieved.

Do you have a favorite life lesson quote? Can you tell us how that was relevant to you in your own life?

I do, Years ago, I came across the quote: “We plant trees under whose shade we will never sit,” and it has deeply resonated with me ever since — both literally and metaphorically. Literally, in my work at CRF, I strive to restore coral reefs that I may never witness fully restored, as the process takes decades to show significant recovery. Metaphorically, the more individuals we can inspire and equip with knowledge, the greater their potential to make a positive impact now and in the future.

While some may view this quote as an exercise in futility, I see it as the exact opposite; I find joy in the present work, knowing that future rewards await, even if I’m not here to see them come to fruition. I am motivated by the belief that my current efforts will not only benefit future generations of humans but also future generations of corals, fish, and the planet as a whole.

What is the best way for people to continue to follow your work online?

Coral Restoration Foundation™ is present on multiple platforms; our blog called REEFocus is a great way for ocean enthusiasts to read about the various CRF™ activities.

My personal favorite is our Instagram. It’s filled with stories featuring beautiful underwater pictures and stories about not only the corals we work with but the reef animals that we see every day! Despite being part of the underwater team and in the work everyday, I still treasure our posts as an inspirational reminder.

This was so inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

--

--