Stars Making A Social Impact: How Filmmaker Mischa Meyer Is Helping To Raise Money For Underserved Communities During The Pandemic

Karina Michel Feld
Authority Magazine
Published in
10 min readAug 2, 2020

Just do it. You can think, talk, and daydream about as much as you want, but all that becomes irrelevant and pales in comparison once you actually do it. Nothing can replace that. Sounds corny taking an ad tag line, but this one transcends and holds a lot of truth.

As a part of our series about stars who are making an important social impact, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Mischa Meyer.

A native of Stuttgart, AKKURAT Studios film director Mischa Meyer began his career in advertising and music videos becoming one of the most in-demand film editors in Germany and the US. It was editing that gave him the great opportunity to learn both the practical and theoretical aspects of filmmaking, allowing him to effortlessly shift to writing and directing projects.

Known for his deft eye and zestful style, Mischa’s work often invites audiences to an exciting and ethereal experience that evokes both fascinating exhilaration and gripping emotion. Never in one place for too long, he travels the world creating award-winning work for brand clients like Nike, PlayStation, Mercedes-Benz, Sony Bravia, Axe, Lexus, Audi, Coca-Cola, BMW, Vodafone and agencies including DDB, BBDO, Saatchi & Saatchi, TBWA\CHIAT\DAY, Mullen Lowe, FCB, Leo Burnett, Team One, and more. On the music and talent front, he has worked with Metallica, Jared Leto, 30 Seconds to Mars, and Green Day to name a few. Mischa’s most recent directorial work includes projects for GRAMMY® nominated poet Sekou Andrews and Academy Award® winning actor Sean Penn for his non-profit CORE.

In 2018, Mischa wrote, produced, and directed his first film, “ANT.” Ahead of its time, the film centered around four teenagers in South Central Los Angeles as people took to the streets protesting police brutality. The film has captured the attention of multiple Oscar® qualifying film festivals including the New York Film Festival, Florida Film Festival, LA Shorts International Film Festival, and Toronto Shorts International Film Festival.

Currently residing in Los Angeles, Mischa has a long revered presence and special relationship within the South Central community that has spanned many years. When not making films, he’s an exceptionally skilled photographer shooting a myriad of subjects and landscapes in every place he visits.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share with us the “backstory” that led you to this career path?

I fell in love with movies at a very early age. Some of my earliest memories in life are from films, like the opening of “Star Wars” with the huge space ship entering frame from atop and also James Bond cuffed to a table with a laser gun hovering above him. While my mom worked a lot, neighbors who would watch me would feed me movies all the time. That just solidified my love for film. Ultimately that became all I ever wanted to do.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your career? What was the lesson or take away that you took out of that story?

Not sure there is THE one story, but a slightly comical and interesting one that happened recently involved my good friend and frequent collaborator, music producer and composer Malte Hagemeister. He had made this mash-up of Samuel L. Jackson reading a stay-at-home Coronavirus poem that contained several expletives, which Jackson had said on “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” and he mixed it to “Mary Poppins.” He called me two days after it aired, played it to me, and I immediately knew I could make this into a funny video. So that same day, I cut together a mash-up video. I included scenes from both “Pulp Fiction” and “Mary Poppins,” fake lip-syncing Jackson to his poem from Kimmel’s show. The next day, I get to meet Sean Penn, and after we drove around LA all day filming for his organization CORE, we went to his house to do a quick interview with him. I felt he had a good sense of humor and as we leave I said, “Sean, I’ve got to show you something funny.” He sees it, loves it, and as we left my good friend Sam Bayer shared that he knows Jimmy Kimmel, and encouraged me to have Sean send to Jimmy. So I asked Sean if he would send it to Kimmel and he agreed. Fifteen minutes later he gets back to me that “Jimmy loves it, he wants to put it on his show, he’s going ask Jackson for his okay.” I think he gave his okay, but then it had to be cleared in some way by Disney and then we didn’t hear back from them. I’m not entirely sure what happened at the end of the day, but my guess would be that F-bombs tied to “Mary Poppins” maybe didn’t get approval by the folks at the Mouse House.

It’s one of those things in life where you get to say: “Only in LA.” The take away being: just go for it; you might never know where it takes you, unless you do it!

What would you advise a young person who wants to emulate your success?

Dedication is what it takes to make it far. You get out what you put in. It’s a long journey, so you better make sure you love doing the work and keep an open mind as you go along. There is not one way to get there. It always goes different than you expect it to. Find the part of the work that interests you the most and pursue that vigorously.

Is there a person that made a profound impact on your life? Can you share a story?

There certainly is more than one person. I’d say all the people that gave me a shot and believed in me, starting with my mother. She always tried to give me everything she could, even in times when we were struggling hard to just get by. But also her belief in me going my own way and letting me figure out things on my own. I think that laid the foundation for who I am today. Secondly would be director Markus Walter. A long time collaborator and good friend of mine, Markus was among the first to give me a real shot and in recognizing my talents. I certainly wouldn’t be where I’m at today, if he wouldn’t have given me a chance to prove myself! I learned a lot from him. That kind of mentorship is unbeatable and irreplaceable. The hard school of perfectionists is amazing if you’re one, too!

How are you using your success to bring goodness to the world? Can you share with us the meaningful or exciting causes you are working on right now?

That’s the wonderful thing about film; it’s a universal language and through it, you can convey so many meaningful messages for people to feel and be deeply moved by them. Combining that aspect of filmmaking with foundations and people who are working to make the world a better place, getting their messages and stories out into world — that’s a beautiful way of doing that. I’m very fortunate to have met so many great people along my journey that I could join forces with in that regard. Currently I’m working with Sean Penn’s emergency relief organization CORE (Community Organized Relief Effort), to create a series of PSAs for them to raise more money for COVID-19 testing and funds to support underserved communities, which often are communities of color and Native Americans. Aside from that, I’m working with a number of former gang members in South LA, Watts, and Compton, who strive to uplift their communities and give the younger generation better opportunities in life.

Can you share with us the story behind why you chose to take up this particular cause?

First and foremost, I want to help in any way I can and to see my industry back at work. And that will only happen, if the virus situation is better controlled, tested, and when we have enough PPE for crews and actors to be safe. The second being: There’s hardly a place I know that has more love to give than these underserved communities in South LA or East LA. A lot of these guys, who have been through so much, just shine with love for life. That to me is so inspiring to see. To have that much love, despite having to deal with so much violence and poverty in life — it’s really inspiring to see and I want more people to see that. I also want to take away some of the stigma and stereotypes these neighborhoods are often subjected to.

Can you share with us a story about a person who was impacted by your cause?

A friend composer of mine in San Francisco was really moved by the work and cause. Not just what I had been working on, but the overall movements that popped up all over the world in the last several months. He ended up reaching out to me and is now starting his own non-profit, together with his wife, who’s a high ranking Google employee and they’re making programs for kids in underserved communities to give them more opportunities and a way into Silicon Valley. They’ve created a whole one-year mentorship one-on-one program. It’s great to see people around me trying to do more in that regard.

Are there three things that individuals, society or the government can do to support you in this effort?

Funds are obviously always something needed to propel these causes. Moreover, people could dedicate some of their time as well. Building more bridges and opening more doors between communities will help a lot! Hiring people from neighborhoods that hardly ever get a chance to even take part in a film school program or similar, whatever it is you have to offer. Governments need to reallocate tax money from the hyper developed rich areas to some of the most struggling areas. These kids are in need for better schools, more afterschool programs and more job opportunities. You’ll find some of the most creative minds in these areas. Hardly anything makes you as creative as struggling through poverty. It forces you to come up with something from nothing. Those minds need support.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or an example for each.

1) Always be yourself. Don’t try to be someone else or to conform to what you think people want you to be. That’s a hard one to learn. Ultimately that’s the one thing that separates you from everybody else. Only you can be you and in only that way people can hear your vision and ideas.

2) Story is always king. It doesn’t matter if you have a fancy camera, or an iPhone; the idea is what counts. The story is the only thing that matters. That’s your starting point. Not the fancy camera or the big budget.

3) Be a good listener. If you can do that, you will find it a much easier way to navigate through this business. A better understanding of what people actually want at the end of the day, will make you much more successful in selling your idea. Maybe no one is interested in space opera, but someone loves the idea of a great father and son story in a hero’s journey. Only if you listen, you’ll figure that out and then you can play everything on that idea and add the plus point, that it’s taking place in space and that this will elevate the story further. The core of STAR WARS is a family story, not space ships and laser swords.

4) Don’t be late. I’m still working on that one! It just makes your day easier not being in such a rush and you have got to be the one to lead with example. Being early is a great feeling! It’s your first achievement in a day. Makes you hungry for more!

5) Tackle one thing at a time. Sometimes the sheer scope or the amount of work seems overwhelming. When I was younger, that often pushed me into a corner of incredible self-doubt. You must break this one huge thing down from the get go, so it becomes a lot of small tasks that you can figure out one after the other. I wish someone had told me that very early on. Where do you start? Breaking everything down, at all times, helps tremendously with that, and ultimately allows you to think bigger!

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

A mentorship program for kids to see different walks of life at what they want to do in life. Just opening up kids’ perspectives that may not have these opportunities in life to see something different. I think the earlier on kids can see something they love, the less they will struggle finding their purpose in life later on.

Please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote.” Can you explain how that was relevant in your life?

Just do it. You can think, talk, and daydream about as much as you want, but all that becomes irrelevant and pales in comparison once you actually do it. Nothing can replace that. Sounds corny taking an ad tag line, but this one transcends and holds a lot of truth.

We are blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Politics, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? (He or she might just see this if we tag them.)

Rick Rubin. I’d love to have a chat with him any given day! It seems to me that he has figured out what life is about and is someone who genuinely cares about his creations in a very somber way. Dr. Dre, too. He’s always been a huge influence on me as well. Just the idea of a kid figuring out how to create something out of nothing and teaching himself all the aspects of his craft and excelling beyond all there has been before, and on top being a genius in seeing talent. Actually that’s what both have in common and probably the part of myself I see in them. I think there would be a great conversation between us!

Thank you so much for these amazing insights. This was so inspiring, and we wish you continued success!

Mischa Meyer’s Instagram: www.instagram.com/mischameyer

@mischameyer

--

--