Social Impact Heroes: Why & How Author Tammy McLeod Is Helping To Change Our World

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
10 min readFeb 28, 2021

--

I wish that more people would have just listened to my pain without trying to solve my problems, fix me, or read their autobiography into my life.

I found it difficult to listen to people when they shared ideas of new procedures to help Zach recover when I had already tried these ideas, or when they told me if I just had more faith Zach would be fully healed, or when they said they could relate to me and then launched into their story of pain. What helped most was people just listening.

As part of my series about “individuals and organizations making an important social impact”, I had the pleasure of interviewing Tammy McLeod.

Tammy and her husband Pat McLeod coauthored the book Hit Hard: One Family’s Journey of Letting Go of What Was — and Learning to Live Well with What Is in which they share their journey into the world of ambiguous loss that began after their son suffered a traumatic brain injury playing football. Pat and Tammy

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator