Stacy Cassio Of Pink Mentor Network On How to Grow Beyond Your Comfort Zone to Grow Both Personally and Professionally

An Interview With Maria Angelova

--

Imposter Syndrome is part of the process. I created this experience inventory tool for process imposter syndrome.

It feels most comfortable to stick with what we are familiar with. But anyone who has achieved great success will tell you that true growth comes from pushing yourself out of your comfort zone. What are some ways that influential people have pushed themselves out of their comfort zone to grow both personally and professionally? As a part of this series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Stacy Cassio.

Stacy Cassio is the Founder & CEO of the Pink Mentor Network. Stacy understands the importance of mentorship because her own career & business have been built on the opportunities introduced to her by mentors. Today, she works with leaders to solve complex talent development challenges through innovative mentorship, internal mobility, and employee support strategies & programs.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we start, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood backstory?

I’m originally from a very small farming town in rural Kansas. My parents were high school sweethearts who have dedicated their lives to each other and that community. As a child, I went to bed every night knowing I was incredibly loved and supported, but also feeling trapped in a small town.

At 19, on the walls of my midwestern college, I found an advertisement, “New York Nannies Wanted.” Northeastern families were recruiting wholesome midwestern girls as live-in caregivers. Naive, wholesome young women wanted a one-way ticket and a place to live near New York City.

Two weeks later, I found myself in the suburbs of NYC as a surrogate mother of two.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Legacy is the lives you impact, not the lives you create.

Perhaps being a nanny for three years was excellent birth control, or probably more the case — a congenital heart birth defect that complicated motherhood for me, but I am a happily married, childless woman. Now, coming from a long line of fabulous Catholic guilt-driven mothers, aunts, and grandmothers, I’ve always wondered what my legacy will be.

Six years ago, when I started a mentorship community for women looking for female mentorship, I found legacy beyond procreation.

Is there a particular book, podcast, or film that made a significant impact on you? Can you share a story or explain why it resonated with you so much?

There are many but those that made the most significant impact have been told in my voice. I remember the first stage I took, shared my story, and received a standing ovation — it was a pivotal moment for a woman who had always first looked to others for guidance, affirmation, and expertise.

For the first time, I was the expert and honored the journey & support (including the high school sweethearts and my own partner) that helped get me there.

There will never be a more powerful moment in your life than knowing why you were put on this Earth and honoring it.

https://creativemornings.com/talks/stacy-cassio

Side Note: There was a follow-up podcast interview done after this event. My parents sat behind me and listened the whole time. I have never sounded more confident. I still listen to that interview when I need to hear from my most confident self.

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/cmclt-rewind-stacy-cassio/id1253749817?i=1000465460069

Let’s now shift to the main part of our discussion. Let’s start with a basic definition so that all of us are on the same page. What does “getting outside of your comfort zone” mean?

Living with butterflies in your belly!

Can you help articulate a few reasons why it is important to get out of your comfort zone?

Growth happens outside the comfort zone. When we push ourselves outside of it, we can connect our areas of expertise & mastery with new audiences and skills expanding our ultimate impact & reach.

Is it possible to grow without leaving your comfort zone? Can you explain what you mean?

Yes, not all growth is up or out. Sometimes, and often for lengthy durations in our lives, we must develop our foundation. Just as the strongest of trees must have healthy roots to support the branches and fruit it bears, we must firmly ground ourselves in healthy habits, relationships, and well-being to explore beyond the comfort zone. If not, the imposter syndrome and self-doubt that creeps in beyond our comfort zones will hinder, or completely derail, our development.

Can you share some anecdotes from your personal experience? Can you share a story about a time when you stepped out of your comfort zone and how it helped you grow? How does it feel to take those first difficult steps?

As a business owner, I removed the word “failure” from my vocabulary. I only fail when I make the same mistake twice. Otherwise, it’s just learning that can be applied to tomorrow’s efforts.

In the early days of Pink Mentor Network, I would organize and host events that would only attract a handful of women. I learned then, it wasn’t about the number in the audience but the impact I made to who showed up. Many, many of those early believers became brand ambassadors who later opened doors to corporate contracts and national speaking engagements.

Here is the central question of our discussion. What are your “five ways to push past your comfort zone, to grow both personally and professionally”?

  1. Lock arms with “goal friends.”

When venturing outside your comfort zone, find peers who are on a parallel path. Hold each other accountable for taking one small step each day. Small steps can lead to big destinations.

As a solopreneur, I’ve learned that the hardest work we do is the work we do alone. At every stage of my business, I have partnered with fellow business owners offering a complimentary service. We share leads, opportunities, goals, and strategies monthly–making the work easier and more fun for us all.

2. “Do it Scared”.

A dear friend who was contemplating a big move shared this piece of advice with me. I have learned that butterflies in my belly mean it matters to me, the fear means it’s worth doing, and I am usually headed in the right direction.

I am a lifelong introvert who used to be terrified of public speaking. I remember the mic shaking the first time I emceed a Pink Mentor Network, but I made a commitment to myself and the rest of the room “do it scared”. It turns out that when I was vulnerable about being nervous, the room began to root for me. It was just the support needed to do it again and again, until I became good at it.

3. Imposter Syndrome is part of the process.

I created this experience inventory tool for process imposter syndrome.

4. Find the pilot lights.

I found that my pilot light, when launching Pink Mentor Network six years ago, was meeting someone who longed for mentorship. Every time I met a stranger who communicated a need that I knew how to solve, I was recharged. The conversation reignited my passion and commitment for this work. That spark still lives today.

5. Think in “experiments”.

I like to challenge myself to “experiment” beyond the comfort zone, knowing does not have to be a permanent change, but rather an opportunity to learn and grow.

I created three different test groups when starting Pink Mentor Network. The first two failed miserably, the last “Women Who Are More Than Their Day Jobs” developed an organic following and later led to the mentorship model we facilitate today. Sometimes, it’s a good idea, wrong timing or audience. More data and one small tweak may be one experiment away!

From your experience or perspective, what are some of the common barriers that keep someone from pushing out of their comfort zone?

Imposter Syndrome, Lack of Support & Resources, Self-Doubt, Complacency.

There is a well-known quote attributed to Eleanor Roosevelt that says, “Do something that scares you every day”. What exactly does this mean to you? Is there inherent value in doing something that pushes you out of your comfort zone, even if it does not relate to personal or professional growth? For example, if one is uncomfortable about walking alone at night should they purposely push themselves to do it often for the sake of going beyond their comfort zone? Can you please explain what you mean?

I think about that Tim McGraw song, “Live like you were dying”. Our bucket list is never filled with stuff we do regularly.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be?

The Mentorship Movement — Never Met a Woman I Couldn’t Learn From.

The moment a woman sees herself as a mentor is the exact minute her life changes. Her experience matters to someone else’s development. My hope is that we all have that experience earlier than our mothers did.

Is there a person in the world whom you would love to have lunch with, and why? Maybe we can tag them and see what happens!

Bob Iger, his book The Ride of Lifetime is a story of a mentee turned CEO.

How can our readers follow you online?

https://www.linkedin.com/in/stacycassio/

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for the time you spent on this. We wish you only continued success.

About The Interviewer: Maria Angelova, MBA is a disruptor, author, motivational speaker, body-mind expert, Pilates teacher and founder and CEO of Rebellious Intl. As a disruptor, Maria is on a mission to change the face of the wellness industry by shifting the self-care mindset for consumers and providers alike. As a mind-body coach, Maria’s superpower is alignment which helps clients create a strong body and a calm mind so they can live a life of freedom, happiness and fulfillment. Prior to founding Rebellious Intl, Maria was a Finance Director and a professional with 17+ years of progressive corporate experience in the Telecommunications, Finance, and Insurance industries. Born in Bulgaria, Maria moved to the United States in 1992. She graduated summa cum laude from both Georgia State University (MBA, Finance) and the University of Georgia (BBA, Finance). Maria’s favorite job is being a mom. Maria enjoys learning, coaching, creating authentic connections, working out, Latin dancing, traveling, and spending time with her tribe. To contact Maria, email her at angelova@rebellious-intl.com. To schedule a free consultation, click here.

--

--

Maria Angelova, CEO of Rebellious Intl.
Authority Magazine

Maria Angelova, MBA is a disruptor, author, motivational speaker, body-mind expert, Pilates teacher and founder and CEO of Rebellious Intl.