Social Impact Heroes: Why & How Professor Richard Hazenberg of the G-Accelerator Is Helping To Change Our World

Kate Mowbray
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readOct 17, 2022

For me, I think the most interesting part of my job is the international work we do in promoting social innovation globally, and particularly in South East Asia. One of the most memorable trips was when I visited Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos as part of a grant funded project, to go and meet social entrepreneurs and communities who were running innovative businesses and development programmes to support disadvantaged people. I saw so much amazing work going on and it really opened my eyes to the power of social innovation in international and community development work.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Professor Richard Hazenberg, he has recently worked with GBSB Global Business School in Europe on the G-Accelerator programme, where they help social innovators/entrepreneurs launch their own businesses. Richard wants to engage with individuals concerned about bettering the world and society through sustainable business models that are socially responsible and environmentally sustainable.

He is also the Director and Research Leader of the Institute for Social Innovation and Impact at the University of Northampton. His research includes social innovation, social entrepreneurship, social finance, public service innovation, social ecosystems and social impact measurement.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

My path to academia and social innovation was perhaps a little unusual in that after completing my Master’s degree, I joined the Police and spent several years working as a frontline Police Officer in the UK, which was an interesting experience for sure! However, whilst in the Police you do learn a lot of skills that are relevant to the world of research and I had decided that I wanted to return to university to study for my doctorate. I had become aware of a social enterprise that was working with young people excluded from school and got really interested in social enterprises generally, so when I saw a PhD advertised at the University of Northampton I applied, and luckily was successful. Since then I have worked at the University teaching and researching social innovation more generally. I was fortunate enough to then be asked to establish the Institute for Social Innovation and Impact at the University in 2014 and the following years have seen us work intensively to support third sector organisations, international NGOs and governments. I feel very lucky to be in a job that I love, where we hopefully help to do some good in the world and support organisations trying to make a change.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began at your company or organisation?

For me, I think the most interesting part of my job is the international work we do in promoting social innovation globally, and particularly in South East Asia. One of the most memorable trips was when I visited Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos as part of a grant funded project, to go and meet social entrepreneurs and communities who were running innovative businesses and development programmes to support disadvantaged people. I saw so much amazing work going on and it really opened my eyes to the power of social innovation in international and community development work. There were so many great businesses there that it’s hard to pick out some examples. However, in Vietnam there was an IT consultancy and design social enterprise working with disabled people in Hanoi, a social start-up incubator supporting social enterprises in Danang, and a mushroom farming and food production company that worked with rural communities across Vietnam. In Laos, I visited a fair trade coffee company that works with rural hill tribes in the North to produce sustainable, high quality and fairly priced coffee; whilst in Cambodia I visited an international NGO in Phnom Penh supporting local social entrepreneurs. When you see these types of organisations first-hand, it really inspires you and I feel privileged that we were able to work with them all in some small way. I really do believe that such examples show why social innovation should be at the heart of sustainable development work globally.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

That is a tricky one, as I think it doesn’t get acknowledged enough in business (and life) that we all make a lot of mistakes, or have moments we wish we could take back, but it is definitely from these that we learn and become better in our work. I think perhaps one funny example, albeit a little embarrassing for me, relates again to our international work. A few years back, I visited Vietnam and took an overnight flight that only got me to Hanoi an hour before I was due to speak at a conference. We had been so busy with work back in the UK that I hadn’t gotten an earlier flight. I always struggle to sleep on planes and alongside working most of the flight, I hadn’t slept at all. So I was super tired and very jet-lagged as you might imagine, and the flight arrived a little late also. I was picked up from the airport and taken straight to the conference, where I thought I would grab a cup of coffee and prepare for my speech. However, as I walked into the conference hall with my suitcase, as I was late, I was immediately ushered up on to the stage and after a short introduction they hand over to me for my talk. Well, I deliver the presentation and everything has gone okay, I think the adrenaline got me through that, but then a panel discussion begins. I am sat down for the discussion with a translator sat next to me to explain the discussion and questions. Well by this time, the adrenaline has faded and I literally cannot stay awake, I am constantly starting to fall asleep on stage. The translator found this most amusing, but was absolutely lovely about it, and every time she saw me nodding off would give me a discreet nudge in the back. This literally kept me awake for the discussion and in the end it was all okay, I certainly owe the translator a favour, that is for sure! However, it definitely taught me not to cram too much in. Sometimes, you have to accept that you can’t do everything and need to ensure that you are properly prepared for events. Oh, and also drink plenty of coffee when you land at the airport!

Can you describe how you or your organisation is making a significant social impact through the G-Accelerator programme?

Our work with GBSB Global Business School in Europe on the G-Accelerator programme is really exciting and involves us teaching on the Triple Impact Business and Measurement modules, where we support students to develop their triple impact business ideas and their impact frameworks. The students, actually they are really social innovators/entrepreneurs so let’s call them that, then have to pitch their business ideas both from an impact and investor perspective. Obviously, not all of the ideas will lead to business start-ups or sustainable businesses in the long-run, but some will and they will go on to create impact in society. However, more importantly than that, everyone who goes through the programme hopefully gets a strong grounding in sustainability and impact, and in the long run this makes all of them more aware of the changes needed in society. The social innovators/entrepreneurs we engage can then go on to become the change-makers of tomorrow.

How do you define “Leadership”? Can you explain what you mean or give an example?

To me, effective leadership is about empowering those people that you work with and trusting them. Obviously, you have to lead by example, you can’t expect others to work hard if you don’t also, but ultimately it’s a trust thing. If you do this, alongside supporting them properly (especially when they make mistakes), then I think you can build a great team who are happy in their work.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

Okay, so this is in no particular order, but here goes. First, grab every opportunity that comes your way, even if it doesn’t work out, you never know until you try. I nearly didn’t apply for my PhD as I wasn’t sure that I was what the University would be looking for, being a Police Officer and not an active researcher. If I hadn’t though, my career could have been very different. Second, try to work with great people, they don’t have to be the same as you, in fact it can be better if they challenge your ways of working, but if they are good at what they do, then you can do great work together. I have really found that to be the case at the University and on G-Accelerator, where you are constantly working with people who are passionate about what they do (and good at it to boot). Third, try to see things from other people’s perspectives, it’s not always easy but you never know what is going on in people’s lives. A little empathy goes a long way. If someone has missed a deadline or not done what they were supposed to, it’s always best to understand why first. I have worked with people who have had serious personal problems such as caring for someone who is ill, and that is tough for people to balance alongside work. Fourth, always support people with their development. I was super fortunate to have support from my peers and managers both when I started out and to this day, without which I wouldn’t be in the position I am now, and that is important to always remember. Fifth, it’s okay to not know the answer to something or to be unsure, that is human nature and just the reality of life. I think there is a tendency to think you can never say you don’t know the answer to something or that you don’t understand, and I think the longer my academic career has progressed the more I have realised how much I don’t know. You can be honest about this more than you think, most people in the room will likely be thinking the same.

Can you please give us your favourite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

I think I would have to go with the late Steven Spurrier, who was a wine critic, winemaker and author. He said, ‘There are three important things in life: someone to love, something to do and something to look forward to’. When I read that it really resonated with me I have to say, everyone needs those things and I really do believe that if you have them, then you will be happy in life.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would like to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why?

I would have to go with Professor Muhammad Yunus, a Nobel Laureate and someone who has done so much work around social innovation, particularly through his micro-finance work, to support people around the world. I think it would be fascinating to sit down with him and discuss how the idea developed, how he implemented his work and what it means to him to have supported the millions of people that he has.

Thank you for your time! We wish you continued success!

--

--