Social Impact Authors: How & Why Author Dr Marc Gorelick of Children’s Minnesota Is Helping To Change Our World

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readSep 24, 2024

You won’t have all the answers, and that’s okay. Early in my career, I felt immense pressure to know everything. Over time, I’ve learned that medicine is about continuous learning and collaboration.

As part of my series about “authors who are making an important social impact”, I had the pleasure of interviewing Dr. Marc Gorelick.

Marc Gorelick, MD, was appointed chief executive officer of Children’s Minnesota in December 2017. He joined Children’s in March 2017 as president and chief operating officer. He is deeply committed to identifying sustainable ways Children’s can continue to deliver exceptional care in an evolving health care environment.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive into the main focus of our interview, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood backstory?

I grew up with a strong sense of responsibility toward others — something that was instilled in me by my family. My parents emphasized the importance of education and service, values that have guided me throughout my life. From a young age, I was drawn to medicine, seeing it as a way to make a tangible difference in people’s lives, particularly for the most vulnerable among us. This drive led me to specialize in pediatrics, where I could focus on the well-being of children, who are, in my view, our most important resource.

When you were younger, was there a book that you read that inspired you to take action or changed your life? Can you share a story about that?

One book that left a lasting impact on me was The Jungle by Upton Sinclair. It opened my eyes to the way that those of us with privilege can be completely unaware of the ways in which that is enabled by the disadvantages of others. It led me to want to use the privilege I have to help those who don’t.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Those who know me well know that I hate taking elevators for anything less than 5–6 floors. When I was a resident I decided to take the back stairs from one unit to another, and realized the doors were locked on every floor. I pounded on the door for about 15 minutes (this was long before the days of cell phones!) until a nurse heard and let me out. I learned that plan A doesn’t always work, so have a plan B.

Can you describe how you aim to make a significant social impact with your book?

My book, “Saving Our Kids: An ER Doc’s Common Sense Solutions to the Gun Crisis,” is an effort to shift the conversations about gun violence from a political and moral battleground to a public health issue. Drawing from my decades of experience as a pediatric emergency physician, I aim to provide practical solutions to help reduce the number of children affected by gun violence. By focusing on evidence-based approaches and reframing the debate, I hope to inspire actionable change that can save lives.

Can you share with us the most interesting story that you shared in your book?

One of the most compelling stories in the book is about a thirteen-year-old girl who blew off most of her face when she tried to kill herself with her father’s shotgun, one eye gone and the other dangling, crying for her parents through the half of her mouth that remained. It was another moment that further solidified my resolve to advocate for safer gun storage and to educate others about the preventable nature of these tragedies.

What was the “aha moment” or series of events that made you decide to bring your message to the greater world? Can you share a story about that?

The aha moment for me came when I realized that, despite the growing number of gun-related deaths among children, we were not treating it with the urgency it deserved. We are calling it a public health crisis, but our actions in our communities and throughout our country do not reflect that. This disconnect became painfully clear during the pandemic when I saw how quickly we mobilized resources to address COVID-19. I thought, if we can do that for a virus, why not for gun violence? That realization pushed me to write this book and advocate for change on a broader scale.

Without sharing specific names, can you tell us a story about a particular individual who was impacted or helped by your cause?

Because of my interest in preventing gun violence, I became involved with a project called “Art is my Weapon,” led by an artist named Nikki McComb, that seeks to use visual arts as a way of helping the Minneapolis community in particular deal with all the traumas of gun violence. At one of their exhibits, I met an artist who had painted a portrait of a young girl who was killed by a stray bullet in North Minneapolis, and the girl’s grandfather. I ended up purchasing and donating the portrait to the family as a way of helping them deal with their loss.

Are there three things the community/society/politicians can do to help you address the root of the problem you are trying to solve?

Absolutely. First, we need to treat gun violence as a public health crisis, which means applying the same rigor and resources we use to combat other health threats of similar importance. Second, we must invest in research to better understand the most effective strategies for reducing gun violence. Lastly, we need to implement policies that promote responsible gun ownership across the country, such as mandatory safe storage laws, which can prevent many of the tragic accidents involving children.

How do you define “Leadership”? Can you explain what you mean or give an example?

Leadership, to me, is about courage and empathy. It’s the willingness to step forward and make difficult decisions, even when those decisions are unpopular or bring about scrutiny, and to do so with a deep understanding of how those decisions will impact others. As a leader in healthcare, I’ve had to advocate for changes I knew were necessary, despite resistance. Whether it’s implementing new safety protocols or pushing for policy changes, leadership requires a steadfast commitment to doing what’s right.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

First, you won’t have all the answers, and that’s okay. Early in my career, I felt immense pressure to know everything. Over time, I’ve learned that medicine is about continuous learning and collaboration.

Second, it’s not a sprint, it’s a marathon. In medicine, in leadership, in advocacy — progress is slow and inconsistent. You need to pace yourself and be patient, with the end goal in mind.

Third, remember to embrace humility. Mistakes are inevitable. Learning from them is what makes you a better doctor and a better person.

Fourth, advocacy is part of the job. As healthcare providers, we have a responsibility to speak out on issues that affect our patients. I wish I had started doing this sooner.

And lastly, find your support network. Having a community of colleagues and mentors to lean on is invaluable, especially in the challenging times you are sure to encounter.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends.” This quote by Martin Luther King Jr. resonates with me because it underscores the importance of speaking up. Silence in the face of injustice is complicity, and in my work, I’ve seen how powerful a voice can be when advocating for change.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would like to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I would love to sit down with Dr. Anthony Fauci. His leadership during the COVID-19 pandemic was inspiring, and I’d be interested to hear his thoughts on how we can apply the lessons from that crisis to other public health challenges, like gun violence.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

Readers can follow my work through my blog, Progressive Pediatrics, where I regularly post updates on my advocacy efforts and upcoming projects. They can also connect with me on LinkedIn and Twitter for more frequent insights and discussions.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator