Stars Making a Social Impact: Why & How Domestic Abuse Survivor IVA Is Helping To Change Our World

An Interview With Edward Sylvan

--

I am a victim of domestic abuse from an intimate partner. He tried to take away my dignity, and he did a pretty good job of frightening me like mad and turning me against myself. I finally left the relationship and now I am writing an opera to give victims of domestic abuse and bring the abusers under the scrutiny of society. We are tired of victim-blaming. Let’s do something about the abusers and get them to stop.

As a part of our series about stars who are making an important social impact, I had the pleasure of interviewing IVA.

IVA is a universally applauded rare crossover singer, songwriter, and vocal coach with an extraordinary career of 16 years. She has been a survivor of domestic abuse and is now on a mission to tell her story & be the voice for those searching for their own.

IVA’s vocal prowess and phenomenal range have garnered her international recognition. She possesses an uncanny ability to switch seamlessly from pop-style vocals into full operatic singing within the same song.

IVA’s first breakthrough was when she made her first appearance on Late Night with Conan O’Brien, showcasing her unique gift. Her fateful performance transformed her career from a classical opera singer to an international pop star!

Thank you so much for joining us on this interview series. Can you share with us the backstory that led you to this career path?

When I was a child, I loved imagination play. One day my father came home with the video of “a hard day’s night”. I was completely smitten by the Beatles and memorized the entire film. Then with my neighbors, we acted out the movie as one of our imagination games — perhaps why I started writing stories into songs.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your career? What was the lesson or takeaway you took out of that story?

When I was in Stockholm my first year there, I gave a recital all in Swedish and Norwegian in front of a Swedish audience. I was petrified. When I was leaving the dressing room, I had a hard time putting my hand on the door handle to turn it. I thought “you are here by your own choice and from your own energy … no one is making you do this … “ and, I stepped out there to a beautiful crowd of many new friends and had the time of my life — with major nerves!

What would you advise a young person who wants to emulate your success?

Commit to your vision. The rest will come together.

Is there a person that made a profound impact on your life? Can you share a story?

Our across-the-street neighbors were huge classical musical fans and they exposed me to all sorts of work when I was very young. When it came time for training and conservatory, they were immensely supportive of my career. They and my parents made a great deal possible for me. I am a very blessed person.

How are you using your success to bring goodness to the world? Can you share with us the meaningful or exciting causes you’re working on right now?

I am a victim of domestic abuse from an intimate partner. He tried to take away my dignity, and he did a pretty good job of frightening me like mad and turning me against myself. I finally left the relationship and now I am writing an opera to give victims of domestic abuse and bring the abusers under the scrutiny of society. We are tired of victim-blaming. Let’s do something about the abusers and get them to stop.

Can you share with us a story about a person who was impacted by your cause?

Some of my voice students are also powerful creators who have been victims of abuse. Since I came out about my abuse, they have done so as well and found a space to share their story. I hope I have helped them to heal.

Are there three things or are there things that individuals, society, or the government can do to support you in this effort?

  1. Believe the victims.
  2. Bring abusers to justice rapidly.
  3. Remove the stigma of shame from those who are abused and make the conversation about the abuser and what they have done wrong, and how they can be transformed.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started”

  1. Expect failures and keep going. Learn to roll with the punches, because they are coming.
  2. Become financially literate.
  3. Know your values and honor them.
  4. Make time for pleasure.
  5. Work less, experience more.

You’re a person of enormous influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

Teaching accountability, emotional health, and basic life skills in school. We can do so much by honoring our human condition, being encouraged to know ourselves, and doing our part for ourselves, our family and our community.

Can you please give us your favorite life lesson quote? And can you explain how that was relevant in your life?

“When you pray, move your feet.” I have always been a spiritual person, and I learned that it wasn’t enough to float in the river of consciousness and hope to make an impact. I put my energy into sharing my most authentic voice. And I work to wake up within and live without filters or prejudice. That clarity creates peace and prosperity.

We are blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

It’s still Paul McCartney, y’all. Paul’s my musical spiritual father. I’d like to have a co-write with him!

Thank you so much for these amazing insights. This was so inspiring, and we wish you continued success!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.