Sports Stars Making a Social Impact: Why & How Jamaican Sports Icon Chris Gayle Is Helping To Change Our World

An Interview With Ming Zhao

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine
6 min readAug 31, 2022

--

Five things i wish i had been right early are 1) Better money mgmt 2) Better relationships with women 3) How to handle the press and interviews 4) How not to jump to conclusions 5) How to control my emotions

As a part of our series about sports stars who are making a social impact, I had the pleasure of interviewing Chris Gayle.

Chris Gayle is a Cricket superstar and musician. Chris, the Jamaican sports icon, has ventured into the music business through his Triple Century Records label. He is set to appear on the Billboard-charting compilation album series “Tropical House Cruises to Jamaica — The Asian Edition”. Chris will feature on the album with singer Shav-A with a pop-reggae track titled “Gimmi Your Love.” The debut album “Tropical House Cruises to Jamaica — The Asian Edition,” set to release at the end of October 2022, will also feature an unreleased track with Lauryn Hill, Jason Derulo, Morgan Heritage, Capleton, the American rapper Redman as well as new artists Kali Ranks, King Tiger, and Lady Marga Mc, amongst others. Additionally, it will be produced by the Contractor Music Group from Jamaica alongside his Triple Century Records label.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you share with us the “backstory” that led you to your career path in professional sports?

The most interesting thing that happened to me was when I hit a Triple Century. This was life when Usain Bolt broke the World Record. The earth stood still and I had an out of body experience . I learned you can do anything you put your mind to. YOU CAN do anything you set your mind to do. Your mind affects your attitude, behavior and it takes over your actions and reactions. Your life is guided by your thoughts.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your career? What were the lessons or takeaways that you took out of that story?

As an amateur and playing cricket for a hotel, I once forgot my uniform and had to go on the field in my street clothes. This Lesson taught me to always be prepared.

What would you advise a young person who wants to emulate your success?

To young people I would advise not to shy away from challenges. Challenges often give us important feedback about where and who we are.

Is there a person that made a profound impact on your life? Can you share a story?

My father has the most profound impact on my life . When I was young I did something that really let him down. Instead of being angry he used it as an opportunity to bond much closer to me

What are the “myths” that you would like to dispel about what it is like being a professional sports player?

The myth of a professional athlete is that it’s a glamorous life. Its alot of hard work ,discipline and sacrifice which you only truly enjoy when you retire.

Ok super. Let’s now move to the main part of our discussion. How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world? Can you share with us the meaningful or exciting causes you are working on right now?

I established the Gayle academy in London and Jamaica to give underprivileged kids quality education, food, and employment. The Chris Gayle Academy is run by Cricket For Change, funded by Comic Relief, and opened in London in 2013 and Jamaica in 2014. The Academies target and support a range of 16–24-year-olds who may be excluded from school, ex-offenders, refugees, gang members or otherwise. It not just provides a cricketing opportunity but also equips young people through building up their confidence, giving them the right life and training skills to go back into their communities and inspire other young people to move in the same direction as them. Underprivileged kids need attention — they are the future.

What methods are you using to most effectively share your cause with the world?

I use music to share my message to the World. Having transformed into an artist gives me a voice to share a message of Love, peace and unity

Can you share with us the story behind why you chose to take up this particular cause?

Jamaica is a poor country with lots of talented youths. I love my country and my people so if I can give back I will jump at the chance. There is not one story that causes me to do this.

Can you share with us a story about a person who was impacted by your cause?

Actually, the engineer at my recording studio now named Camar was on the verge of giving up music and turning into a life on the streets and with my mentoring he has transformed into one of Jamaica’s top recording engineers.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

Five things i wish i had been right early are 1) Better money mgmt 2) Better relationships with women 3) How to handle the press and interviews 4) How not to jump to conclusions 5) How to control my emotions

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I established the Gayle academy in London and Jamaica to give underprivileged kids quality education, food, and employment. The Chris Gayle Academy is run by Cricket For Change, funded by Comic Relief, and opened in London in 2013 and Jamaica in 2014. The Academies target and support a range of 16–24-year-olds who may be excluded from school, ex-offenders, refugees, gang members or otherwise. It not just provides a cricketing opportunity but also equips young people through building up their confidence, giving them the right life and training skills to go back into their communities and inspire other young people to move in the same direction as them. Underprivileged kids need attention — they are the future.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you explain how that was relevant in your life?

My life Lesson quote is “ The face is not for the swift but he who can endure” Many athletes peaked in high school and never went on to be great professionals. I might not have been great at first but my hard work and dedication made me great

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Politics, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them :-)

The person I would love to have a private breakfast with is Barack Obama because he visited Jamaica once and the power and might I saw him display was unlike any other I had witnessed!

How can our readers follow you online?

I am all over social media and you can find me on IG @chrisgayle333 and Twitter @henrygayle. You can check out my music on YouTube also.

Thank you so much for these amazing insights. This was so inspiring

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.