Salimah Scott of Urban GLŌ: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became A Founder

An Interview With Doug Noll

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine
6 min readFeb 5, 2024

--

Use your NO. You can’t commit to everything or please everyone so be sure to carve out some ME time in between all of the goals you are trying to accomplish. A reset does the body good! Whether it’s taking a mini vacay every 6 weeks or use one day out of the week to decompress,

As part of our interview series called “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became A Founder”, I had the pleasure of interviewing Salimah Scott.

Salimah Scott is the founder and CEO of Urban GLŌ, the homemade aromatherapy candle brand based in Union, New Jersey. Salimah founded Urban GLŌ in 2020 after she was making candles in her home and the brand has experienced unprecedented growth ever since.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

I started making candles from home in 2019 after a transitional period in my life. I was desperately looking for ways to decompress and relax after long days of work and caring for my two children. I initially experimented with making candles to satisfy my own newfound addiction to lighting candles nightly. But after giving my family and friends samples of my creations and receiving such good feedback, I decided to create 3 solid fragrances and form my LLC in November 2019. Eventually, I launched Urban GLŌ® online in April 2020 — selling homemade candles and other home decor & self care items.

Can you tell us a story about the hard times that you faced when you first started your journey?

The hardest times initially was sourcing quality materials to create my candles. I wanted to make sure that I created the most eco-friendly and budget conscious candle.

Where did you get the drive to continue even though things were so hard?

My children are my constant motivation. They are literally watching everything that I do, even coming to work with me at various events and now at our shop. They are my driving force and also my desire to create a comfortable life for us.

So, how are things going today? How did grit and resilience lead to your eventual success?

Things are going really well! Our flagship location in Union, NJ just opened this past November. I kept pushing forward during this process because I know this next chapter will help elevate my business another notch. But opening a storefront location is no easy feat!

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I think all founders who run an online business can relate to this one: Not properly maintaining inventory! One holiday season, I had so many orders come in but forgot to update my website to reflect the actual inventory in stock. So, I had to make a mad dash to freshly create candles and ship them all out. The lesson in that was to properly maintain my inventory count on my website. It can be overwhelming for a small business owner to make products on demand. I had to learn to give myself some lead time when fulfilling orders.

What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share a story?

My company stands out because we ensure that our candles are of the highest quality, using premium materials and fragrances. Also, besides having an online presence, we offer an amazing in-person shopping experience! Our shop has an inviting atmosphere that showcases our handmade candles. Plus, our candle making events are an extra added sensory experience for customers to test fragrances and create their own custom candle.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Use your NO. You can’t commit to everything or please everyone so be sure to carve out some ME time in between all of the goals you are trying to accomplish. A reset does the body good! Whether it’s taking a mini vacay every 6 weeks or use one day out of the week to decompress,

None of us can achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful for who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story?

I’m definitely grateful for my Aunt Mary. When I was 18, I would help out my aunt with her event coordinating business. This helped me realize how much I enjoyed being creative! She showed me that it was possible to have your 9 to 5 but still pursue your passion. I’ve learned over time that you don’t have to put your dreams on the backburner — do something that fills your soul, too.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I’m truly using my platform to bring people together through my business. Our candle making experiences gather people together from all walks of life through creativity!

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me before I started leading my company” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

1. ME time is important

2. Multitasking does not make you more productive

3. Lean into people who are more experienced than you / Look for a mentor

4. Give yourself grace

5. Build a solid team

Can you share a few ideas or stories from your experience about how to successfully ride the emotional highs & lows of being a founder”?

I try not to embrace too many lows because it does mess with your mental stability. But being a founder is definitely the most rewarding role I’ve ever been in. I’m at a point now where I intentionally enjoy the fruits of my labor and when I sit back and look at everything that’s been accomplished over the last 3 years, it’s mind blowing!

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would definitely facilitate some kind of constant business networking event. I come across so many entrepreneurs that are looking to develop their business and connect with like-minded people. A lot of those events occur occasionally but it will be a great benefit to have those types of events on an ongoing basis.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

Our website is www.urbanglobrand.com, where you can register as an email subscriber and stay up to date on all things Urban GLŌ. Also, follow us on Instagram at @urbanglobrand. Check Google often for our storefront operating hours.

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

About the Interviewer: Douglas E. Noll, JD, MA was born nearly blind, crippled with club feet, partially deaf, and left-handed. He overcame all of these obstacles to become a successful civil trial lawyer. In 2000, he abandoned his law practice to become a peacemaker. His calling is to serve humanity, and he executes his calling at many levels. He is an award-winning author, teacher, and trainer. He is a highly experienced mediator. Doug’s work carries him from international work to helping people resolve deep interpersonal and ideological conflicts. Doug teaches his innovative de-escalation skill that calms any angry person in 90 seconds or less. With Laurel Kaufer, Doug founded Prison of Peace in 2009. The Prison of Peace project trains life and long terms incarcerated people to be powerful peacemakers and mediators. He has been deeply moved by inmates who have learned and applied deep, empathic listening skills, leadership skills, and problem-solving skills to reduce violence in their prison communities. Their dedication to learning, improving, and serving their communities motivates him to expand the principles of Prison of Peace so that every human wanting to learn the skills of peace may do so. Doug’s awards include California Lawyer Magazine Lawyer of the Year, Best Lawyers in America Lawyer of the Year, Purpose Prize Fellow, International Academy of Mediators Syd Leezak Award of Excellence, National Academy of Distinguished Neutrals Neutral of the Year. His four books have won a number of awards and commendations. Doug’s podcast, Listen With Leaders, is now accepting guests. Click on this link to learn more and apply.

--

--

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine

Award-winning author, teacher, trainer, and now podcaster.