Samreen Arshad of Samreen’s Vanity: What I Did to Heal After Postpartum Depression

An Interview With Lucinda Koza

Lucinda Koza
Authority Magazine
7 min readAug 30, 2024

--

Support from family and friends is essential. The final, and perhaps most important, aspect is having support to help manage daily tasks and ease the burden of postpartum depression.

Postpartum depression is a significant challenge that many new mothers face. The journey to recovery is unique for each individual, involving emotional resilience, self-care strategies, and often the support of healthcare professionals. Addressing postpartum depression is crucial for the well-being of both the mother and her family. Sharing these personal journeys can provide hope, support, and practical advice to others facing similar challenges. As a part of this series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Samreen Arshad.

As a Pakistani immigrant, Samreen Arshad came to America as a college student with $500 in her pocket. Samreen set out to create a brand crafted for South Asian individuals who no longer wanted to be held back from elevating their best selves due to limitations in the cosmetics industry. With a white space for representation, Samreen created her own brand and her vision came to life.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive in, Our readers would love to “get to know you” better. Can you tell us a bit about you and your backstory?

I am Samreen, CEO and founder of Samreen’s Vanity. I was born and raised in Karachi, Pakistan. As the youngest of three girls, I was a bit of a rebel and knew I had more to offer. At the age of 21, I immigrated to the U.S. to attend the University of Michigan, becoming the first woman in my family to graduate from college. I am married to a surgical oncologist, and together we have a beautiful 10-year-old son.

Can you share a little about your childbirth experience with us?

My childbirth was full of surprises. Physically, I had a very healthy pregnancy, but mentally, I struggled during the last month. I had prepared for a vaginal delivery, but despite being induced, I wasn’t dilating. After being in active labor for 48 hours, I ended up having a C-section.

How did you know you had postpartum depression? How quickly did these symptoms seem to inhabit you after giving birth?

My symptoms began toward the end of my third trimester, so it was prepartum for me. I felt unprepared for motherhood and for bearing my son. At the time, I didn’t understand what I was experiencing, and even after delivery, I wasn’t sure why I felt so low when I should have been at my happiest. I remember that four months after giving birth, I Googled my symptoms and discovered that I had postpartum depression.

What was the most insidious way postpartum depression had an effect on your body, your new child, your relationship, your family, your work, your brain, your sense of identity? What scared you the most?

a. The growth of my symptoms was very gradual. I would cry all the time, often not knowing why I felt so sad. My health and hygiene deteriorated, and I struggled to communicate my feelings to my husband, though he could see how badly I was suffering. While I was able to care for my child, I was a mess myself. I felt like a failure, with no clear reason for these feelings. Despite having everything I could ask for — a loving husband who provided well for our family, a healthy baby boy, and a caring family — I felt empty inside.

What has been the single most important tool in your arsenal as you have moved through and out of postpartum depression? Why?

Six months postpartum, I knew something had to change, but I wasn’t yet at the point of realizing I needed a doctor and medication. During that time, I stumbled upon YouTube makeup tutorials and became obsessed with the art of transformation. This creative process really helped pull me out of my dark place. I would put my son to bed and watch tutorials for hours, amazed at how people could transform themselves into anything they wished — like a glam queen or a werewolf! My journey took me from learning the basics of makeup to eventually owning my own cosmetic line.

In a perfect world, what do you think women need, structurally, to ensure this transition into motherhood is a healthy one?

When a baby is born, there are numerous back-to-back check-ups, with doctors visiting every week to monitor the baby’s growth and development. But when does the mother get her first doctor’s appointment? It’s typically 6 to 8 weeks after delivery. During this time, there is often little concern for her physical or mental health. A woman who has just given birth, whose body has endured so much, is not the focus of attention. Women need regular check-ups with their OB-GYN after birth, where they can openly discuss how they are truly feeling. Sometimes, it’s difficult to open up to friends and family.

Can you please share “5 Things You Need to Heal After Postpartum Depression”?

#1 — Education and Awareness are extremely important. When I went through this, and even today, no one prepares you for postpartum depression. Doctors aren’t talking about it, and women who experience it often feel embarrassed to discuss it, leaving others without valuable insights. This is a significant issue. I believe we need to offer free educational classes for expecting parents during the third trimester.

#2 — Medical Support is crucial for new moms. I felt like I was just a vessel for birthing my child. While everyone focused on the baby, my own health was largely ignored. OB-GYN appointments should be scheduled more frequently than insurance companies often allow.

#3 — Maintaining a healthy diet and regular exercise can help. While it won’t replace medication, it may alleviate stress to some extent.

#4 — Consistency and stability are crucial. Avoid making major life changes if possible. For example, we bought a house and moved when my son was just three months old, which significantly added to my stress. It’s best to wait until you’re settled into your new family life and adjusted to your body before making any major lifestyle changes.

#5 — Support from family and friends is essential. The final, and perhaps most important, aspect is having support to help manage daily tasks and ease the burden of postpartum depression.

In what ways did society support you as a new mother with postpartum depression?

I was blessed to have a very supportive family and close friends who continuously checked on me. Although they didn’t fully understand what I was going through or what I needed, their support was invaluable.

In what ways did you feel failed or overlooked?

I don’t believe I was overlooked intentionally by my loved ones, but I was definitely overlooked by the system. While the system works wonderfully for newborns, it often fails new mothers. Educating new families could save countless lives by improving outcomes for postpartum depression.

How did you navigate the balance between taking care of your newborn and prioritizing your own healing needs during the postpartum period?

Thankfully, I was one of the few postpartum depression patients who remained attentive to my child. Many women struggle to care for both their children and themselves. While I was able to focus on my child’s well-being, I was depleting in energy and willpower.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US, with whom you would like to have a private breakfast or lunch, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them?

I would love to meet Oprah one day because I believe she is someone who can truly make things happen. She could help us advocate for this overlooked sector of the healthcare system.

If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

One day, I plan to focus on advocating for changes in postpartum medical protocols. There should be free educational classes for families, similar to those for CPR. Additionally, health insurance needs to provide immediate OB-GYN appointments for new mothers. Speaking with a healthcare professional is often easier than discussing these issues with loved ones, and it would help women identify their symptoms and get the support they need.

How can our readers follow your work online?

You can follow us on instagram @samreensvanity @samreenarshad or follow our rebranding journey on www.samreensvanity.com

Thank you so much for joining us. This was very inspirational.

About the Interviewer: After becoming her father’s sole caregiver at a young age, Lucinda Koza founded I-Ally, a community-based app that provides access to services and support for millennial family caregivers. Mrs. Koza has had essays published in Thought Catalog, Medium Women, Caregiving.com and Hackernoon.com. She was featured in ‘Founded by Women: Inspiration and Advice from over 100 Female Founders’ by Sydney Horton. A filmmaker, Mrs. Koza premiered short film ‘Laura Point’ at the 2015 Cannes Film Festival and recently co-directed ‘Caregivers: A Story About Them’ with Egyptian filmmaker Roshdy Ahmed. Her most notable achievement, however, has been becoming a mother to fraternal twins in 2023. Reach out to Lucinda via social media or directly by email: lucinda@i-ally.com.

--

--

Lucinda Koza
Authority Magazine

Founded of I-Ally, a community-based app that provides access to services and support for millennial family caregivers