Social Impact Heroes: Why & How Taly Dery of Israel Nature and Heritage Foundation of America (INHFA) Is Helping To Change Our World

An Interview With Penny Bauder

Penny Bauder
Authority Magazine
14 min readMay 2, 2022

--

“I believe in you” is something I needed to hear again and again until I believed in myself enough to take the leap of faith into the business world. Thankfully, I was surrounded by people who believed in me and reassured me that the path is open for me, if I choose to take it.

As part of my series about “individuals and organizations making an important social impact”, I had the pleasure of interviewing Taly Dery.

Taly is the chairwoman of the Israel Nature and Heritage Foundation of America (INHFA) as well as the founder and CEO of Global Impact Inc. — a Miami-based business development company that leads US market penetration of innovative companies in the Smart Building, Retail-tech, Food-tech, Bio-tech and Wellness industries. She is the creator of Touch-Down, a corporate coaching program and is involved in real estate development. Taly’s background is in accounting, with 20 years’ experience as a CPA in corporate development and international tax accounting.

Born and raised in Israel, Taly immigrated to the US in 1995, and currently lives in Miami, Florida. Taly is a mother of 3 kids, a marathon runner, and a world traveler. She takes active roles with several other charitable organizations, participates in public speaking events, and serves as a foster family for the Humane Society.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit. Can you tell us a bit about how you grew up?

All was well until I turned 12, at which point my parents went bankrupt, both emotionally and financially, got divorced and put my brother and me in boarding schools. The environment was rough, which strengthened me and made me highly resourceful and compassionate. As a teenager I worked in every job I could find to make ends meet and support myself. At the age of 19, I left for the US in search of a better future. Since I didn’t graduate high school in Israel, I was surprised with the ease of getting into college in New York. I completed my GED and continued on to get my bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Baruch College in NYC. Growing up, I didn’t realize I could be a great student. Only in retrospect did I learn how our external environment and our emotional state affect us and our performance — if we let them.

You are currently leading a social impact organization that is making a difference for our planet. Can you tell us a bit about what you and your organization are trying to change in our world today?

Israel harbors numerous historical and natural treasures. The INHFA was founded to fund heritage site reconstruction and nature conservation projects, managed by the Israeli Nature and Parks Authority. We make these projects accessible to US philanthropists who care about Israel as well as oversee and report back on the project up to completion.

One of our main goals is not only to make sure our nature and history is sustained for future generations, but also to make them palatable to the younger generation. This way they can visualize the storyline of how we got here and why we need to strengthen the future of our roots, our endangered animals and national parks. Once the connection to our roots is gone, and our natural habitats are destroyed, I believe we will lose our connection to the land and to each other as a society. I see no point in just earning, spending and splurging if there is no meaning or connection to something bigger than ourselves, to what brought us together and what unites us as people.

On another note, most of what we hear and talk about today is political and opinionated in some way or another. Nature and history include everyone and are there for all of us. We strive to leave the political discussions out of our organization’s mission and to create an island of peace and unity through our cause.

Can you tell us the backstory about what inspired you to originally feel passionate about this cause?

For me, the INHFA encapsulates much of what I stand for. I’m an avid traveler, and for those who have traveled in Israel, they know how remarkable it is to be able to enjoy so much history, archeology, scenery, different cultures, fun activities, water, camping — you name it — within such a small area. However, all these treasures will not maintain themselves and are currently dangerously underfunded.

One of my motives in life is sustainability, and the INHFA helps me express that as we get to work on incredible projects — from the restoration of endangered animal populations, to funding a visitor site for the only Sea Turtle Rescue Center on the Mediterranean, and all the way to reconstructing an ancient cliff in Apollonia that was ready to collapse into the sea. Once gone, these assets are never coming back. There are endless restoration and conservation projects throughout the land of Israel. This ability to make them a reality and help those precious sites become self-sustaining financial engines for underprivileged areas, is so meaningful and exciting for me.

Many of us have ideas, dreams, and passions, but never manifest them. They don’t get up and just do it. But you did. Was there an “Aha Moment” that made you decide that you were actually going to step up and do it? What was that final trigger?

There’s an expression in French called joie de vivre, which means “the joy of life”. I believe we are put on this earth for such a short time and it’s upon us to make as much impact and positive difference as we can healthily manage.

Before I became the chairwoman of the INHFA, I was more involved with organizations supporting kids with cancer, women’s causes and foster care for kids and animals. Currently there are a lot of charitable organizations and volunteers in those areas of utmost importance. However, I would rather invest my time and creativity where I can make the most impact. Being a great Zionist, I felt that Israel’s nature and heritage do not get the attention it needs to just survive, let alone thrive. Those projects are severely underfunded and for me it was a call for action.

As a last draw, I was recruited to the board of directors by Matan Vilnai, who was a minister in the Israeli government and the commander of the Entebbe rescue mission and who is one of the most impressive men I have ever met, as well as Uzi Barzilay, who is running the sister foundation in Israel. So I am very thankful the opportunity landed on my lap.

Many people don’t know the steps to take to start a new organization. But you did. What are some of the things or steps you took to get your project started?

The INHFA was founded by David and Stacey Kaufman. I was elected Chairwoman of the Board in 2021, after serving for 2 years as a board member and Treasurer. My mission was to take the organization to its next level, together with our amazing Executive Director, Matan Sivek, and the INHFA’s board members.

Honestly, I didn’t realize what I was getting myself into. But like every big mission in life, the first steps are to be clear on what I want, where do I see myself in 10 years and what do I want to be remembered for. Once I have a clear vision of my future, I believe the opportunities present themselves if one is exposed enough for the opportunity to show up. No meaningful advance in life will show up on our door without an invitation.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company or organization?

In 2012, I went to Tony Robbins’ Business Mastery seminar. I had a CPA business at the time and after a long talk with Tony and an “aha moment”, I realized that I was in the wrong business. I came back from the seminar, separated from my amazing partners, employees and some clients and started organizing the business for sale. Through a colleague I was introduced to KSDT in Miami who were looking to acquire companies. The moment 3 of the partners walked in the door of my office, I knew I was merging with them. There was something in the energy that was just right.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson or take away you learned from that?

When I finished my bachelor’s in accounting, I needed to find an accounting firm to hire me for my internship, so I could get certified as a CPA. Since I had a baby, I wanted to find a part time internship for a relatively high per-hour charge and as an independent contractor. I wrote a resume, sent it by fax to about 200 CPA firms in New York and waited… and waited… and waited. I was so disappointed when no one replied to me that I literally cried to my sister. She laughed hard and basically told me that I was crazy and no one works during the Christmas holidays. In the beginning of the year, one of the companies hired me with the exact terms that I asked for.

I learned so much from this experience. First, I learned that you need to get to know your surroundings: habits, timelines, tempo, culture. You can’t disregard these. Second, I learned a good lesson about patience.

None of us can be successful without some help along the way. Did you have mentors or cheerleaders who helped you to succeed? Can you tell us a story about their influence?

Absolutely! Growing up I lacked parental guidance. I believe that thanks to that I developed the skill to surround myself with parental figures, guides and a support system. Who needs to depend on one mother when you can surround yourself with 10 mother figures?

I owe a lot to my sister, Nelly, who bought me a GED book for my 20th birthday and showed me that college was possible, even though I was a foreign student. Both she and I grew up in boarding schools and didn’t graduate high school. Today, she is a renowned neuroscientist with a PhD from Columbia University and I have a Master’s degree.

My mother never really recovered from the divorce and the financial collapse. In a way, I learned a lot from her mistakes, from the devastation she felt from the desertion of my father, and from her decision-making process, much of which came out of her pride, fear and self-preservation. I decided early on that I would attack life from a different angle; that I would not be a victim of my circumstances, but take the driver seat and ride towards my destiny. I prioritized things differently, emphasizing strong morals and sustainability in my relationships with myself and others.

My older brother, Arik, is my go-to when I need to run my next crazy idea by someone and hear logical advice. Do I always listen? No. But I find ways to still fulfill my dream while mitigating some of the risk. Arik is my voice of reason.

My ex-husband and I practically grew up together since high school. If not for his support and trust over the years and amazing joint parenthood, I wouldn’t be able to go to such heights while traveling with the family at least 3 months a year, doing home exchanges and managing a fruitful career. We’ve recently divorced in a beautiful and friendly manner and I’m very proud to say that we manage to maintain the family while separating the marriage.

I believe we need to surround ourselves with people who are our personal board of advisors, but these are not the same people on all topics. There are people who I go to for parenting advice, but I would never consult with them on a financial move and vice versa.

Thankfully, I am surrounded by amazing people, friends, and family and I believe that is the key to my success.

Are there three things the community, society, or politicians can do to help you address the root of the problem you are trying to solve?

Only 3? That’s hard. LOL….

I think it starts with prioritizing the long-term effects before the short term results, and considering the complete picture instead of focusing on just the bottom line.

Thankfully, the Israeli government is already doing a lot by matching our donations to the Israeli sister-foundation, thus allowing our foundation to complete more projects, each of which matches the goals of different donors.

As for our society, I believe we need to tune down the level of intensity of our political discussion. Much of it is handled with such anger and extremity that we don’t pay attention that, as a society, we are constantly worried, afraid and enraged. How do we do that? We don’t care THAT MUCH! We listen, breathe, not try to change and affect people’s minds who are already set on their opinions and beliefs. When did screaming our political view ever change someone else’s political view? How is it connected to our cause? When we are more relaxed and calm, I believe we have the focus, energy and time to invest in those in need. That includes nature. We are more connected, we see more people in national parks, we are open to learn more, to experience more and to contribute more. Energy is a zero-sum game. We invest it in one place, by default we prevent it from other areas of our lives. Make your energy investment meaningful and impactful.

As for the community, we need to volunteer more. We need to organize philanthropy and volunteer hours and make it a part of our monthly plan. It’s the giver’s gain. What is more fulfilling: watching a series on Netflix or going on a mission to clean the beaches after an oil spill and save little baby turtles? Going shopping with our bat mitzvah gifts or donating a sea turtle GPS (yep, there is such a thing!) to help scientists locate new habitats and communities of endangered sea turtles?

How would you articulate how a business can become more profitable by being more sustainable and more environmentally conscious? Can you share a story or example?

There are so many ways to participate in the efforts to make our world greener, while adding to the bottom line.

It really depends on the company, its size, and mission. At the minimum, and this is true for every company, it can do this by supporting an organization that is environmentally active.

My company, Global Impact, as well as many others, advise how green technology development can add to the bottom line, by saving costs or preventing losses while benefiting the environment. A few examples are: using a smart anti-leak/anti-flooding technology that pays for itself and more while saving water; using green construction technologies; adding a meditation console in a corporate office by MindSpa, that helps employees check out for up to 20 minutes. This has been proven to increase productivity in a significant way. There is also technology that controls the air intake into buildings, and limiting it only to times of the day with lower pollution. The options are endless and when it comes to the environment, every little bit helps.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

LOL. In a way, I am thankful no one told me certain things; otherwise, I would never take on many of the things I am so happy I did — like running a charitable organization…

19 years ago I started listening to Tony Robbins’ audio programs. Due to a major life event, I googled him and found out there was a seminar in Orlando. I told my ex-husband I was going, set up the kids and went for a 4-day seminar. Little did I know there was a fire walk the first night. At the time, I had a huge pyrophobia. If someone told me there is a firewalk, there was no way I would have signed up to the seminar that ended up changing my life.

On a more serious note, I had an ex-partner that I was funding for a period of time. He was a good friend with new babies at home. After a while, my brother Arik raised my attention that I was always giving that partner money in different situations and that I might want to test the relationship a bit. I did — and didn’t like what I found out.

“I believe in you” is something I needed to hear again and again until I believed in myself enough to take the leap of faith into the business world. Thankfully, I was surrounded by people who believed in me and reassured me that the path is open for me, if I choose to take it.

“Be yourself, everyone else is taken” would have been great to internalize early on. I wasted so many years pleasing people and trying to be nice and accommodating. For some it helped, but others saw it as a weakness and took advantage. It is important to develop different sides of ourselves and use different skills and ways of being with different situations and people. It is so important to keep growing and evolving despite how it affects the ones around us. In my experience, people get used to the new “us”, and in the end, everyone is happier with us being our true, authentic selves. It saves everyone time and energy, though it does create some discomfort and pain of adapting in the beginning.

Self-esteem is an internal process. I wish I knew that from the start. I invested so much energy for people to love me, acknowledge me and see my magic, just to realize that self-esteem and self-love are an internal process that only we can give ourselves. We need to be happy with ourselves and the right people will come, or not, but if we engage in self-love, in growing, in giving and loving, our internal world will fulfill us. The surroundings are the cream on top, not the main dish. They usually reflect how we feel inside, not the other way around.

If you could tell other young people one thing about why they should consider making a positive impact on our environment or society, like you, what would you tell them?

“We didn’t inherit our world from our ancestors, we are borrowing it from our children”. If everyone says “let someone else handle the environment”, we will be damaging our planet at such a rapid rate that we won’t leave anything for future generations. The connection with the land, with our people, with our planet, repays handsomely in emotional, spiritual and physical rewards.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

My favorite quote is “Life happens for you, not to you”. I spent my earlier years in victimhood, suffering from the neglect and desertion I experienced as a child. When I learned that maybe everything happened FOR ME and not TO ME, I was able to muster the strength to take control of my life and lead it in the direction of where I wanted to end up. There is a lesson to learn from every experience in life, from every person we come in contact with — good or bad. I found that if I focus on the lesson, the experience itself can’t bring me down and I win in every case, even if technically I lose.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would like to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I would love to sit down for a talk with Tony Robbins. Fortunately, he happens to find me in the crowd in almost every seminar I go to, and helps me push through to my next level up. I realized early on that with my starting point I have to work hard to leap forward and get somewhere in life. However, I also realized I want to grow while balancing family life, travel, contributing and building a career — which requires more planning and adaptability to make sure all facets of my life are lived on a high level. Going to seminars, learning self-development and actually USING IT, helped me live it up and live a life by design.

How can our readers follow you online?

Contact me on LinkedIn or Facebook

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

--

--

Penny Bauder
Authority Magazine

Environmental scientist-turned-entrepreneur, Founder of Green Kid Crafts