Greg Ostertag of the Utah Jazz: “Say I Love You, A Lot”

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readAug 5, 2018

--

“Say I love you. A lot. This might sound strange coming from a big guy, but don’t be afraid to soften up a bit and say, “I love you.” There’s no such thing as overusing the word with your loved ones. I try and make sure I tell them every day because you never know what tomorrow holds.”

I had the pleasure to interview Greg Donovan Ostertag. Greg is a retired NBA player, who spent most of his career with the Utah Jazz.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us your “backstory”?

I grew up in in a suburb just outside of Dallas, Texas. I played every sport possible — football, basketball, soccer, hockey, and baseball (my favorite). I didn’t start playing basketball until the 4th grade, and that was mostly because my parents and the coaches forced me to play. I was always taller than everyone on the team, so basketball was easy for me. By the time I was in sixth grade and going into high school, I was 6 ft tall. Come my sophomore year, I reached 7’2”, giving me a huge advantage. Senior year, I led my team to the state title and then committed to the University of Kansas, where I played all four years. Once I…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator