Stars Making a Social Impact: Why & How Prince Terrence Is Helping To Change Our World

An Interview With Ming Zhao

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

--

Being a musician is a business no matter how you look at it. It operates as a business and you as a musician are the product. When your business needs funding sometimes you will have to take jobs outside of your desired fields of interest to fund your “business”. Everyone needs that financial cushion to be able to direct those funds into your art career.

As a part of our series about stars who are making an important social impact, I had the pleasure of interviewing Prince Terrence.

Prince Terrence is an NYC based DJ/ Musician. He is a highly in demand in New York City and can be found spinning an eclectic mix of the latest dance floor hits and classic party favorites at various clubs. He currently holds residencies at Manhattan hotspots such as Soho House, Dumbo House, Ludlow House, Ian Schrager’s Pubic Hotel Rooftop, The Blond, Rose Bar at Gramercy Park Hotel and Fleur Room to name a few. His ability to rock parties with genre defying style has landed him massive events for brands like Gucci, Red Bull, Milk Studios, Nylon Magazine, Rolling Stone, Scion, Diesel Umusic Tour and Electric Daisy Carnival among others. As a Musician, Prince Terrence is the mastermind of the dark, electronic pop act Rare Form. and is a seasoned drummer playing live drums for such acts as Major Lazer, Steve Aoki, Louis Tomlinson of One Direction, Santigold, HeartsRevolution and more. Prince Terrence is Co-Founder and Lead Creative of www.cell.vision, an underground culture content platform that he formed in 2019 with fellow musician Mattie Safer of The Rapture and Poolside.

Thank you so much for joining us on this interview series. Can you share with us the backstory that led you to this career path?

I was brought into Creative Muse by longtime friend and fellow musician Jamie Parganos. We’ve collaborated in the past producing events in NYC. She’s the mastermind behind Creative Muse and has been doing it for years. Recently, when she had the opportunity to assemble a larger team, she brought me along with a group of other talented artists of various disciplines. I like to think of it as a group of superheroes coming together with our respective powers.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your career? What was the lesson or takeaway you took out of that story?

I started my music career drumming in underground punk and hardcore bands. We were constantly on tour. One time, we were playing in Connecticut, and we got a call from another band we were friends with asking if they could hop on the show to open for us. These were the days when shows were organized in more of a DIY way, even though they were at proper venues. Things were just less corporate and streamlined, so this request wasn’t necessarily out of the ordinary. We agreed to let them jump on the show to play first, and we bumped the schedule a little bit. That band was called My Chemical Romance. So when you hear these stories of bands or musicians really grinding and sticking with it, this is the perfect real life example.

What would you advise a young person who wants to emulate your success?

Sounds cliche but never give up, keep creating and keep evolving in your craft. I have seen and experienced this with my own eyes, many times. It only takes one encounter with the right people who believe in you that can advance you to the next level. Maximize your exposure to the world.

Is there a person that made a profound impact on your life? Can you share a story?

That person would definitely be my mom. I definitely wouldn’t be where I am now if it weren’t for her support. She knew that I had a passion for music and allowed me to follow that path while cheering me on the whole way.

How are you using your success to bring goodness to the world? Can you share with us the meaningful or exciting causes you’re working on right now?

I truly believe that every single person has that ‘one’ talent that is just waiting to be unlocked. In working with children through Creative Muse, my goal is to guide kids and help them unlock those talents. Some kids you will notice have natural talents that need to be nurtured and cultivated into something that could send them on unimaginable journeys. Some aren’t able to obtain that guidance through regular outlets like school and at home. Serving as a musical mentor allows me to give back to the community that gave me so much.

Can you share with us a story behind why you chose to take up this particular cause?

As long as I can remember, I’ve always wanted to help create positive experiences for the world at large. Whether it be through art, music, activism or working with kids. They’re all related in my eyes. Being a drummer has given me a true perspective on what moves people physically and emotionally. This is why it was a natural progression to go from musician to DJ. All require intuition and a deep understanding of how people react and respond to different variables.

Can you share with us a story about a person who was impacted by your cause?

In this line of work, you are constantly learning and being impacted by the youth. So it’s always a 2-way street. I once had a ten year old student in one of my classes that never talked. She would write notes to communicate. One day, I asked her what she wanted to be when she grew up, and she passed me a note that said, “I want to be a singer”. It hit me hard that someone who isn’t able to verbalize has dreams of being a singer. Experiences like this are gentle reminders of how art and music impact humans at an early age.

Are there three things or are there things that individuals, society, or the government can do to support you in this effort?

I’m fortunate enough to live in New York City, a beacon for art on the world’s stage. We were very fortunate to be selected as grant recipients for Creatives Rebuild New York (CRNY). This program gives artists the opportunity to work with the youth while simultaneously preserving the cultural heritage of art in the city, not to mention giving actively working artists a moment to do something fulfilling and productive for the community. I am very grateful for CRNY and the Tides Foundation for implementing this program statewide. I think it’s important to implement programs like this — not only in metropolitan areas but in rural areas, as well — to reconnect those lines of separation between “the big city” and “the country”. There is undiscovered talent everywhere.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started”

One reason I enjoy being a mentor to new musicians is that I can prepare them for these things. Many times you’re only given the tools to perform but not the knowledge about how the industry works and its ups and downs. A few things I’ve learned on the way that no one ever told me are.

1. Things move fast in this industry, and you have to be on your toes and ready to make life changing decisions at the drop of a hat.

2. Being a musician is a business no matter how you look at it. It operates as a business and you as a musician are the product. When your business needs funding sometimes you will have to take jobs outside of your desired fields of interest to fund your “business”. Everyone needs that financial cushion to be able to direct those funds into your art career.

3. Surround yourself with people who inspire you.

4. Stay grounded. Stay focused. There is a lot of static and noise out there. Make sure to stay focused on your mission.

5. When you’re discouraged, try to push harder. Turn those raw emotions into a source to draw inspiration from.

You’re a person of influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

A few years ago, I started a digital magazine and record label called Cell Vision (www.cell.vision) My goal was to amplify underground art. Things that haven’t been swallowed by the pipeline yet. I think it’s important to focus on the artists of the future and artists that are already at the top. Through my magazine, I’m able to elevate things that I feel deserve more attention. Likewise, I see the Creative Muse program as a more ideal and hands-on platform to use my influence in the art and music community for work that is fulfilling and beneficial to others. Through this, I will be able to arrange for successful people in the industry to speak to the future generations and give them a goal to work towards.

Can you please give us your favorite life lesson quote? And can you explain how that was relevant in your life?

“You can play a shoestring if you’re sincere” ― John Coltrane

This quote hits home for me. In retrospect, when I started my musical journey at the age of 13, it was almost as if I woke up one day and had a clear vision of my passion for music. The only problem was that I didn’t have an instrument. For the first 3 years that I was a drummer, I didn’t even have an instrument. I had sticks; that was it. I learned the concepts of drumming at school on a desk. (Yes, I was that kid). So when I had the opportunity to sit down at a real set, it felt like I entered a portal into a new realm. One of my friends was taking guitar lessons at the local music shop, so I would go with him and play on the display kits for the full hour of his lesson. That’s how I learned to play. It wasn’t until a few years later that I would own my first drum set gifted to me by my grandfather. My grandmother who was very into jazz had just passed away. She took up piano playing as a hobby later in her life, so I convinced my grandfather that she would have wanted me to play an instrument. He caved and got me my first set from a pawn shop.

We are blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

I strongly welcome all new connections and conversations — large and small — but Barack, if you’re reading this, let’s get coffee and talk music!

Thank you so much for these amazing insights. This was so inspiring, and we wish you continued success!

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.