Thriving As A Woman In a Male-Dominated Industry: Nicola Knobel On The Five Things You Need To Thrive and Succeed as a Woman In a Male-Dominated Industry

An Interview With Kelly Reeves

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
14 min readFeb 4, 2024

--

Continuous Learning and Adaptability:

Story: I embraced lifelong learning and adapted to changes in the industry. This adaptability allowed me to stay relevant and lead in dynamic environments. Continuous learning and adaptability are key in male-dominated fields.

In the United States in 2022, fields such as Aircraft piloting, Agriculture, Architecture, Construction, Finance, and Information technology, are still male-dominated industries. For a woman who is working in a male-dominated environment, what exactly does it take to thrive and succeed? In this interview series, we are talking to successful women who work in a Male-Dominated Industry who can share their stories and experiences about navigating work and life as strong women in a male-dominated industry. As a part of this series, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Nicola Knobel.

Nicola Knobel is a trailblazing figure in the field of health, safety, and enterprise risk management, hailing from New Zealand. With a career that spans diverse sectors, Nicola has made her mark with a unique leadership style that blends technical expertise with a profound understanding of human dynamics. She is recognized for her unwavering commitment to fostering inclusive and safe workplaces. In addition to her professional achievements, Nicola is an avid podcaster and blogger, where she shares valuable insights on leadership, workplace culture, and well-being.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood “backstory”?

Certainly! I grew up in a vibrant and diverse community in South Africa, where I was encouraged to explore various interests and pursue my passions. From a young age, I had a strong curiosity about the world around me, and this curiosity eventually led me to a career in industries like oil and gas and mining, which were traditionally male-dominated.

My journey into these male-dominated fields was both challenging and rewarding. It was an era where women were breaking barriers and forging new paths, and I was determined to make my mark. My childhood taught me resilience and the importance of embracing diversity, which has been invaluable in navigating these industries and advocating for inclusivity and equality.

Can you tell us the story about what led you to this particular career path?

My career path in health, safety, and enterprise risk management was shaped by a combination of personal interests, a desire for meaningful work, and a commitment to making a positive impact in industries like oil and gas and mining.

It all began with a deep fascination for understanding how organizations can ensure the safety and well-being of their employees while maintaining efficient operations. This curiosity led me to pursue education and training in health and safety.

As I entered these traditionally male-dominated industries, I was struck by the challenges and opportunities they presented. While there were hurdles to overcome, I was driven by a strong sense of purpose — to create safer and more inclusive workplaces where everyone could thrive.

Over the years, I continued to refine my expertise and leadership style, focusing on blending technical knowledge with a deep understanding of human dynamics. This holistic approach allowed me to make a meaningful impact in my career, advocating for workplace safety and fostering environments where diversity and inclusion were celebrated.

In essence, it was a combination of curiosity, a commitment to safety, and a determination to break down gender barriers that led me to my career in health, safety, and enterprise risk management.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

One of the most interesting and impactful experiences in my career occurred during a major project in the oil and gas industry. We were working in a remote location, facing complex technical challenges, and navigating a highly regulated environment. What made this project particularly memorable was the diverse team we had assembled.

While the industry had traditionally been male-dominated, this project brought together individuals from various backgrounds, including women who were breaking gender barriers. The dynamic and collaborative nature of the team was inspiring. We all recognized the significance of our work, not just in terms of the project’s success but also as a symbol of progress in the industry.

Throughout the project, we faced unexpected hurdles, but our diverse perspectives and determination allowed us to overcome them. It was a powerful reminder of the value of inclusivity and how diverse teams can drive innovation and excellence. This experience reaffirmed my commitment to advocating for diversity and inclusion in traditionally male-dominated industries.

You are a successful business leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

Three character traits that have been instrumental to my success as a business leader are:

  1. Empathy: Empathy has been a cornerstone of my leadership style. It allows me to connect with team members on a deeper level and understand their needs and concerns. One example is when a team member was going through a personal challenge that was affecting their work. Instead of reprimanding them, I took the time to listen, offered support, and provided the flexibility they needed. This not only helped the individual but also strengthened trust and loyalty within the team.
  2. Resilience: Resilience has been crucial in navigating the challenges of male-dominated industries. I’ve faced situations where my ideas were initially met with skepticism due to gender bias. However, I persevered, continually improving my proposals and demonstrating their value. Over time, this resilience paid off as I gained the respect and trust of my colleagues and superiors.
  3. Adaptability: In rapidly evolving industries like oil and gas and mining, adaptability is essential. I’ve had to embrace change, whether it was technological advancements or shifts in market dynamics. One notable example is when our company needed to transition to more sustainable practices. I championed this transition, and my adaptability in navigating this change contributed to our long-term success and positive reputation.

These character traits have not only played a pivotal role in my success but have also been instrumental in creating a positive work culture that values empathy, resilience, and adaptability.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. Can you help articulate a few of the biggest obstacles or challenges you’ve had to overcome while working in a male-dominated industry?

Working in a male-dominated industry has presented its share of challenges and obstacles throughout my career. Some of the key challenges I’ve had to overcome include:

  1. Gender Bias: Gender bias has been a persistent challenge. There were instances where my ideas were initially dismissed, or I had to work harder to prove myself due to preconceived notions about women in leadership roles. Overcoming this bias required consistently demonstrating my expertise and leadership capabilities.
  2. Lack of Representation: In many male-dominated industries, there is a lack of representation of women in leadership positions. This lack of role models and mentors can make it challenging for women to envision their own career progression. To address this, I actively sought out female mentors and role models both within and outside my organization.
  3. Work-Life Balance: Balancing a demanding career in a male-dominated industry with family responsibilities can be challenging. The long hours and frequent travel associated with these industries can impact work-life balance. I had to find strategies to prioritize self-care and family while excelling in my career.
  4. Networking and Connections: Building networks and connections is essential for career growth. However, in industries where men dominate, it can be challenging for women to access these networks. I had to proactively seek opportunities to network, attend industry events, and join professional organizations to expand my connections.
  5. Safety and Inclusivity: In industries like mining and construction, safety and inclusivity can be particular concerns. Ensuring the physical safety of female employees and fostering a culture of inclusivity requires dedicated effort and advocacy.

Despite these challenges, I believe that each obstacle I’ve faced has contributed to my growth as a leader. It’s through overcoming these hurdles that I’ve been able to advocate for diversity and inclusion and drive positive change within these industries.

Can you share a few of the things you have done to gain acceptance among your male peers and the general work community? What did your female co-workers do? Can you share some stories or examples?

Gaining acceptance among male peers and the general work community in male-dominated industries involved a combination of strategies and actions. Here are some of the things I’ve done and observed my female co-workers do:

  1. Competence and Confidence: Demonstrating competence and confidence in my abilities was crucial. I made sure to stay informed about industry trends, regulations, and technical knowledge. This not only earned the respect of my male peers but also boosted my confidence in discussions and decision-making.
  • Story: During a project meeting, I was the only woman among male colleagues. By confidently presenting a well-researched proposal and engaging in a constructive debate, I gained their respect and contributed significantly to the project’s success.

2. Effective Communication: Clear and effective communication was essential. I learned to articulate my ideas and opinions concisely and assertively. Being an active listener also helped in understanding and addressing the concerns and perspectives of male colleagues.

  • Story: In a high-stakes negotiation, I maintained a composed and clear communication style, addressing the concerns of male counterparts while staying firm on our objectives. This approach led to a mutually beneficial agreement.

3. Leveraging Male Personality Traits: Recognizing that leadership traits are not gender-specific, I embraced and leveraged certain “male” personality traits, such as assertiveness, decisiveness, and resilience, when they were appropriate.

  • Story: In a crisis situation, I displayed assertiveness and decisiveness, taking swift action to mitigate risks. My male colleagues appreciated the leadership, and it reinforced my position as a capable leader.

4. Mentorship and Sponsorship: Seeking mentorship and sponsorship from male leaders within the organization was instrumental. Having male advocates who recognized and promoted my potential played a significant role in gaining acceptance.

  • Story: A male executive in my organization became a mentor and sponsor, providing guidance and advocating for my career advancement. His support helped me navigate the corporate landscape effectively.

5. Promoting Inclusivity: Actively promoting inclusivity within the workplace was essential. Encouraging open discussions about diversity and advocating for policies that support gender equality contributed to a more inclusive work community.

  • Story: I initiated a diversity and inclusion initiative within my department, where both male and female colleagues actively participated. This initiative fostered a culture of inclusivity and acceptance.

In essence, gaining acceptance in male-dominated industries involved a combination of competence, effective communication, leveraging appropriate personality traits, mentorship, and advocating for inclusivity. These efforts not only benefited me but also created a more diverse and inclusive work environment for all.

What do you think male-oriented organizations can do to enhance their recruiting efforts to attract more women?

Male-oriented organizations can take several proactive steps to enhance their recruiting efforts and attract more women:

  1. Diverse Hiring Panels: Ensure that hiring panels and decision-makers are diverse and inclusive. Having women involved in the recruitment process can help create a welcoming environment.
  2. Unbiased Job Descriptions: Review and revise job descriptions to eliminate gender bias. Use gender-neutral language and focus on skills and qualifications rather than gender-specific traits.
  3. Equal Pay and Benefits: Demonstrate a commitment to pay equity and equal benefits for all employees, regardless of gender. Transparency in compensation practices is crucial.
  4. Flexible Work Arrangements: Offer flexible work arrangements that accommodate the diverse needs of all employees, including women who may have family responsibilities.
  5. Employee Resource Groups: Establish Employee Resource Groups (ERGs) or affinity groups that focus on gender diversity and inclusion. These groups provide support and networking opportunities for women.
  6. Mentorship and Sponsorship Programs: Implement mentorship and sponsorship programs that pair experienced women leaders with emerging talent. These programs can facilitate career growth and retention.
  7. Leadership Development: Invest in leadership development programs specifically designed to support the advancement of women within the organization.
  8. Inclusive Policies: Develop and communicate inclusive policies related to maternity leave, childcare support, and parental leave to demonstrate a commitment to work-life balance.
  9. Unconscious Bias Training: Provide training on unconscious bias to all employees involved in the hiring process. This can help eliminate bias in decision-making.
  10. Community Engagement: Engage with external organizations and communities that promote gender diversity and inclusion. Participating in events and initiatives can help attract female talent.
  11. Transparency: Be transparent about the organization’s commitment to diversity and inclusion in recruitment materials and on the company website.
  12. Feedback Mechanisms: Establish feedback mechanisms where employees, including women, can provide input on the recruitment and workplace culture.
  13. Data Collection: Collect and analyze data related to gender diversity within the organization. This data can inform diversity goals and track progress.
  14. Recognition and Awards: Participate in industry recognition and awards programs that highlight gender diversity and inclusion efforts.

By implementing these strategies and fostering a culture of inclusivity, male-oriented organizations can create a workplace where women feel valued, supported, and encouraged to pursue careers in traditionally male-dominated fields.

Based on your opinion and experience, what are the “Five Things You Need To Thrive and Succeed as a Woman In a Male-Dominated Industry?”

Certainly, here are the five key things that women need to thrive and succeed in a male-dominated industry, along with stories or examples for each:

  1. Confidence in Your Abilities:
  • Story: Early in my career, I was the only woman in a high-level meeting in the oil and gas industry. I had prepared extensively and confidently presented my proposal. Despite initial skepticism, my confidence in my expertise and the value of my ideas ultimately won over my male colleagues. Confidence in your abilities is essential for success.

2. Resilience in the Face of Challenges:

  • Story: In a male-dominated industry, I faced resistance and even gender bias. However, I remained resilient, using challenges as opportunities for growth. Over time, my resilience helped break down barriers, and I earned respect for my perseverance.

3. Strong Support Network:

  • Story: I’ve had the privilege of working with supportive mentors, sponsors, and colleagues who believed in my potential. A strong support network can provide guidance, advocate for your career growth, and offer valuable insights.

4. Continuous Learning and Adaptability:

  • Story: I embraced lifelong learning and adapted to changes in the industry. This adaptability allowed me to stay relevant and lead in dynamic environments. Continuous learning and adaptability are key in male-dominated fields.

5. Advocacy for Inclusivity:

  • Story: I actively advocated for inclusivity and diversity within my organization. This advocacy led to the establishment of initiatives that benefited all employees. Women in male-dominated industries can thrive by championing inclusivity.

These five elements, combined with determination and a commitment to breaking down barriers, have been instrumental in my own journey and can empower women to excel in male-dominated industries.

If you had a close woman friend who came to you with a choice of entering a field that is male-dominated or female-dominated, what would you advise her? Would you advise a woman friend to start a career in a field or industry that’s traditionally been mostly men? Can you explain what you mean?

I would advise my close woman friend to choose a career path based on her interests, skills, and passion rather than solely considering whether it’s male-dominated or female-dominated. It’s important for individuals to pursue careers that align with their personal goals and aspirations, rather than being limited by gender stereotypes.

If she is genuinely interested in a field that has been traditionally male-dominated, I would encourage her to pursue it with confidence. I would emphasize the importance of being prepared to face potential challenges, including gender bias or stereotypes, but also highlight the opportunity to break down barriers and make a meaningful impact.

On the other hand, if she is drawn to a field that has been traditionally female-dominated, I would offer the same advice: follow her passion and make choices that align with her goals. Gender should not be the sole determinant of career decisions.

Ultimately, my advice would center on pursuing a career that aligns with her interests and values, and being prepared to navigate and challenge gender norms in any field she chooses. Success is about following one’s passion and making a positive impact, regardless of the industry’s historical gender composition.

Have you seen things change for women working in male-dominated industries, over the past ten years? How do you anticipate that it might improve in the future? Can you please explain what you mean?

Over the past ten years, I have observed significant changes and improvements for women working in male-dominated industries. These changes include:

  1. Increased Awareness: There is a growing awareness of the importance of gender diversity and inclusion in traditionally male-dominated fields. Many organizations now recognize the value of diverse perspectives and are actively working to create more inclusive environments.
  2. Networking Opportunities: Women, including myself, have been proactive in networking with other women in male-dominated industries. Networking groups and associations have emerged, providing support, mentorship, and a platform for women to share experiences and insights.
  3. Leadership Roles: More women are occupying leadership roles in these industries. As a health, safety, and enterprise risk manager, I have seen women take on executive positions and influence decision-making.
  4. Policy Changes: Some industries have implemented policies and practices aimed at promoting gender equality and work-life balance. These changes include flexible work arrangements, parental leave policies, and pay equity initiatives.
  5. Educational Initiatives: Efforts to encourage young women to pursue STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) fields have increased. These initiatives aim to bridge the gender gap in technical and engineering roles.

Looking ahead, I anticipate further improvements for women in male-dominated industries:

  1. Continued Advocacy: Women will continue to advocate for gender equality and inclusivity, pushing for policy changes and cultural shifts within organizations.
  2. Mentorship and Sponsorship: Mentorship and sponsorship programs will expand, providing more opportunities for women to access guidance and support from experienced leaders.
  3. Networking Strength: Networking among women in male-dominated industries will strengthen, creating a powerful community for sharing knowledge and resources.
  4. Leadership Development: Organizations will invest in leadership development programs specifically designed to nurture and advance women leaders.
  5. Policy Evolution: Policies that support gender diversity and work-life balance will evolve and become more widespread.

While progress has been made, there is still work to be done to achieve true gender equality in these industries. However, the commitment of women, networking initiatives, and organizational changes give me confidence that the future holds even greater opportunities for women to thrive in traditionally male-dominated fields.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

If given the opportunity, I would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with Melinda Gates. Melinda Gates is not only a prominent figure in the world of philanthropy and technology but also a strong advocate for gender equality and women’s empowerment. I greatly admire her dedication to addressing pressing global issues, such as global health and poverty, while actively promoting gender diversity and inclusivity.

During our meal, I would be eager to discuss her experiences in advocating for women’s rights and her insights into driving positive change in both male-dominated industries and the philanthropic world. Her leadership and commitment to making the world a better place inspire me, and I believe a conversation with her would be enlightening and motivating.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

--

--