Social Impact Heroes: Why & How Dr Adrienne Starks of STREAM Innovations Is Helping To Change Our World

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readJan 5, 2022

--

Find time to enjoy friends and family. Take vacations as frequently as possible because they can give you the focus needed to see a new perspective.

As part of my series about “individuals and organizations making an important social impact”, I had the pleasure of interviewing Dr. Adrienne Starks.

Dr. Adrienne Starks is the founder and CEO of STREAM Innovations located in Birmingham, Alabama. Through STREAM Innovations, Dr. Starks helps students develop and explore Science, Technology, Reading, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics (STREAM) by providing exposure, experience, and engagement.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

I have loved science for as long as I could remember. I asked my parents for a microscope for Christmas as a kid. I enjoyed exploring the world around me through nature. I searched for opportunities around Birmingham, AL to find ways to capture my curiosity and creativity through summer programs at the University of Alabama at Birmingham while in high school. I attended Alabama A&M…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator