Tim Connon Of ParamountQuote On How Simplifying & Decluttering Your Life Can Make You Happier

An Interview With Drew Gerber

Drew Gerber, CEO of Wasabi Publicity
Authority Magazine
8 min readDec 17, 2022

--

Make the Holidays the times you begin to think and purchase new products. This allows you over a year to really enjoy what you have.

We live in a time of great excess. We have access to fast fashion, fast food, and fast everything. But studies show that all of our “stuff” is not making us any happier. How can we simplify and focus on what’s important? How can we let go of all the clutter and excess and find true happiness? In this interview series, we are talking to coaches, mental health experts, and authors who share insights, stories, and personal anecdotes about “How Simplifying and Decluttering Your Life Can Make Us Happier.” As a part of this series, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Tim Connon.

Tim Connon was born in Tennessee and raised in Florida. His father sold security systems as his career and took Tim along with him when he was young. This taught Tim the value of sales and he later grew up to become the founder of ParamountQuote Insurance Advisors.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dive in, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you share your “backstory” with us? What was it that led you to your eventual career choice?

My father moved us to Florida when I was about 5 years old. As I got older I began to listen to my father rehearse his door knocking pitch for selling security alarm systems to individuals. By the age of 10 I memorized his entire presentation and he began taking me with him to work where he would allow me to knock on prospects doors and pitch them. This taught me so much value in sales and the money he shared with me for working with him allowed me to buy the first original XBOX gaming system. When I got older I never forgot the valuable skills he taught me this is when I became licensed to sell insurance and founded my company ParamountQuote.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career?

Yes, the most interesting thing that happened to me in my career was employing local people in my town under me. I found myself not only working for myself but now providing jobs and security to my local community. I will never forget how that felt.

Are you working on any exciting new projects now? How do you think that will help people?

Our most exciting project is opening a brand new larger office so we can also assist local seniors that would like to walk in and sit down with an agent face to face. This will help people who are not as familiar with technology and online e-signatures like most of our clientele. We want to be able to provide assistance to both tech savvy individuals as well as individuals that are not used to technology.

Can you share with our readers a bit about why you are an authority on the topic of “How Simplifying and Decluttering Your Life Can Make You Happier”?

I am an authority on this subject because when you start a business all of our time begins to be invested into the business. When you are short on time you do not have as much time as before to deal with a cluttered lifestyle. I found myself not having the time to cook my dinner every single night or even my lunch for that matter. I do not like eating out and spending extra money so I realized I needed to make a change in order to use my time more effectively. This resulted in simplifying and decluttering my life.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the main focus of our interview. We live in a time of excess. We have access to so much. But studies show that all of our “stuff” is not making us any happier. Can you articulate for our readers a few reasons why all of our possessions are not giving us happiness?

Simply put possessions do not bring happiness. They can act as a distraction and stress reliever but they do not bring happiness because at the end of the day they are just empty objects. In addition to this with particular objects comes and up keep to them. If you have a nice large house you are responsible for keeping it clean and the maintenance. You may like how it looks from the road but going back to a big empty home that requires constant cleaning can become stressful rather than bringing happiness. The same can be said about a nice car that you drive. The point is happiness comes from within and being content with what you have rather than wanting more.

On a broader societal level, how do you think this excessiveness may be harming our communities and society?

It causes envy and competition if you see your neighbor across the street with a brand new vehicle you may find yourself wishing you had that vehicle. Same thing goes for young children and video games, a child gets the newest game then within weeks another new game comes out that they want and they have not even finished the game they just got. We consume movie/tv shows constantly every week there is a new show or movie to keep up with after we just got done enjoying the previous movie or show. It trains us to constantly be looking for the newest thing to enjoy rather than just enjoy what we already have obtained.

The irony of struggling with happiness in modern times is glaring. In many places in the world today, we have more than ever before in history. Yet despite this, so many people are unhappy. Why is simplifying a solution? How would simplifying help people to access happiness?

Simplifying helps people access happiness because they begin to realize they do not need something new every week to enjoy themselves. Simplifying is a solution because it teaches us to savor the simple things we have. For example I do not prepare a brand new dinner every single night like a lot of people do. Instead I like to meal prep for my fitness goals and to have something consistent and cheap to just heat up at night quickly when I come home from work. This allows me to forgo any kind of stress of “oh what am I going to make tonight for dinner?” that could be in my mind. This in and of itself can steal happiness and cause unnecessary stress. When something is pre prepped you never worry about what your going to eat because you already planned it and know. In addition to this it is a recipe you can enjoy on a regular basis.

Can you share some insights from your own experience? Where in your life have you transformed yourself from not having enough to finally experiencing enough? For example, many people feel they don’t have enough money. Yet, people define abundance differently, and often, those with the least money can feel the most abundant. Where in your health, wealth, or relationships have you transformed your life?

Yes I have been in a place where I felt as if I did not have enough and now I am content. One of the biggest factors would be my health. I used be obsessed with being very lean and having a very visible six pack for my own benefits however I soon learned from other lean athletes that being 5% body fat actually makes them feel sick and tired a lot. I learned afterwards that being that lean is scientifically proven to be bad for your health. I then realized instead of chasing a move star physique I should be content with having a felt stomach and decent muscle mass. This led to me changing my goals from 5% body fat to being at a 10–15% body fat which is still a flat stomach with visible abs. I have achieved this physique since and maintain it this makes me content I have no desire to get any leaner or get bigger muscles I have settled on the fact that I feel good and look good and that is enough for me.

People, places, and things shape our lives. For example, your friends generate conversations that influence you. Where you live impacts what you eat and how you spend your time. The “things” in your life, like phones, technology, or books impact your recreation. Can you tell us a little about how people, places, and things in your own life impact your experience of “experiencing enough?”

Yes I have one best friend I consider a brother and I have no desire to seek out any other befriends I am content having one close best friend. I have a desktop computer and laptop for work when I travel and this is all I need as far as technology goes I have no desire to purchase further technology when both my computers service my work needs. The place I live in is a rural town where people raise their own food and I can actually purchase my grocerys from local farmers. This gives me an overwhelming feeling of content knowing I get some of the best wholesome food a person could ask for. So I have a great best friend, great technology that allows me to work and do anything else I need to do online and a town full of people raising organic food. I have truly experienced enough due to all of this.

What advice would you give to younger people about “experiencing enough?”

It has to be done in person, you cannot experience enough just watching TV or going on the internet to experience enough takes interacting and being in life and realizing the things you have and people are all the experience you need.

This is the main question of our interview. Based on your experience and research, can you share your “five ways we can simplify and declutter our lives to make us happier?”

1. Stop over complicating simple things like what you should have for dinner.
2. Develop a strategy to use your time effectively instead of overwhelming yourself.
3. Become a slave to your schedule throughout the week so you have an effective routine.
4. Make the Holidays the times you begin to think and purchase new products. This allows you over a year to really enjoy what you have.
5. Set realistic expectations for yourself. Consider finances, your fitness goals, family goals. Make your expectations and goals simple and obtainable. This will eliminate the feeling of wanting more.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would inspire a movement based on minimalism and seeking after self sustainable living.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

They can visit our website https://paramountquote.com/

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for the time you spent on this. We wish you only continued success.

About The Interviewer: For 30 years, Drew Gerber has been inspiring those who want to change the world. Drew is the CEO of Wasabi Publicity, Inc., a full-service PR agency lauded by PR Week and Good Morning America. Wasabi Publicity, Inc. is a global marketing company that supports industry leaders, change agents, unconventional thinkers, companies and organizations that strive to make a difference. Whether it’s branding, traditional PR or social media marketing, every campaign is instilled with passion, creativity and brilliance to powerfully tell their clients’ story and amplify their intentions in the world.

--

--

Drew Gerber, CEO of Wasabi Publicity
Authority Magazine

For 30 years, Drew Gerber has been inspiring those who want to change the world