Thriving As A Woman In a Male-Dominated Industry: JoAnna Conte Of Sands Point Risk On The Five Things You Need To Thrive and Succeed as a Woman In a Male-Dominated Industry

An Interview With Kelly Reeves

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
10 min readApr 3, 2024

--

Confidence and Self-Assurance: Believe in yourself. Confidence not only helps in asserting ideas and opinions but also in garnering respect from colleagues and superiors. To build self-assurance, focus on your strengths, expertise, and contributions.

In the United States, fields such as Aircraft piloting, Agriculture, Architecture, Construction, Finance, and Information technology, are still male-dominated industries. For a woman who is working in a male-dominated environment, what exactly does it take to thrive and succeed? In this interview series, we are talking to successful women who work in a Male-Dominated Industry who can share their stories and experiences about navigating work and life as strong women in a male-dominated industry. As a part of this series, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing JoAnna Conte.

JoAnna Conte, COO of Sands Point Risk, has over 25 years of experience across Commercial Underwriting, Specialty Operations & Technology solutions within the insurance industry.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood “backstory”?

My parents immigrated here from Italy, so I was born into a family with strong values and the appreciation to work for everything you earn. From a young age, my parents instilled in me the importance of diligence and self-reliance. For example, if I wanted to go to the movies or the mall with friends, I had to pay for it and it was my responsibility to make the money. As a result, throughout my childhood, I would spend my time finding babysitting jobs to earn that cash. This experience instilled in me very strong values and to appreciate the worth of a dollar. Around the age of 14, I started working at a small-town Managing General Agency (MGA) after school, and by the time I was 18, I was a licensed broker. I went on to college saying I would never work in insurance again but it turns out a continued career in insurance throughout college and beyond was my calling. Upon graduating, I was ahead of most peers by gaining several years of industry experience by the time I turned 21.

Can you tell us the story about what led you to this particular career path?

Some would say I was born into the MGA space. Both my parents worked in the insurance world and I remember I loved helping out my mother at the office after school. I quickly learned interoffice politics and where to lean in but also step back. Spending time in her office provided invaluable insights into the nuances of insurance, shaping my understanding profoundly. During my college years, I consistently pursued roles within the insurance industry. This continuous exposure, combined with my innate talent, reinforced my dedication to excelling in the insurance field.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Throughout my career journey, I’ve encountered both support and challenges, but perhaps the most notable transition was assuming the role of Chief Operating Officer (COO) at Sands Point Risk. A significant impetus for this move was the desire to occupy a C-suite position as a woman in this industry. Having known the CEO, Dennis Kearns, for over two decades, I saw this opportunity as a chance to not only shape my own path but also to demonstrate that women can excel as executives in this field. Additionally, the unique nature of the industry, particularly in Transactional Liability Insurance (TLI), presents an extraordinary opportunity to innovate and make significant strides in an area that remains relatively obscure.

You are a successful business leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

  • Go-getter — Following my tenure at Chubb, I transitioned to QBE — one of the world’s top 20 insurance and reinsurance companies, located in 26 countries — to assume leadership of their operations, spearheading the establishment of a successful operation and captive in the Philippines. I was the sole female figure in these pivotal roles and was instrumental in shaping and expanding these verticals. Recognizing my exceptional contributions, QBE promoted me to oversee all operations in North America.
  • Leader — I was also entrusted to run QBE’s IT roadmap and implement an underwriting system spanning North America, leveraging my comprehensive operational and underwriting perspective. The addition of technology to my repertoire further solidified my credentials. I navigated these endeavors without female mentorship, which today underscores my determination.
  • Resilient — At Sands Point Risk, I’m committed to using my voice to advocate for women in our industry. My goal is to empower young females, particularly in the insurance sector, by serving as the mentor I wished I had in my own career. Through my advocacy, I aim to demonstrate that resilience, coupled with proper corporate etiquette and female leadership, can pave the way for success. Together, we can inspire women to navigate their careers with confidence and resilience.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. Can you help articulate a few of the biggest obstacles or challenges you’ve had to overcome while working in a male-dominated industry?

  • Breaking the Glass Ceiling

Despite consistently demonstrating my management, technological, and underwriting capabilities, and expertise, I was repeatedly overlooked for the COO position and any C-suite or equivalent for that matter. I was burdened with the responsibilities of leading operations without the title or compensation. I was overlooked many times due to my age, even though I had more experience than the average peer. I did not match up to the industry standard of being in the sunset years of my career to make the C-Suite the way most do. I brought in 10+ years over the peers my age given my high school and college years working in the industry. Even still, I had to really show off my skill set and sell myself for any opportunity I could get for executives to see that I had more to offer than most my age.

  • Work/Life Balance

I got married in my early 20s, started a family within a few years, and realized that it became increasingly difficult to network at happy hours and after-work events as it was extremely important to me to spend time with my young family outside of the work day. Not only was I commuting to and from New York City every day and working 10 to 12 hour days, but I also wanted to sit down with my family for a homecooked meal as often as possible. As you can imagine, this not only meant I was burning the candle at both ends but left little time to be present to network and make connections the way most of my male peers did. To overcome this, I began to turn my networking time into coffee and lunches versus drinks and dinners which allowed me the opportunity to balance work and life demands.

Can you share a few of the things you have done to gain acceptance among your male peers and the general work community? What did your female co-workers do? Can you share some stories or examples?

Unlike many other sectors, insurance has lagged behind in technological advancements, often relying on outdated systems dating back to the 1980s. I saw the opportunity to innovate and disrupt this traditional sector and played a pivotal role in launching QBE’s sole IT roadmap to date. With a unique perspective on technology systems, I’ve focused on developing solutions that enhance operational efficiencies where many others have not. This has allowed me to lead male-dominated teams and lead conversations around investments in modern systems as a way to stay competitive in this evolving landscape.

What do you think male-oriented organizations can do to enhance their recruiting efforts to attract more women?

It’s evident that the industry requires a wake-up call to prioritize female executives in underwriting, which I firmly believe is the foremost strategy for industry improvement. A few strategies could include:

  • Implement Gender-Neutral Recruitment Practices: Review and revise recruitment processes to ensure they are gender-neutral. This also includes using gender-neutral language in job descriptions and avoiding biases in candidate evaluation and selection.
  • Provide Equal Opportunities for Advancement: Ensure that female employees have equal opportunities for career advancement and leadership roles within the organization. Employers should implement mentorship and sponsorship programs to support the career growth of female employees.
  • Support Women’s Professional Development: Invest in training and development programs tailored to the needs of your female employees, including corporate etiquette, leadership development, skills training, and networking opportunities. Male leaders can take this a step further and encourage female participation in industry conferences, seminars, and workshops.
  • Cultivate a Supportive Work Culture: Create a supportive work culture that values employee diversity, promotes work-life balance, and encourages open communication and collaboration. At Sands Point, CEO Dennis Kearns recognizes and celebrates the contributions of women from any level to the organization.

Based on your opinion and experience, what are the “Five Things You Need To Thrive and Succeed as a Woman In a Male-Dominated Industry?”

  • Confidence and Self-Assurance: Believe in yourself. Confidence not only helps in asserting ideas and opinions but also in garnering respect from colleagues and superiors. To build self-assurance, focus on your strengths, expertise, and contributions.
  • Resilience and Perseverance: In male-dominated industries, setbacks and obstacles may be more prevalent. It’s crucial to develop resilience and perseverance to overcome these challenges. This involves bouncing back from failures, learning from those experiences, and maintaining focus on long-term goals.
  • Networking and Mentorship: Establishing a strong network of mentors and sponsors can provide invaluable support and guidance for female employees, especially those just starting out in their careers. Mentorship from individuals who have navigated similar challenges can offer valuable insights and advice to these young professionals.
  • Continuous Learning and Skill Development: Keeping abreast of industry trends, sharpening skills, and seeking out opportunities for professional development are essential for staying competitive. Continuous learning not only enhances expertise but also boosts confidence and credibility in male-dominated sectors.
  • Advocacy and Assertiveness: Advocating for oneself and others is crucial in challenging gender biases and stereotypes. Assertiveness involves speaking up for equitable treatment, fair opportunities, and recognition of achievements. By advocating for inclusivity and diversity, women influence others to create more supportive and inclusive work environments.

If you had a close woman friend who came to you with a choice of entering a field that is male-dominated or female-dominated, what would you advise her? Would you advise a woman friend to start a career in a field or industry that’s traditionally been mostly men? Can you explain what you mean?

Yes! I learned a long time ago to look a challenge in the eye and give it a wink. The more societal norms make you feel as if you shouldn’t do something, the more you should use that fuel to fire the step forward and walk the path. While it may not be easy, it will be worthwhile. Not only as an opportunity to learn more about yourself when faced with adversity but to challenge the norm. I come from the school of thought that if you learn how to work hard, put in the grit, fall a few times, and be willing to keep standing up — anything is possible.

Have you seen things change for women working in male-dominated industries, over the past ten years? How do you anticipate that it might improve in the future? Can you please explain what you mean?

  • There have been significant changes in the past few years for women- from policy changes to leading companies committing to 100% pay equity but there is still so much more to do. By continuing to prioritize diversity, equity, and inclusion, we can create a future where women have equal opportunities to thrive and succeed in all industries.
  • Diversity in leadership is not only a trend but is now of interest to investors and shareholders — without this, companies will not survive. So, in pushing for diversity in the C-suite, we will not only dismantle existing barriers but also serve as an inspiration for future generations of women leaders.
  • With hybrid workforces now a norm, we can expect improvement in the way workplace policies include flexible work arrangements, childcare support, and family-friendly benefits, facilitating a more conducive environment for women to thrive in their careers.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

Besides Lil Kim? Probably weren’t expecting me to say that! I have the utmost respect for self-made women who came from nothing and created something. I have such admiration for world-renowned spiritual leader and best-selling self-help author, Gabbi Bernstein, and mindful movement and meditation leader Melissa Wood Tepperberg. Both are strong women who have brought meaning and inspiration to so many women around the world. This is not about insurance but more about mindset, wellness, and the approach to life that creates a tremendous inspiration in my life. Ultimately, I try to always be the person I want to look up to and hope that one day my daughter will feel the same.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

--

--