‘Superman and Lois’ Star Sofia Hasmik On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

An Interview With Elana Cohen

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
7 min readMar 12, 2023

--

If you don’t know something, ask as many questions until you understand. There’s nothing worse than the stress of trying to quietly figure something out on the fly.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Sofia Hasmik.

Actress and star of CW’s Superman and Lois, Sofia Hasmik is emerging as one of the next great young artists in Hollywood. Sofia returns as Chrissy Beppo on March 14th, 2023, in the highly anticipated third season of the CW’s Superman and Lois, where trailers already hint at twists that super fans and critics have anxiously been dissecting across the web. Prior to her work with the CW, Sofia worked alongside acting greats David Tennant, Robert Sheehan and Kerry Condon in Bad Samaritan. Most recently, Sofia starred alongside Elle Fanning, Luke Wilson and Keegan Michael Key in the Netflix film, “All The Bright Places”, adapted from the novel with the same name. Other notable credits include Audition Room 2, Mad About You, Abrasion and Three. Beyond acting, Sofia has amassed a loyal fanbase across her social media platforms where she shares insights into her life, career and hobbies, including being a skilled figure skater and her love for the guitar.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Thank you so much for having me! I’m a first-generation American, born and raised in Los Angeles, CA. I grew up in a modest home with my mother, father, brother and grandparents.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I found acting shortly after I ended my figure skating training. I started figure skating when I was about 3 years old and did that for over a decade. Around the age of 15, I stopped pursuing it competitively and joined my rink’s theatre on ice community. I feel like that was the “aha” moment for me. I found myself really enjoying the creative and expressive side of figure skating rather than the competitive, more technical side. During that time it became clear to me that I just really loved storytelling and at that point in my life, the only outlet for it was on the ice. I then took an acting elective on a whim in high school and rather immediately, I was overwhelmed with it’s freedom of vulnerability and expression. I was cast in a play my senior year and had the opportunity to perform at the Edinburgh Theatre Festival in Scotland that summer. Then in the fall, I started at UC Santa Barbara, where I focused on my academics, specifically business economics. But around the second of quarter of the school year, I felt absolutely stripped of creativity and really craved that feeling I felt when I was on stage just a few short months beforehand. So once again, I took another acting elective and from there someone recommended I audition for their BFA program. Thankfully I did! I was accepted and from that moment on, my focus and all of my free time was dedicated to acting. I felt like I found my home there.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

The most interesting thing that happened to me has to be sitting by Carol Burnett during a table read for Mad About You. I was beside myself just trying to keep as calm as possible while internally screaming “Oh my god, that’s Carol Burnett!!” in my head over and over and over.

It has been said that mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

The funniest mistake I made was screaming my own character’s name during a very emotionally charged scene in Bad Samaritan. It was so ridiculous because it felt like there was a long long minute before I realized I had said the wrong name. It was definitely a lesson in being present and not letting my nerves get the best of me.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Right now, I am working on Superman & Lois. We’re in the middle of finishing up our season finale episode which is very exciting! Our season 3 premiere is just around the corner on March 14th!

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

My advice would be to take a chance on yourself. Fear of failure shouldn’t be the reason not to try, as daunting as it feels. It wouldn’t be fair to you to quiet your ambitions and dreams. Fall in love with the craft and the work and stay as present as you can.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Diversity in film and television is key in telling the stories of the diverse world we live in. To be seen and heard as a community, in what can be an isolating world, is so important. It’s about inclusion and acceptance and a broadened understanding. If art imitates life, then it should represent all communities and cultures as a whole.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

Hmmm.. this is a great question! What I wish I was told:

  1. You can’t be everyone’s cup of tea and you shouldn’t try too hard to be that. You’ll end up losing sight of what makes you YOU.
  2. Your happiness shouldn’t be derived from external validation or success. Success is relative.
  3. Make decisions that serve you not deplete you.
  4. If you don’t know something, ask as many questions until you understand. There’s nothing worse than the stress of trying to quietly figure something out on the fly.
  5. Be your biggest advocate.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Anytime I find myself feeling defeated or spiraling, I focus in on why I started acting in the first place and what it means to me in its purist form. That always centers me when I’m feeling burnt out.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

A movement towards better mental health access and resources.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

The person I am most grateful towards is my mother. Her unconditional support is boundless and she has always encouraged my pursuit of acting. During my time at university, she never missed a single performance. She would run lines with me then and even sometimes now. She’s taped auditions with me even though she’s painfully shy. I credit her so much because without her, this road would have felt more treacherous and daunting.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

I had a figure skating coach once tell me to “think stupid.” I was getting so in my head and psyching myself out before difficult jumps and it was really affecting my training. “Think stupid” basically meant don’t overthink, get out of your head, trust the work, trust yourself and tune out the noise. It still helps me today.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I would love to have either with Cher! I’ve been mesmerized by her from a young age. She is so iconic, so true to herself, and her force is unstoppable. On top of that, her philanthropic work is inspiring. Being an Armenian American myself, the spotlight she shines on causes pertaining to Armenia and the support she’s always shown is deeply honorable.

How can our readers follow you online?

You can find me on instagram! @sofiahasmik

IG: https://www.instagram.com/sofiahasmik/?hl=en

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music