Stephanie Ellis On The 5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
11 min readOct 17, 2022

--

Write the book you want to read. How many times have you picked up a book and adored it, then looked for others of a similar tone and can’t find any?

As part of my interview series on the five things you need to know to become a great author, I had the pleasure of interviewing Stephanie Ellis. Stephanie Ellis is a writer of dark speculative fiction and poetry with a growing back catalogue of work. Her folk horror novels, The Five Turns of the Wheel and the upcoming sequel, Reborn, both published by Brigids Gate Press have been receiving excellent reviews. She is also the author of the gothic novella, Bottled, and the bio-thriller, Paused.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share a story about what brought you to this particular career path?

Life! I’ve been an avid reader since I was little but I never really considered writing until more recent times. My career path has been rather random, taking many twists but the one that set me on this track was moving from a position as a computer programmer to a role as Senior Software Author for a technical publications company. This brought me to writing of a very precise kind within a highly pressurized and extremely…

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.