Tamaira Rivera Of ‘Immigration Court Mentor’: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became An Attorney

An Interview with Eric L. Pines

Eric L. Pines
Authority Magazine
9 min readJul 12, 2024

--

Surround yourself with a support system — these are your lifelong cheerleaders who will lift you up and give you a nudge when you need it. Having people who believe in you makes all the difference.

As a part of my series about “5 things I wish someone told me when I first became an attorney” I had the pleasure of interviewing Tamaira Rivera, Founder of Immigration Court Mentor.

Tamaira Rivera is the founder of Immigration Court Mentor, bringing nearly three decades of extensive litigation experience to her role, with a particular focus on federal immigration court proceedings for over a decade. Tamaira has served in significant positions such as Unit Chief Immigration Judge at the Richmond Immigration Adjudication Center and Assistant Chief Counsel for Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) in San Antonio, Texas, and Orlando, Florida. Additionally, she has worked as an immigration solo practitioner and military prosecutor.

Tamaira’s wealth of knowledge and experience uniquely positions her to guide new and aspiring solo practitioners, especially in the challenging field of immigration law. Through Immigration Court Mentor, she offers practical advice on courtroom advocacy, building client relationships, and overcoming the unique challenges faced by solo practitioners. Her dedication to continuous learning and the importance of mentorship underscores her commitment to helping others succeed in their legal careers.

Thank you so much for joining us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit more. What is the “backstory” that brought you to this particular career path in Law?

I have always dreamed that one day I would be a teacher or professor. I love to learn and love to share what I know. I believe my entire career trajectory has led me to where I am today. While serving in the U.S. Air Force I was an adjunct instructor at the Inter American Air Forces Academy where I taught military legal subjects to Latin American military personnel. When I worked for ICE, I participated in training sessions for stakeholders in the immigration processes involving unaccompanied minors. And as an immigration judge, I informally mentored our law clerks and colleagues new to immigration law. When I returned to private practice, I was immediately contacted by other attorneys who were seeking mentorship and trial advocacy strategies. Founding Immigration Court Mentor was the natural result of those experiences.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your law career?

The most interesting thing that has happened to me during my career has been the way it has evolved. When I began my career, I thought that I would be THE DEFENDER of all individuals seeking justice! I was certain I wanted to be a defense counsel. But I interned with a state prosecutor’s office where I saw the power that a government attorney has to “do the right thing” in each case. Having grown up in a military family, I desperately wanted to be able to travel and explore different cultures. I did not see a way of bringing these two desires together until someone mentioned the JAG Corps to me. And so, I joined the U.S. Air Force! NEVER did I ever believe I would be active-duty military, but there I was! I was immediately stationed in Japan, where I served as a prosecuting attorney. From there, I was stationed in Texas and Arizona, where my language skills were crucial in training Latin American military allies in the rule of law and the law of war. The Air Force then selected me to go back to law school and earn an LL.M in International Law at the George Washington University Law School. From there, I was stationed in Madrid, Spain. When I left the military, I worked for international aid organizations and eventually began to work as an immigration prosecutor for DHS/ICE. In time, I was appointed as a Unit Chief Immigration Judge for the DOJ’s Executive Office of Immigration Review. This has been a vastly rewarding experience but 100% not what I had imagined for myself. What I have learned from the twists and turns of my career is that you can always reinvent yourself! Whatever you do, wherever you go, do the work that sparks your interests and lets you shine in your zone of genius.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Currently, I am working on expanding Immigration Court Mentor’s offerings beyond the foundational course. I am working with another former ICE attorney and a retired immigration judge to create intermediate and advanced curricula for our clients. We are considering courses on evidentiary objections and federal immigration litigation. We hope to have some exciting news in the very near future.

What are some of the most interesting cases you have been involved in? Without sharing anything confidential can you share any stories?

Cases involving immigrant children who arrive in the U.S. always have a special place in my heart. Children as young as newborns are brought across the border into our great nation to seek protection from whatever is endangering them in their own countries. They are innocent, full of fear and yet carry the dreams of their ancestors with them. They require stability and compassion but our court system, coupled with their refugee journey, was not necessarily built to provide for those needs. Children’s cases are never easy. There are usually layers of issues involving trauma. Therefore, as an immigration prosecutor, I always sought to do what was right for each individual child. As an immigration judge, I always sought to make decisions that were compassionate and appropriate under the law, while considering the age and circumstances of the child.

Which people in history inspire you the most? Why?

Harriett Tubman. This amazing woman was born into the brutal confines of slavery. Despite suffering from seizures caused by a cruel slave owner who bashed her in the head, Harriett escaped North to gain her freedom and then went back south many times to free 300 more slaves, as part of the Underground Railroad. Never satisfied with the condition of the enslaved, during the civil war Harriett led a regiment of Union Soldiers to set fire to a plantation, pin down the confederates and rescue hundreds of enslaved people. There were no obstacles to hold down Harriett Tubman despite her gender, race and position. She transcended any shackles placed on her.

What advice would you give to a young person considering a career in law?

Stand tall and righteous. The law is a challenging career. But when you fight for what you believe and, above all else, when you believe in yourself, all things are possible. Like Harriett Tubman, a lawyer who is astute, prepared and creative can overcome obstacles despite the opposition.

If you had the ability to make three reforms in our judicial/legal system, which three would you start with? Why?

This may seem obvious, but having worked in immigration for over a decade, I would make reforms to the immigration court system. The three reforms I would promote would be:

1. Make immigration courts independent courts, separate from the auspices of an executive branch department, such as the DOJ. This would make it truly independent and not subject to the political whims of the various administrations.

2. Apply federal rules of evidence to ensure fundamental fairness. Doing so would mean that the parties MUST follow rules of evidence and discovery, as opposed to the current system where the government is not required to provide evidence to an immigrant’s counsel in court proceedings.

3. Provide free counsel to people with capacity issues (age, mental health). No immigrants are guaranteed the right to representation by free counsel, even in the face of disability or lack of mental/legal capacity. Many must represent themselves without the ability to do so.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I have the great honor of currently serving on the Board of Directors for the Orlando Center for Justice a non-profit law firm who focuses on providing legal services to persons without the means to mount a defense in immigration court. In this capacity, I get to serve the community by providing information, fundraising for scholarships and even assist in representing them in court.

I know this is not an easy job. What drives you?

A true love for teaching and bringing others along. In the 19th century, American journalist Margaret Fuller said, “If you have knowledge, let others light their candles at it.” I want to pass my lessons on so that others do not struggle or toil or bump along in the way. If I can lead and share my experience so that others can prosper, then there is righteousness in my work. What I learned in life should not end or stay with me.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why?

  • Embrace Your Bumps and Scratches

Don’t get stuck on your perceived failures. Every bump and scratch along your career path is actually paving the way for your greater benefit. They’re all part of the journey, making you stronger and wiser.

  • Find Your Cheerleaders

Surround yourself with a support system — these are your lifelong cheerleaders who will lift you up and give you a nudge when you need it. Having people who believe in you makes all the difference.

  • Embrace Your Freedom to Change

Freedom means you have the power to change course and reinvent yourself whenever you need to. Don’t be afraid to pivot and explore new directions; it’s all part of finding your true path.

  • The Power of “No”

Saying “no” is just as important as saying “yes.” It’s key to avoiding burnout and maintaining a healthy balance. Don’t stretch yourself too thin; it’s okay to prioritize your well-being.

  • Play to Your Strengths

Focus on your strengths and let them shine. For areas where you’re not as strong, hire or barter for help. Collaborating with others complements your abilities and leads to better outcomes.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why?

Nobel Prize recipient and education activist, Malala Yousafzai. WHAT an incredible young woman! As a child all she wanted to do was learn. But the Taliban in Pakistan decreed that girls could no longer attend school. They literally blew up girl’s school to prevent them from obtaining an education. At 11 years old, Malala blogged under a pseudonym about her experiences as a girl under Taliban rule and advocated for girl’s rights to an education. At age 15 she was shot in the head by the Taliban for her activism. But they could not stop Malala! She continued her activism in international forums and at 17 received the Nobel Peace Prize. She is now only 26 years old and continues her efforts to secure an education for female and impoverished children. Malala truly exemplifies the ethos of “If you have knowledge, let others light their candles at it.”

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for the time you spent on this. We wish you continued success and good health!

About the Interviewer: Eric L. Pines is a nationally recognized federal employment lawyer, mediator, and attorney business coach. He represents federal employees and acts as in-house counsel for over fifty thousand federal employees through his work as a federal employee labor union representative. A formal federal employee himself, Mr. Pines began his federal employment law career as in-house counsel for AFGE Local 1923 which is in Social Security Administration’s headquarters and is the largest federal union local in the world. He presently serves as AFGE 1923’s Chief Counsel as well as in-house counsel for all FEMA bargaining unit employees and numerous Department of Defense and Veteran Affairs unions.

While he and his firm specialize in representing federal employees from all federal agencies and in reference to virtually all federal employee matters, his firm has placed special attention on representing Veteran Affairs doctors and nurses hired under the authority of Title. He and his firm have a particular passion in representing disabled federal employees with their requests for medical and religious reasonable accommodations when those accommodations are warranted under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (ADA). He also represents them with their requests for Federal Employee Disability Retirement (OPM) when an accommodation would not be possible.

Mr. Pines has also served as a mediator for numerous federal agencies including serving a year as the Library of Congress’ in-house EEO Mediator. He has also served as an expert witness in federal court for federal employee matters. He has also worked as an EEO technical writer drafting hundreds of Final Agency Decisions for the federal sector.

Mr. Pines’ firm is headquartered in Houston, Texas and has offices in Baltimore, Maryland and Atlanta, Georgia. His first passion is his wife and five children. He plays classical and rock guitar and enjoys playing ice hockey, running, and biking. Please visit his websites at www.pinesfederal.com and www.toughinjurylawyers.com. He can also be reached at eric@pinesfederal.com.

--

--

Eric L. Pines
Authority Magazine

Eric L. Pines is a nationally recognized federal employment lawyer, mediator, and attorney business coach