Social Impact Heroes: How Susannah Schaefer of Smile Train is Helping To Provide Free Cleft Surgery To Children Across The World

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readSep 15, 2020

--

Pay it forward — I have always been passionate about giving back and contributing to making the world a better place in any way that I can. I’m lucky to do that every day by working with Smile Train, which would not have happened had I not joined Charles Wang in the organization’s earliest days. I can’t stress enough how great it feels to give back, and I advise everyone to pay it forward in a big or small way everyday. You never know what it can lead to.

As part of my series about “individuals and organizations making an important social impact”, I had the pleasure of interviewing Susannah Schaefer, Executive Vice-Chair, President & Chief Executive Officer of Smile Train, an NGO committed to empowering local medical professionals to provide free cleft surgery and comprehensive cleft care to children globally. Schaefer joined Smile Train in February 2013, after serving as a member of the organization’s Board for over 10 years. As

--

--