Social Impact Heroes: Why & How April Preyar of ‘JustUs Junkie’ Is Helping To Change Our World

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readFeb 11, 2021

--

How to procure capital from large investors: Black women start businesses at a higher rate than any other demographic in the U.S. However, we are the least likely to receive funding from a bank or investor. I self-funded and did a crowdfunding campaign to get seed money for my board game production. Having a large cash infusion from investors would have added stability to my business operations and allowed me to focus on product development and content creation, not how to pay the bills. My entire mishap involving not having money for shipping costs would have been avoided if I had had investors.

As part of my series about “individuals and organizations making an important social impact”, I had the pleasure of interviewing April Preyar.

April Preyar is a criminal defense attorney, who has been practicing law for 21 years. Preyar is a graduate of Duke University &

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator