Social Impact Authors: How & Why Author Zoro The Drummer Is Helping To Change Our World

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readJul 28, 2024

Surround yourself around wise people. Every worthwhile thing you want to accomplish you can learn from those who’ve already done it. Seek wisdom above all things because with that’s the most valuable thing in life. With wisdom comes the right choices in every area of your life.

As part of my series about “authors who are making an important social impact”, I had the pleasure of interviewing Zoro The Drummer.

Zoro is a world-renowned drummer for such artists as Lenny Kravitz, Bobby Brown, Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons, New Edition, Philip Bailey of Earth, Wind & Fire and more. He has been voted the number one R&B drummer in the world numerous times and is the author of Maria’s Scarf: A Memoir of a Mother’s Love, a Son’s Perseverance, and Dreaming Big. In addition, Zoro is a motivational speaker who has spent his life empowering others to live out the purpose with confidence, clarity and conviction.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive into the main focus of our interview, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood backstory?

My mother, Maria was an immigrant from Mexico who raised seven children alone in the United States. I was abandoned by my father when I was an infant and by the time I was the fourth grade we had moved over 30 times. Our life was filled with instability, poverty, rejection, and racism, but as a family we fought for each other’s physical, financial, and emotional survival. Our lives were faced with adversity everywhere we turned, but my mother was a tenacious woman with an irrepressible love and sense of optimism that kept us believing we could accomplish great things despite our dire circumstances and dismal forecast. With her unwavering belief in us, she convinced us we could do fantazmical things and planted big dreams in our hearts.

When you were younger, was there a book that you read that inspired you to take action or changed your life? Can you share a story about that?

The World’s Greatest Salesman by Og Mandino had a profound impact on my outlook. A line that stands out from the book was: “Obstacles are necessary for success because in selling, as in all careers of importance, victory comes only after many struggles and countless defeats.” I related to that on every level. Knowing firsthand and accepting this as truth strengthened my resolve to push through all the adversity I faced in my formative years and even now. It also taught me that even if you weren’t fortunate enough to be born into wealth or position that you could earn you way there through hard work, perseverance, courage, and faith, which ultimately was more rewarding because it builds character and appreciation.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Storytelling is the most powerful way to create social change and uplift humanity. Through the love story of a family, a mother who gave her very best, and a boy who refused to give up his dream, I hope to touch the hearts of all and inspire people not to give up in the face of adversity. By sharing our struggles, we discover how similar our battles are. We find strength, courage, and solace in the stories of people who have endured, overcome, and succeeded. Those true-life tales of victory become arrows for our future battles. They remind us that even in the face of great travails, we must never abandon hope — for it is the very thing that can change our destiny.

I came to play one of my biggest televised concerts without my drumsticks. I freaked out when I realized I didn’t have them, and I scrambled to find another drummer on the festival to borrow sticks from. Moral of the story. Always have a check list of things you need for anything you are doing where people are relying on you, and double check that you have everything you need. The key is to always be prepared.

Can you describe how you aim to make a significant social impact with your book?

Storytelling is the most powerful way to create social change and uplift humanity. Through the love story of a family, a mother who gave her very best, and a boy who refused to give up his dream, I hope to touch the hearts of all and inspire people not to give up in the face of adversity. By sharing our struggles, we discover how similar our battles are. We find strength, courage, and solace in the stories of people who have endured, overcome, and succeeded. Those true-life tales of victory become arrows for our future battles. They remind us that even in the face of great travails, we must never abandon hope — for it is the very thing that can change our destiny.

Can you share with us the most interesting story that you shared in your book?

After graduating from high school in Eugene, Oregon I joined a cover band that drove down to Anaheim, California to audition for a house band position at Disneyland. We didn’t get the gig and the band quickly fell apart shortly after our arrival. A week later, I wound up in Beverly Hills where I pretended to be a new student at Beverly Hills High School. I went to school every day and kept up the charade undetected for about a year. During that time, I met some students who changed the trajectory of my life and career. I go into much more detail in my memoir, Maria’s Scarf.

What was the “aha moment” or series of events that made you decide to bring your message to the greater world? Can you share a story about that?

I had always wanted to write my story as far back as I could remember. Perhaps I was destined to write it because, in one way or another, I’ve been writing it all my life. At ten, I started a diary that I kept writing in through early adulthood, having no idea I would one day use its contents to pen a part of my memoir. What began as one-line diary sentences over 50 years ago morphed into short paragraphs and vignettes, then into skeletal chapters that turned into the book. Something inside me drove me past fear, doubt, discouragement, and rejection. I was like a horse with blinders on and I had determined I would tell my story no matter what. That burning desire led to me studying the craft for several years. I immersed myself in over 300 books on writing and worked extremely hard to hone my writing chops. Like all worthwhile endeavors, it was a labor of love that evolved over time, and I am so glad I wrote it because I feel it’s the most important thing I’ve ever done, simply because it will inspire anyone in the world who reads it.

Without sharing specific names, can you tell us a story about a particular individual who was impacted or helped by your cause?

I’m an intentional man whose main goal in life is to impact people in some kind of positive way. I accomplish this by how I treat people; the words I speak, write, and through random encounters I have with people daily, and by using my platform to influence to inspire, encourage, and love on people. I have spent most of the life uplifting others through my books, teaching, performances, personal mentoring, and motivational speaking engagements. In truth, I have touched countless lives but I say that with all humility because it’s just how I roll.

Because impacting someone is not a rare or special occurrence, no one particular story comes to mind.

I have spoken everywhere from San Quentin State Prison to the jungles of Ghana, Africa, inner city schools, juvenile halls to Hollywood Oscar and Grammy parties and at corporate events. I have loved on the rich, the poor, the criminals, the lost, the brokenhearted, the discouraged the defeated because everyone needs love and encouragement. I’ve discovered you’ll either live a life of self or service. There’s no in between. So, I have chosen to live a life of service. And the question I ask myself daily is whose life got better today because I’m alive. That keeps me focused on making a difference because I know my time on this earth is limited and I want to do all the good I can with all that I have for as long as I have. For a good story about my impact, I’ll leave that to those I’ve impacted to tell, but more than likely they’ll share that when I’m no longer here. Sadly, people seldom celebrate the living.

Are there three things the community/society/politicians can do to help you address the root of the problem you are trying to solve?

Help people discover their gifts and talents so they can fulfill their purpose. Ultimately, the world would be a happier and more fulfilling place if every person was walking out their calling. When people aren’t doing what’s in their heart and what they were meant to do they become dissatisfied.

Take the time to offer an encouraging or sympathetic word to someone in need and treat people as the individual human beings they are, not like another number.

Treat others the way you want to be treated. Show kindness, empathy, kindness, and courtesy to all humanity.

How do you define “Leadership”? Can you explain what you mean or give an example?

I like how Dwight D. Eisenhower put it: “Leadership is the art of getting someone else to do something you want done because he wants to do it.” In addition, a true leader is someone who exemplifies humility and is willing to get down and do the dirty work they ask of others. A true leader is someone who understands their real job is to serve to others, not be served. John Quincy Adams’ once stated and I agree: “If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more, you are a leader.” Lastly, a boss creates fear, a leader, confidence. A boss fixes blame, a leader corrects mistakes. A boss knows all, a leader asks questions. A boss makes work drudgery, a leader makes it interesting.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

• Learn to type. I didn’t take typing in high school because I thought I would never need it. Boy was I wrong!

• Learn to write. I didn’t take English and writing serious in school because again, I never thought I’d need it. But I would soon learn that communication is the key to everything in life and business. Being a great communicator is an invaluable skill no matter what you end up doing.

• Don’t squander time. Without exception, each of us only gets 24 hours a day to work with. Those who accomplish great and worthwhile things understand how to manage their time better.

• Take care of your body. Your health in later years is the cumulative effect of how you treated your body in earlier years. No matter how wealthy or famous you may become, you only get one body to do life in. Treat it well.

• Surround yourself around wise people. Every worthwhile thing you want to accomplish you can learn from those who’ve already done it. Seek wisdom above all things because with that’s the most valuable thing in life. With wisdom comes the right choices in every area of your life.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Perhaps Baseball great, Jackie Robinson summed it up best when he said, “A life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives.” The deeper mission of my life grew out of the paradox of my childhood. At times, it was miserable, yet amid the heartache and the struggle was a sense of great love, expectation, and adventure. It was life in all its fragmented glory. Still, I maintain a sense of gratitude for the painful conditions that birthed within me, the spirit of a motivator who loves to encourage people to love extravagantly, live hopefully, and believe there is a destiny awaiting them that is bigger and more beautiful than they could ever imagine. Inspiring others is my passion, purpose, and place where I find my significance.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would like to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Director, Steven Spielberg

How can our readers further follow your work online?

They can subscribe to my newsletter at ZoroTheDrummer.com/Subscribe

Instagram @ZoroTheDrummer

You Tube @SuperFunkyFan

Facebook @ZoroTheDrummermusic

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator