Sari Beth Goodman Of The Parental Edge On The 5 Things Parents Can Do To Help Their Children Thrive and Excel In School

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
12 min readOct 18, 2021

--

Read to your child as often as you can for at least 10 minutes at a time. Research has shown that after reading together for 10 minutes a day, consistently for a year, your child’s reading level will increase by at least one grade level.

School is really not easy these days. Many students have been out of school for a long time because of the pandemic, and the continued disruptions and anxieties are still breaking the flow of normal learning. What can parents do to help their children thrive and excel in school, particularly during these challenging and anxiety-provoking times?

To address this, we started a new series called ‘5 Things Parents Can Do To Help Their Children Thrive and Excel In School.” In this interview series, we are talking to teachers, principals, education experts, and successful parents to learn from their insights and experience.

As a part of this interview series, I had the pleasure to interview Sari Beth Goodman.

Sari Goodman is a Certified Parent Educator and Trainer who is an avid cheerleader for the most significant people in a child’s life — the parents.

She supports parents and guardians by developing a comprehensive understanding of family dynamics to create a customized action plan that reduces chaos and brings calm. ​She has been an educator of students, teachers, and parents for over 30 years:

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dive in, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you share with us a bit about your “backstory”?

I have always wanted to be a teacher. My mother told me that from the time I was 3 years old, I would “play school”. Later, when I was in elementary school, my friend and I created a carnival to entertain the younger children in our apartment complex. As one might expect, I was also a babysitter. In college, I majored in psychology and worked with special education students at the UCLA Neuropsychiatric Institute. I went on to get…

--

--