Rukshana Triem On The Book That Changed Her Life

An Interview With Sara Connell

Sara Connell
Authority Magazine
8 min readApr 18, 2022

--

Continue working on yourself is the key the more you grow and invest in yourself the more you help people.

Books have the power to shape, influence, and change our lives. Why is that so? What goes into a book that can shape lives? To address this we are interviewing people who can share a story about a book that changed their life, and why. As a part of our series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Rukshana Triem.

Meet the Founder for African Fashion show portland Oregon and Founder of Firmina Foundation Empowering Children through Education Building schools in Mozambique.

Rukshana is a Women’s Lifestyle Coach for her Company called Womens Lifestyle coaching LLC.

Rukshana Triem, came from Zambia by way of Malawi and Mozambique. At 15 years old her family came to America to start a new life with hope, promise and excitement. After many years of learning, living, an autobiography, and starting a coaching business, she decided to take her Grandmother Firmina’s advice and build schools.

She wanted to give back to those countries that poured passion for education into her. Children have previously been educated under mango trees and as romantic as that may sound to some, it is not the optimum situation for learning.

The Foundation was founded in 2018. After several fundraisers from a general auction in 2019, to a full-blown women’s conference with a fashion show in 2020, a school was built in Mozambique. During the time of Covid, Rukshana reflected on what made her passionate…the Fashion Show! Thus, our 2nd Annual Fashion Show was born. The additional auction came about when she made a trip to Africa.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your “backstory” and how you grew up?

Rukshana is the oldest of five children. As she was growing up, she not only took care of her own family, she served her village and her elders. By serve, we mean she’d stand in line for food for up to five hours, then return to her village to cook. She was only ten years old and her childhood was filled with poverty and trauma. But Rukshana has true grit, so those experiences shaped her work ethic and strengthened her determination to give back.

She came to the United States in the 1990s, from Zambia. She got married and realized she had a lot of trauma to work through. Her husband — now ex — was a great teacher in that regard, showing her the person she could become. She earned a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Human Development and worked as an early childhood teacher, trainer and mentor. Coming from a third-world country, she now invests in third-world countries, through education. Rukshana remembers doing schoolwork under a mango tree, practicing writing in the dirt. In 2018, she started the Firmina foundation to honor her grandmother — during a visit back, when Rukshana noticed kids practicing writing under a mango tree the way she used to do, Grandma encouraged her to start a school: “If not you, then who?” The foundation helps build schools in Mozambique, Malawi and Zambia. They finished their first school earlier this year! It’s a three-classroom building, serving 26 villages, 300 students — some who walk ten miles to go to school. Next goal is building desks, using a trade school. So students are learning a trade while making something valuable for their schools! For Rukshana, it’s all about the power of collaboration. Next up — plans for a school serving kids with disabilities.

Let’s talk about what you are doing now, and how you achieved the success that you currently enjoy. Can you tell our readers a bit about the work you are doing?

Rukshana is dedicated to creating opportunities for women, as well. She created her own business, Women’s Lifestyle Coaching, where she helps women overcome past struggles and create their own beautiful lives. It all started with parenting workshops. Now, six years later, Rukshana is busier than ever, planning twice-yearly retreats, outdoor adventures, and other big-time projects, like the International Women’s Lifestyle Conference and African fashion show planned for October 24th. Learn more about it here: https://www.womenslifestylecoaching.com/program

Rukshana avoids ego and pride, believing they’ll limit her leadership AND learning. Her model in life and leadership is simple yet profound: Show up, do the work, have an open mind and never be afraid to ask questions. After all, there’s no such thing as a dumb question!

You are a successful leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

I speak my truth and to be able to create a magical space fro women to show up 100%. So that they can also speak their truth. When we show up vulnerable we also give permission for others to show up vulnerable.

I question myself that everyday. How do I translate the work that I do, the leader that I am and still continue working on myself so that I can create a bigger space for women to show up more fully, vulnerable and go through their own transformation, so that they can go home being better moms, wife, and leaders.

What’s the WHY behind the work that you do? Please share a story about this if you can.

Our Wounds are Often the opening onto the best and most beautiful part of us

I always share this with everyone. My healed wounds are a gift to others.

That’s why I am doing what I am doing. Helping women around the world change for a better. Change their story. Use their story as a messege to others. Are you ready to move away from your Victim story? I really believe its time to move past the story you have been telling yourself.

Its time to Let go the shame, ego, pride and let’s peel off one layer one time just like we peel an orange. Common you don’t peel oranges? I still do.

How many of us a living a lie? Finding things that’s hurting us, but trying to find comfort in what’s hurting us. You deserve to be Free.

Free from the burden of others, society’s expectations. Let’s start the journey of Healing your wounds and living a lie.

That is my Why, to share what I know with the world.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Recently my husband has been my biggest cheer leader, however I also give credit to all the coaches, I have spend years learning from all the my clients, who trusted in me To lead the

To lead then into success. I am also so successful to all those people who chose to leave or I chose to leave in the relationship because I got to learn what I didn’t like or what I could have been.

Awesome! Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. I’m an author and I believe that books have the power to change lives. Can you please tell our readers about “The Book That Changed Your Life”? Can you share a story about how it impacted you?

The Book the changed my life is Called Miracle Morning By Hal Elrod

Seven years Ago I heard Hal Elrod share his story at 1 Life Conference. Before that I was so tired, of my haunting past of trauma from a refugee camp and ate my sorrow numbing away with food and alcohol that didn’t serve my body. I was sick of being sick. I was overweight, overwhelmed, overstressed and over everything in my life just sucked in my own misery. That year I later hired a coach called Rhonda Smith who she guided me into helping loose the weight gain confidence and later started my coaching Practice. This was not easy…No it was not easy…but it was one of my proudest moments because I was able to go forward and create a nonprofit, outdoor Retreat coaching programs that take women in the outdoor to Find their first love in themselves

In a month I am about to release my first book called Living From Strength & Faith my journey from Refugee to success.

I took my Traumatic events and turned them into Triumphs, packaged it into a book and ready to share the message with the world.

I am on this amazing journey to public speaking sharing my msg around the world specifically for women to wake up and use their voice.

After 22 years I am going back to the refugee camp In Zambia where I spend 10 years waiting for hope and revisit my past.

Thank you Tim Rode, for inspiring me to change my story and turn my story into a powerful msg.

One of my Dreams & Goals is to share my story on stage at 1 Life Conferences.

What was the moment or series of events that made you decide that you wanted to take a specific course of action based on the inspiration from the book? Can you share a story about that?

I have been following Hal elRod on social media and following along his story continued to inspire to take action, I later joined a Conference that he hosted in San Diego and understood the concept of Personal Development and the affect to be around people who are continue to work on their person growth and continuously to make themselves better and giving back into their community

This book not only helped me it helped many communities and a lot of people change their lives for better.

Can you articulate why you think books in particular have the power to create movements, revolutions, and true change?

This book has created many conferences, different communities and support groups in many cities.

A book has many aspects, of course. For example, you have the writing style, the narrative tense, the topic, the genre, the design, the cover, the size, etc. In your opinion, what are the main, essential ingredients needed to create a book that can change lives?

I believe having few simple steps and systems that people can follow and learn. I also truly believe personal stories build connections and makes people feel relatable.

What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started My Career” and why?

I wish someone would have told me I don’t need a degree, there are many ways of learning in modern society but now I know what I know I share that with others.

Continue working on yourself is the key the more you grow and invest in yourself the more you help people.

Another thing is you are never to old to learn a new skill. I always felt i was old now I know what I know I can see myself learning until the day I die.

Be surrounded by people who sees the best in you. The quality of your life is based on the quality of the relationships you have build.

The world, of course, needs progress in many areas. What movement do you hope someone (or you!) starts next? Can you explain why that is so important?

I would love to see more people giving back to their community.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

You can follow me on Rukshana Triem on Facebook, Womens Lifestyle Coaching on Instagram or sign up for newsletter on https://www.womenslifestylecoaching.com/

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us and our readers. We know that it will make a tremendous difference and impact thousands of lives. We are excited to connect further and we wish you so much joy in your next success.

--

--

Sara Connell
Authority Magazine

Empowering Leaders To Become Bestselling Authors And In-Demand Speakers In Less Than A Year