Shannon Felton On The 5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readOct 19, 2022

--

Never say no to the muse. Granted, sometimes it comes at the worst times, but try to get yourself to a piece of paper as quickly as possible. Those moments of inspiration are what every writer chases. Stay with it as long as you can, even if the dishes aren’t done and the phone is ringing.

As part of my interview series on the five things you need to know to become a great author, I had the pleasure of interviewing Shannon Felton. Shannon Felton currently lives in Buckeye, Arizona with her family and pets. She is the author of THE PRISONERS OF STEWARTVILLE and short fiction. When not writing she spends her time losing at chess, binging TV shows, and annoying her cats.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share a story about what brought you to this particular career path?

Thank you for having me!

Telling stories has always been a part of who I am. My mom used to say that I talked just to hear myself talk and she wasn’t entirely wrong. In class my creative writing assignments were always much longer than what the teacher had asked for. As I grew up…

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.