The New Portrait Of Leadership: Ryan Rohrman Of Rohrman Automotive Group On Which Legacy Ideas About Leadership Need To Be Discarded, And Which New Approaches To Leadership Should Be Embraced

An Interview with Karen Mangia

Karen Mangia
Authority Magazine
11 min readJul 15, 2024

--

Servant-Minded is simply putting others first, our employees and our customers. By putting all of these traits together, we are able to strive to be the best versions of ourselves.

We are living in the Renaissance of Work. Just like great artists know that an empty canvas can become anything, great leaders know that an entire organization — and the people inside it — can become anything, too. Master Artists and Mastering the Art of Leadership draw from the same source: creation. In this series, we’ll meet masters who are creating the future of work and painting a portrait of lasting leadership. As part of this series, we had the pleasure of interviewing Ryan Rohrman.

Ryan Rohrman, CEO of Rohrman Automotive Group, is a third generation leader of one of the largest family-owned automotive groups in the U.S. As the company’s leader for over 8 years, his focus has been on driving relationships and providing awesome experiences for modern-day customers and employees, and focusing on innovation and team-focused leadership, all while carrying on the 60-year Rohrman legacy. Under Ryan’s guidance, the Rohrman team has grown to 22 dealerships with more than 1,500 team members, achieving consistent growth across Wisconsin, Illinois, and Indiana through strategic business development and a commitment to enhancing the dealership experience.

Thank you for joining us. Our readers would enjoy discovering something interesting about you. What are you in the middle of right now that you’re excited about personally or professionally?

The Rohrman Automotive Group team is in the process of renovating several of our stores in an effort to elevate the customer experience. Back in May, we had a grand re-opening for our Nissan dealerships in Arlington Heights, IL, and Kenosha, WI, and we have more events planned for later this fall at some of our other locations. You may be wondering why we would “re-open” stores that are already established in the community. They are getting huge makeovers to create an enhanced and modernized car-buying experience, including cutting-edge technology, comfortable seating areas, workout spaces, movie theaters and more, and we think that’s something to celebrate. One of the reasons I’m really excited about this project is that we’re making sure the dealerships are as unique as the communities they serve. As you might imagine, the vibe in the Chicago suburbs is different from the suburbs of Milwaukee, so we’re trying to make sure the dealerships reflect those nuances so people feel a connection from the moment they walk in the door. People will definitely see the difference and we hope they like what they see.

We all get by with a little help from our friends. Who is the leader that has influenced you the most, and how?

I don’t know how I could talk about anyone here who isn’t my grandfather, Bob Rohrman. He was a larger-than-life personality who didn’t know a stranger, and he was an incredible businessman to boot. He started Rohrman Automotive Group more than 60 years ago by opening a used car lot in Lafayette, Indiana. Now there are more than 22 franchise car dealerships with our name on them in Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin — and that growth came under Bob’s tenure. He led with a primary focus on building relationships, something we continue to practice and teach to this day. He believed in growth without debt, and I am proud to say that we run Rohrman Automotive Group without debt to this day. Bob taught me to be intentional about our finances and that has made a huge difference in the way I have chosen to follow in his footsteps. It takes a lot of extra effort to make sure we maintain the best financial footing, but with the foundation Bob laid for us, we are set up for success when it comes to serving our customers.

Sometimes our biggest mistakes lead to our biggest discoveries. What’s the biggest mistake you’ve made as a leader, and what did you discover as a result?

In my role, talent acquisition is a huge focus for me. I am a firm believer in a Top Grading strategy, where I focus on two main key variables when looking for talent. Culture and performance are the two variables that drive my decision-making. The worst decisions as a leader are when I have hired because I have an open spot or hung on to the wrong person too long because I can’t fill the spot. What I have learned from this is that we are better off to not hire because we need to fill a spot and not to be scared to part ways with someone because I can’t fill that spot. Low Top Grading scores are extremely costly to our business model.

How has your definition of leadership changed or evolved over time? What does it mean to be a leader now?

My definition of leadership has been greatly shaped by the example set by my grandfather, Bob Rohrman. He loved his business and grew it to become one of the largest family-owned auto groups in the country. Now that he has passed, his five children (including my father) own the Rohrman Automotive Group and I am proud to be able to carry on the tradition as a leader in the third generation. I watched Bob lead these dealerships for as long as I can remember, but I have a much different perspective now that I’m the CEO.

My grandfather lived in a much different world than the one we’re in now. He was the star of countless TV commercials, and people loved to hear the Rohrman “roar” as part of his personal brand. It was memorable, and Bob built an incredible business, but over time I have learned that being a servant leader goes beyond selling cars.

Many company leaders say they want the very best for their employees, but we truly strive to do the most for the people who come to work for us every day. One way we do that is through the Rohrman Restored Foundation, which has provided more than $1.4 million in support to more than 700 Rohrman families, helping them through health crises, counseling needs, educational support, and financial emergencies. This corporate initiative showcases our Rohrman values, including the commitment to supporting employees and their families when they need it most.

Rohrman Restored is just one of the employee resource programs offered by Rohrman Automotive Group. I believe that being a true leader includes emphasizing employee well-being and growth through ongoing training and support. We are also proud to have a family-first attitude. My family grounds me and I think that by being so connected with them, I am able to be a better leader.

Success is as often as much about what we stop as what we start. What is one legacy leadership behavior you stopped because you discovered it was no longer valuable or relevant?

In the auto industry, the largest change in the last 20 years arguably could be data. We have the ability to aggregate data and with the help of AI we can create audiences that we can efficiently market to. Changing marketing from a shotgun or “spray and pray” mentality to specifically target in-market shoppers has saved millions of dollars in advertising spend and has increased the effectiveness and efficiency of marketing successful campaigns.

What is one lasting leadership behavior you started or are cultivating because you believe it is valuable or relevant?

For me, one of the most important parts of a leader is being physically present in each of the dealerships under our umbrella. Some of our stores are doing great, so I look forward to stopping by to celebrate their successes and encourage them to keep doing what they’re doing — and they’re usually happy to see me. The conversations I have with the general managers, sales staff and service teams inspire me with their enthusiasm and commitment to their customers. As a leader, it’s important for me to visit these dealerships because they don’t do well by accident — we work hard to set a high standard, so it’s on me to make sure we keep that quality consistent.

If any of our stores are experiencing slower periods, I know when I walk in the doors of those dealerships, the people working there may not be as happy to see me. In those situations, it’s my responsibility to make sure I’m coming correct with fresh ideas and ways to help them improve, as well as offering suggestions to motivate their team. As the CEO, they are counting on me to guide them and support them, and our goal is always to help them improve. The best way I can do that is by being there, seeing what they’re seeing and getting in the trenches with them so we can find a way forward together.

With stores in three different states, I put a lot of miles on my personal car, but I think it’s worth it to be able to connect with our teams in-person.

What advice would you offer to other leaders who are stuck in past playbooks and patterns and may be having a hard time letting go of what made them successful in the past?

It can be hard to try new things, but I’ve found that even with change and transformation, we can honor our past, so you don’t have to completely leave your previous successes behind you. In the last 60 years, the Rohrman Automotive Group has witnessed a lot of change — both in the automotive industry and across the country as a whole — but our dedication to both customers and community has never wavered and that has continued to help inform us with our choices today.

As you may know, in the world of brands, trust and recognition are king. Our iconic Rohrman lion has embodied that trust for generations. We knew this symbol was too valuable to abandon entirely, so we gave him a makeover to incorporate into our refreshed brand. Even with a new look, our core values are the same. We’re still committed to providing a transparent, innovative, personable & servant-minded experience, all while prioritizing our customers. And we’re grateful for the legacy that helped bring us where we are today — and to help us drive ahead toward more progress in the future.

Many of our readers can relate to the challenge of leading people for the first time. What advice would you offer to new and emerging leaders?

Treat people the way you want to be treated. It’s the golden rule for a reason! One of the best ways I can think of for leaders to do that is to experience what it is like in your employees’ shoes. For example, my memories in the automotive industry started at a very young age. I started detailing cars on my father’s lot when I was 13 years old, then later worked in a body shop and as a quick lube technician at a local gas station. I sold my first car at my father’s used car dealership at the age of 18. Then after going to college I started working for my grandfather — starting in sales and then becoming a new car sales manager, used car manager, general sales manager and eventually a general manager. I worked my way up and was eventually promoted to a corporate position as the Director of Operations and now I’m the CEO. When I visit the Rohrman Automotive Group dealerships, I can look almost every person in the eye and listen to their experiences while knowing that I have likely done their exact same responsibilities at some point in my career. I treat the people who change oil the same as I treat the people selling our most expensive cars because they all deserve to be treated with dignity and respect. Each of them work hard, many of them are supporting families and loved ones, and new and emerging leaders would be well-served to remember to be kind to anyone you are leading.

Based on your experience or research, what are the top five traits effective leaders exemplify now?

We look at an “A Player” as someone who first fits in with our culture of TIPS — Transparent, Innovative, Personable, and Servant-Minded, but at the same time achieves best-in-class performance KPIs in the role they are in. “A Players” in the Rohrman Group exemplify the TIPS traits. All TIPS traits are top-down behaviors. We are transparent with our employees and expect our employees to be transparent with our customers. From the top, I am always striving to find and bring in the most innovative products in our industry, and we desire for our customers to have a state-of-the-art innovative experience as they engage with our staff. In the retail industry we have to be personable, this ties in with customer experience, because it has to be exceptional. Servant-Minded is simply putting others first, our employees and our customers. By putting all of these traits together, we are able to strive to be the best versions of ourselves.

American Basketball Coach John Wooden said, “Make each day your masterpiece.” How do you embody that quote? We welcome a story or example.

Our promise to our customers is that we provide two simple things: the best products and the best people. With those in mind, each day can be a masterpiece because we know what is truly important. Each day can’t be perfect, but when we know what our priorities are, we can be proud of what we have accomplished.

Navigating the automotive industry over the last 5 years — with all of its ups and downs — has been an exciting challenge. These swings forced our team to make strategic changes to make sure we could stay competitive in a marketplace that changed on a day-to-day basis. Even on the days that aren’t our best, we try to have a holistic view of progress and look forward to the masterpiece that can come the day after based on the foundation we are laying today.

What is the legacy you aspire to leave as a leader?

I would love to continue in my role as CEO for a long time and prepare the business for the next leader in our family. It was incredible to watch my grandfather Bob’s tenure leading the Rohrman Automotive Group for decades and I aspire to carry that torch through my generation. I don’t want to be remembered as being exactly the same as him, because we are certainly different people and will accomplish different things, but our values and goals are the same. Like my grandfather did before me, I believe that everyone deserves a quality car buying experience, and that everyone deserves to have a great vehicle they can rely on. I want to support the Rohrman Automotive Group in our team’s efforts to drive relationships and create amazing experiences for our customers — today, tomorrow and for years to come.

How can our readers connect with you to continue the conversation?

You can connect with me on LinkedIn or follow Rohrman Automotive Group on LinkedIn and Facebook.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to experience a leadership master at work. We wish you continued success and good health!

About The Interviewer: Karen Mangia is one of the most sought-after keynote speakers in the world, sharing her thought leadership with over 10,000 organizations during the course of her career. As Vice President of Customer and Market Insights at Salesforce, she helps individuals and organizations define, design and deliver the future. Discover her proven strategies to access your own success in her fourth book Success from Anywhere and by connecting with her on LinkedIn and Twitter.

--

--