Telvin Griffin: 5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career in TV and Film

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
16 min readDec 15, 2022

I wish someone had told me that everybody you meet in this industry isn’t your friend. There are people who compliment you publicly but gossip about you privately, so you must keep your circle precise and tight. Surround yourself with people who make you better and aren’t afraid to wound your pride with their love because they know it will make you a better person. You’ll know those authentic friends that will end up becoming lifelong friends when they come along the path on your journey. Never force it. Just be who you are and work hard for a living, and you’ll have everything you desire. The Highest God Himself will make sure of it.

As a part of our series about creating a successful career in TV and Film, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Telvin Griffin.

Born and raised in Texarkana, Arkansas, Telvin Griffin always had a knack for entertainment. From a young age, he could always be found with a microphone in hand, whether it be talking to imaginary audiences at home, pretending to be late-night hosts, or working on being a preacher. With Griffin’s natural gift for performance, he eventually gravitated towards playing the piano and saxophone for both his local church and his junior high band, eventually leading him to take center stage in front of the camera as his high school’s new anchor. Griffin’s interest in the entertainment industry continued to steer the course in education as he eventually went on to study broadcast journalism at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

With a dexterity for being in front of the camera, Griffin soon went on to sign with his first agent directly out of college to dip his toe into a career that would prove to be fruitful. In just the short span of his career, Griffin quickly booked several national commercials and television projects, including national Dodge Ram and Wing Stop campaigns, as well as appearing on multiple hit television series, including CW’s Dynasty, Fox’s Deputy, and the Emmy-Award-Winning ABC comedy, Blackish.

Marking his big screen debut, Griffin will next be seen in Paramount Pictures’ upcoming period comedy-drama Babylon. From Academy Award-winning director Damien Chazelle, Babylon is an original film set in 1920s Los Angeles led by Brad Pitt, Margot Robbie, and Diego Calva, with an ensemble cast including Jovan Adepo, Li Jun Li, and Jean Smart, to name a few. A tale of outsized ambition and outrageous excess, Babylon traces the rise and fall of multiple characters during an era of unbridled decadence and depravity in early Hollywood. The film will have its theatrical release December 23rd.

Simply the start of his career, Griffin’s goal is to eventually follow in the footsteps of some of today’s most influential actors, including the likes of Sidney Poitier, James Earl Jones, and Denzel Washington. Although his true love lies in acting, when not on set, he enjoys playing the piano/keyboard, a skill he learned to play by ear. Dabbling in his love for football, Griffin can also be found as a high school and college football referee in Southern California to stay close to the sport.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I truly appreciate you all for having me. I’m from a city called Texarkana, which has an Arkansas side and a Texas side. Our city’s nickname is “Twice and Twice”. I grew up on the Arkansas side; go Razorbacks. Ironically though, when people say they’re from Texarkana we always say Texarkana, Texas, because all the hospitals are on the Texas side. So, in reality, I was born in Texas, but I claim Arkansas. The city is right on the border of Arkansas and Texas on Interstate 30. We’re about two hours east of Dallas, Texas and two hours west of Little Rock, Arkansas. If you blink, you’ll miss it. Growing up in my city, everyone knew everyone. I felt like my parents had eyes everywhere because whenever I’d do something that got me in trouble, the first thing people would say is, “I’m going to call your momma and daddy”. It truly was a village. I was also that kid who would rather be in front of a piano or on a stage somewhere than out doing other stuff. I’ve always been fascinated with art and everything that came along with it. My parents truly are the reason I’ve become the man I am today. Back then, it sure seemed as if they were so hard on me, being the oldest of two younger brothers, but looking back on it now from my early thirties, I appreciate the values they instilled in me that have made me into the person I am today.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

One of my favorite stories that really sealed the deal for me to pursue a career in entertainment was back in high school I was always known as the guy that could speak in front of a crowd and make people laugh. I was the school’s news anchor every morning, which also helped. Our high school hosted a pageant, and they asked if I’d host it. Of course, I had no idea what that even meant except get on the stage and make people laugh. I can’t explain the adrenaline that comes from hearing people laugh and seeing them smile. I had nothing planned, I was just going with the flow, and it worked. After the show, this elderly couple came up to me and said, “young man, you sure are talented, and you remind us of Wayne Brady. Make sure you follow this path because you’ve got it”. I knew then that I would pursue a career in entertainment. I didn’t care how long it would take nor how many jobs I would have to work along the way. Until I got that dream role, I was going to work my butt off. Fast forward to 2022, with my biggest role to date in one of the year’s biggest movies, and I can’t do anything but sit back and smile with pure gratitude.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

The most interesting story that has happened to me since I’ve begun my career would have to be my upcoming role in Babylon and my character Reggie being in the band playing the saxophone. It’s almost like those two years I spent in the middle school and junior high school band playing the saxophone were for the reason that I had no idea I would circle back around in 2021 when I found out I got the part of Reggie. I think it affirms the saying, “search out the revelation of life’s meaning”. There are some talents you’re using right now, this very day, that you learned years ago, and you probably thought you’d never use them.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Oh boy, mistakes are most certainly your greatest teacher in this thing we call life. The first biggest mistake I made when I started pursuing this career was literally the first year. I had booked two jobs, not realizing the dates were the same. One job came through my agent at the time, and the other came through my own personal connections. Obviously, I had to do the job I booked through my agent or risk getting dropped or fired. Needless to say, I was in hot water with both sides and caused production to run behind schedule by a few hours on the job I got through my connections. That was the worst feeling ever, literally. Just an honest mistake but it taught me a valuable lesson — Slow down. It’s really that simple. Had I slowed down instead of being so happy to just be working, I would’ve seen the dates were the same and turned down one until a further date or something. The moral of that story is to always communicate with your team so they know what’s going on because they’re the ones who will get you out of some tough pickles.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I’m actually preparing to do an August Wilson Play called “Seven Guitars.” I love theatre and everything it involves, including the rehearsal process and discovering something new about my character each night of the show. It’s the audience and feeling their energy that makes it most fun. Couple that with this being my very first August Wilson play, and you can probably tell why I’m excited to work on it. I’m also in the early stages of doing another film at the start of next year that will focus on mental health.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

You know, blessed is the perfect word to describe the success I’ve had and continue to have in my career. It hasn’t always been easy. In this business, you hear “no” 95% of the time but you have to just keep pushing and trust the process. Everyone’s story is different, which is why you can never compare yourself to someone else. There will be times when your current circumstances will cause you to question whether this career is something you want to pursue. But when you realize this is what you were born to do, there will come a day when you look in the mirror and say, “no matter how long it takes me, I’m never giving up”. The best and biggest advice I have to give is to, number one, trust the process, which for me personally means trusting God’s timing, and number two, allow patience to have its way in your life. Just take a deep breath and enjoy the ride. It’s okay to fail. As a matter of fact, fail big because your failures are what make you stronger mentally, physically, and spiritually. Always come from a place of gratitude daily.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

It’s so cool that you guys highlight diversity within the entertainment industry. The bottom line is if no one brings attention to it, then nothing will change for the better. Growing up in the late 90s and early 2000s, I can’t tell you how important it was for me to see men like Denzel Washington, Chris Tucker, and Samuel Jackson in movies. I needed to see that because that burning passion I had on the inside of me since a kid to make people laugh and act out those scenes in front of the mirror as a kid showed me that it was possible to one day be on the big screen. Young men and women of color are inspired by that on television and movie screens. Secondly, it’s so important that our stories are told and told with accuracy from our perspective. When you have the ability and are fortunate enough to work in this industry telling stories, it’s important that those stories help educate people about our history. So often, we watch television shows or movies about our stories that are inaccurate. That happens more easily when you don’t have diversity in the writing rooms, let alone diversity in the cast and crew. I can honestly say Hollywood has been making strides to correct that ship for sure. Of course, there’s still work to do, but they’ve shown they hear our voices and are making strides to do better. I think diversity within the entertainment industry goes deeper than just in front of the camera also. It’s important to have diversity at talent agencies, public relations firms, and studios, among other things. It affects our culture because now when you have diversity in writing rooms our stories are told properly from the minutest detail that only people in the culture experience and would understand and recognize. Sometimes with, our world and culture are portrayed as the complete opposite of how it really is. So, until the day I leave this world, I’ll always be an advocate for diversity in everything!

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

Oh boy, great question. Well, for starters, I wish someone had told me that just because you start your career out on a high note with bookings left and right, there will be a drought of sorts where nothing comes in. I graduated college in 2012 and signed with my first agent, and immediately started booking work from national commercials to commercial print jobs, but after a year, I ended up having to get a job working as a substitute teacher to keep having that income. I wish someone had told me that this career is almost like life. There will be ups and downs. Highs and lows, so embrace that, knowing you won’t be down for long. It’s all a part of the process towards that big break God has been preparing you for all along.

I wish someone had told me that my story is unique to me and not to anyone else. Meaning some people might make it right away, and for some, it might take 10 to 15 years, but at the end of the day, your story is your story, so embrace it and don’t worry about any kind of formula, just keep trusting the process and the journey you’re on. People in this industry that make decisions that could change your life are interested in your specific journey, so never compare yourself to someone else.

I for sure wish someone had told me how expensive it was out here in southern California. I’m from Arkansas and moved out here in 2018 and quickly found out that when you’re getting started in Hollywood, no matter how many jobs you book, you’ll have to find some supplemental income eventually. That led me to drive Lyft for a year to have a car I could drive to auditions and jobs that I booked. I also started refereeing high school football and basketball games because I love sports, and I found something that would keep me busy and also keep money in my pocket. But like I said, it’s about trusting the process and understanding that sometimes you might have to work jobs to fund your dream, but there will come a time when your dream pays for itself. Patience is a key thing here. It won’t be easy but keep pushing. Never forgetting why you chose to pursue this career in entertainment, it’ll make those late nights when you’re driving Lyft, or maybe in another case you might be a server at a restaurant or just any job that allows you the flexibility to pursue a career in the entertainment field, it’ll make those type of days and nights worth it in the end. In those days, you draw from that passion deep down inside of you to keep you going.

Lastly, I wish someone had told me that everybody you meet in this industry isn’t your friend. There are people who compliment you publicly but gossip about you privately, so you must keep your circle precise and tight. Surround yourself with people who make you better and aren’t afraid to wound your pride with their love because they know it will make you a better person. You’ll know those authentic friends that will end up becoming lifelong friends when they come along the path on your journey. Never force it. Just be who you are and work hard for a living, and you’ll have everything you desire. The Highest God Himself will make sure of it.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I love this question because it’s so important in so many ways. You must have balance in your life with everything. The two operative words there being balance and everything. You can’t sit and stew in your emotions and thoughts when your career feels like it’s stagnant. Instead, find something that makes you happy and gives you peace in doing it because you know you’re doing something good, maybe even contributing to society in a way. Sometimes that could be a simple nature walk or a horseback ride. For me, it’s refereeing high school and college football. I also referee middle school and young kids at the local YMCAs in southern California. It allows me to be around the future and pour into them what the previous generation poured into my generation. It’s how you give back. Everything isn’t always about money because you can give your time just as equally and have an even better effect. So find something that takes your mind off your career and allows you to be simply rooted and grounded in the present. Life is bigger than our careers, and the moment we recognize that it’ll change our whole approach to life daily.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

To whom much is given, much is required, right? With influence comes responsibility. I would love to start a movement wherein every state, once a year, has a conference where leaders from every career path get together with the youth and impart to them leadership skills, tools for success, and motivational sessions to inspire them to chase after dreams. It would be a place where future generations come to brainstorm what they want to do in life. I’d like to have a safe and open environment to address sensitive topics so we can grow more towards loving one another again, ending this cycle of hate that’s been plaguing our communities and country. I’d also like to use that week to give back to the poor and provide services to the homeless, like free haircuts or, for women, the full hair salon experience for those who might not have that type of access on a regular basis. I think so many future leaders, doctors, teachers, and so many more will just explode from every state with something like this. I really have so many ideas. I’m passionate about people and making sure we are treated, first and foremost, with unconditional love and also fairly, no matter what differences we may have. I want everyone to believe that their dreams are attainable because, depending on where you’re from, that type of inspiration might not be around.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

This is a very unique question for me because I have to split this between my parents. When I graduated from college in 2012, I went straight into pursuing acting instead of a career in broadcast journalism, which would’ve been steadier with a 401k and benefits. At the time, I was living with my parents until I got on my feet, so that meant I needed transportation to and from auditions. Remember, this was the time well before covid, so there was no such thing as self-tape auditions like it is now. My parents allowed me to use their vehicles to sometimes travel three to five hours to auditions and back home. They continued to support me even during the rough times when acting jobs seemed to dry up in the south. So I’m grateful to have a family like I do who has supported me through it all even when I know it wasn’t easy because, as actors, we, most of the time, spend more money than we make when first starting out, building our careers. My family has been nothing but sacrificial in their support of my career, and it makes it that much easier knowing that I have their support because it tells me that they had and continue to have faith that I will reach my dreams. It makes my biggest role to date in Babylon that much sweeter, and I can’t wait for them to see this big epic movie. It’s always a sweet feeling to see the rewards of your sacrifices over the years. It was special before for my family to see me on television, in movies, or even in commercials, but something like the magnitude of Babylon, I think they’re going to be tickled pink.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

My favorite quote and something I truly live by is “Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard”. In other words, you can’t afford to take days off because there’s always somebody chasing you. It’s a cool way to keep yourself on your toes and never get complacent. Of course, always have self-care in there, but when it comes to chasing their dreams, there are no days off.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

Oh my goodness, I’d love to meet President Barack Obama. He was the very president I voted for in 2008 when I graduated from high school, and then I voted for him again in 2012. The way he led our country was so inspiring to watch. He was/is a true leader. With character and patience, he was someone I was proud to have voted for. I’d literally just sit there and listen to him speak and soak in all his gems.

How can our readers follow you online?

I’m pretty active on social media and love connecting with people, so you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram under @telvingriffin, and I will follow back.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

This was very cool, and I’m humbled to have done this interview. I wish you nothing but success and blessings.

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator