Stefano Guerriero Of Classic Tattoo PCH On 5 Ways To Create a Wow! Customer Experience

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readJun 28, 2024

Deliver exactly what they are looking for.

As a part of our series about the five things a business should do to create a Wow! customer experience, I had the pleasure of interviewing Stefano Guerriero.

Stefano was born in the south of Italy, in a city called Naples. He grew up among tattoo artists and always had a passion for it. He traveled the world and speaks 5 languages. He always wanted one day to become a tattoo artist and have his tattoo shop and make his work and his hobbies one thing.

Thank you so much for joining us! Our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your ‘backstory’ and how you got started?

I grew up with an entrepreneurial mind always doing many different things, but I always knew that tattoos would be my future. One day I got home and decided that I need to follow my passion.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lessons or ‘take aways’ you learned from that?

There is nothing funny about a mistake when we talk about a permanent tattoo. One day, I was tattooing the name of a customer’s son, and triple checked the name with him. He called his wife, wrote the name on a piece of paper, and I asked him to sign it to make sure that it was correct. By the time I did the stencil, I checked with him again and asked him to sign. The next day, he mentioned the name was wrong. It was interesting to learn because it doesn’t matter how many times you triple check something, sometimes the customer could make a mistake. I learned that sometimes it is out of your hands, but also we need to be covered with having the customer signature in every step of the way.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story?

My wife is my biggest supporter. She believes in following your heart, following your dreams, and being happy. She always asks me what would make me happy and full. One day I was back from work , tired and down, I realized that I needed to do something about my “boring “ everyday . She asked me, “What is wrong?” I said I need a change and she asked me what would make me happy. That is when it all started!

Thank you for that. Let’s now pivot to the main focus of our interview. This might be intuitive, but I think it’s helpful to specifically articulate it. In your words, can you share a few reasons why great customer service and a great customer experience is essential for success in business?

I am a perfectionist. Tattoos are something permanent. Having a tattoo is an important decision because it will be stuck with you for the rest of your life. The customer needs to be relaxed and not pressured. That will make them think clearly about what they want to do and they will also express better what they are looking for. We take the time to evaluate the tattoo, the location, the style, the design, and sizing. I like to make the customer comfortable. With all of that, the fear also goes away and the experience becomes more enjoyable. When it is all done the whole experience is pleasant. Usually they thank me for being so patient, for taking the time with them, and for being so attentive on the details and giving them exactly what they were looking for.

We have all had times either in a store, or online, when we’ve had a very poor experience as a customer or user. If the importance of a good customer experience is so intuitive, and apparent, where is the disconnect? How is it that so many companies do not make this a priority?

Some companies when they see the business taking off, they sometimes relax. They start to focus on expansion and maximizing profitability. They lose focus on what makes their business thrive. When you are in a service business, you are here to make an experience, to make the people feel great and satisfied. The outstanding and unique service need to make them not only want to come back, but also refer you to other people.

Do you think that more competition helps force companies to improve the customer experience they offer? Are there other external pressures that can force a company to improve the customer experience?

Yes! Especially when so many people have different ideas, different goals, and different priorities. Competition makes us learn new things, learn what not to do, and show us how to make things better. Especially nowadays with instant recognition, exposure online, and reviews, the pressure is even higher.

Can you share with us a story from your experience about a customer who was “Wowed” by the experience you provided?

Usually this happens more when people bring their own references. I take the time to research, find better combinations of colors and details. Suggest sizes and locations that would stand out and allow me to bring the idea to life. Usually after that process, the final work will wow the customer. Usually comments are; “Better than what I thought!”, “Turned out great!”, and “I will definitely come back!”

Did that Wow! experience have any long-term ripple effects? Can you share the story?

Yes. The customer always comes back. They also bring family and friends.

Based on your experience and success, what are the five most important things a business leader should know in order to create a Wow! Customer Experience.

  1. Deliver exactly what they are looking for.
  2. Be patient.
  3. Make them comfortable.
  4. Deliver a quality tattoo.
  5. Be spotless and clean.

Are there a few things that can be done so that when a customer or client has a Wow! experience, they inspire others to reach out to you as well?

The work done usually speaks for itself. People that like the work will ask and come to the shop. They are also wowed by the cleanliness of the shop and the atmosphere. We offer water and like a true Italian, sometimes we have an espresso.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

How can our readers follow you on social media?

@classic_tattoo_pch on Instagram

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

--

--