The American Dream: From Busboy to Magnate, With Santiago Arana

Marla Horn Lazarus
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readDec 11, 2018

“It’s not what you do, but how you do it.”

I had the distinct pleasure to interview Santiago Arana. Ranked #6 in the country, Santiago Arana, Principal and Partner of The Agency, has gained a reputation as one of the most distinguished real estate agents in Los Angeles, garnering national recognition that includes being named among the Top 250 Realtors in the United States by Real Trends as advertised in The Wall Street Journal for seven consecutive years.

Thank you for sharing your story with us…

What is your “backstory”?

Originally from Sucre, Bolivia, and with Spanish/Croatian roots, I have greatly benefited from my cosmopolitan background and international upbringing. After graduating from Private University with my Business Administration & Marketing Degree, I came to the United States with a scholarship to learn English and get my masters in Finance. I fell in love with America and an American girl and decided to stay and get into Real Estate.

In past roles, I have served as Director of the New Construction Division and distinguished myself with my unique knowledge of (and success with) new development and investment properties throughout the Westside.

Is your career path a lifelong dream?

I’m definitely in a great place and very much enjoy my career and what I do.

Today, I am known for my record-breaking sales in almost every “pocket” of L.A. Part of a power trio that includes industry leaders Billy Rose and Mauricio Umansky, I joined The Agency in 2014 as Principal and Partner, specializing in high-end residential real estate and new construction in Beverly Hills, Bel Air, Holmby Hills, the Sunset Strip, Pacific Palisades, Brentwood, Santa Monica and Malibu. Spearheading the company’s new Westside offices in Brentwood and Pacific Palisades, I doubled my business in 2016 with sales volume topping $305 Million. To date, I have closed over $2 Billion worth of real estate, netting over $420 Million in sales volume in 2017 alone.

I am so happy my hard work has paid off. Since the start of my career I have aimed to excel in the art of discretion whilst under the limelight, taking great care to tailor my marketing strategies to fit each individual property.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your career?

The most interesting would be when I walked into a listing to find out they were in the process of filming an adult movie.

Where do you get your inspiration?

I get my inspiration from God.

What is your greatest accomplishment professionally and personally?

Professionally — Being ranked by the WSJ as the #6 Real Estate Agent in the country, also being being named among the Top 250 Realtors in the United States by Real Trends for the last seven consecutive years.

Personally — Having found my soulmate and being married for 14 years and the father to our two amazing boys.

Is there a person that made a profound impact on your life? Can you share why?

My mom for sure, she not only raised me and taught me integrity, values, ethics and respect for others but she always shared her positive outlook on life and love for everything.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world? Are you working on any meaningful or exciting non-profit projects?

We as an agency are involved in philanthropy on a number of levels. Giving back is part of the cultural fabric of The Agency, and our agents and staff are committed to doing their part to make a difference.

On an individual level, pretty much every agent has a cause they support and we support with them. I personally have worked with Give Back Homes and Habitat for Humanity. I am proud to donate my time and capital to building a home in Bolivia through Give Back Homes and Habitat for Humanity. I look forward to continuing my relationship with both organizations. At The Agency, I also spend time mentoring a lot of agents and conduct seminars for realtors outside our company as well.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

There is one thing I wish someone had told me, “It’s not what you do, but how you do it.” I thankfully learned this very early in my first year as a real estate agent. I wasted a lot of time doing a lot of different things as opposed to focusing on a few things and doing them right.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”?

Faith and Fear can’t co-exist.

Some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why?

Tony Robbins — He’s been an inspiration to me. I have read all his books, listened to all his tapes and have been to all his seminars. His materials and his energy have definitely had a big impact on my personal life and career; going from busboy to being the #6 REAL ESTATE AGENT IN THE COUNTRY.

What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share an example why?

What makes The Agency a unique company is that it’s the only company that has a real culture, where people work together, collaborate with each and are truly happy to be a part of such an amazing organization.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

To take care of themselves physically and mentally by taking time off, exercising and enjoying life. BALANCE!

Are you working on any exciting projects now?

Yes! I’m finishing my latest single-family spec development and it will be ready in April 2019 for somewhere around $20 million.

Do you have a favorite book that made a deep impact on your life? Can you share a story?

Think and Grow Rich made a big impact on my life. It allowed me to learn “Whatever the mind of man can conceive and believe it can achieve”.

As the sky’s the limit, what does the future hold for you?

If I start telling you, you would run out of pages and space on Authority! But I’m very excited for it!

--

--