Todd Miller Of The Guest House Austin: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became a Restaurateur

An Interview With Martita Mestey

Martita Mestey
Authority Magazine
7 min readAug 24, 2024

--

Too chaotic (affect you in negative way) easy get overwhelmed and turn to not so good behaviors.

As a part of our series about “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became a Restaurateur”, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Chef Todd Miller.

Chef Todd Miller, Executive chef at Austin’s The Guest House which opened in Spring of 2024 and has become a hotspots Austin restaurant and bar since, welcoming notables from Michael Jordan to Steve Aoki. Miller’s career, spanning over 25 years, is marked by collaborations with some of the world’s finest chefs and contributions to prestigious restaurants across globe-spanning locations, showcasing a leading edge in culinary trends, styles, and service excellence. Raised in Utah with a deep-seated passion for food, Miller’s early culinary experiments alongside his grandfather were significantly influenced by cooking shows. This interest deepened during his tenure at Utah’s Deer Valley Ski Resort, prompting a serious commitment to the culinary arts and service industry. Miller’s professional narrative includes international roles, spearheading the launch of multiple restaurants and hotels, managing teams up to 200, and driving revenues between $7 million to over $40 million, all while ensuring food quality and consistency. Notably, his journey includes being on the opening culinary team for John George’s Prime Steakhouse at the Bellagio, the opening culinary team for the Four Seasons Hotel in Las Vegas and serving as the founding corporate executive chef for STK, to name a few achievements. His current home has him shaking things up in Austin at The Guest House. (https://www.welcometgh.com)

His culinary philosophy, deeply rooted in Modern American Cuisine, alongside a profound wine knowledge and adherence to contemporary service standards, has positioned him as a pivotal figure in the operational success of several high-end steakhouses and restaurants, such as The Guest House.

Recognized in esteemed publications like Gourmet, Bon Appétit, and the New York Times, and awarded Restaurant Hospitality’s “2005 Rising Star,” Miller’s influence extends beyond the kitchen. He has graced television screens on The Today Show, Good Morning America, Beat Bobby Flay, New York Housewives, and Chopped showcasing his culinary expertise.

Beyond his professional pursuits, Miller finds solace in the outdoors, sports, and quality time with his family, including his wife Roberta of 13 years and their daughter, Emmanuelle. His passion for collecting antiques and art, amassed during his travels and residences in various states and countries, reflects his appreciation for cultural and historical narratives, enriching his personal and professional life.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to ‘get to know’ you a bit. Can you share with our readers a story about what inspired you to become a restaurateur?

I still feel like there is a lot to learn. I cannot pinpoint one specific thing that inspired me, but I know for a fact that my childhood has a lot to do with it. Specifically, eating my grandparents’ food played a significant role. I was fortunate to be surrounded by cooking and baking, as both of my grandparents were amazing cooks. Another motivating force was my mother, who worked as a server to support our family. Her work in the food business allowed me to see what goes on behind the scenes — what I like to call the “collected chaos” of restaurant operations. Fun fact was that my first job was washing dishes, so I experienced this mayhem firsthand.

Do you have a specific type of food that you focus on? What was it that first drew you to cooking that type of food? Can you share a story about that with us?

I like to focus on how I can create and support a dish rather than on the type of food or cuisine. My emphasis is on the way I cook. It is important for me to highlight cooking with the seasons. Unfortunately, as Americans, we often want everything immediately and struggle to appreciate the beauty of seasonal produce. I would say the greatest challenge is sourcing ingredients because of this. I strive to serve everything fresh and delicious and prefer to offer a little bit of everything on the menu.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that happened to you since you became a restaurateur? What was the lesson or take away you took out of that story?

I would say the funniest story that has happened to me since becoming a restaurateur is actually quite ironic. It revolves around the concept of “saving face” and the reputation and respect one holds. The story began when I moved overseas to the Maldives to work for the Four Seasons hotel. This experience made me realize just how small I am in the grand scheme of things and gave me a significant perspective shift.

When I first arrived in the Maldives, I thought, “Wow! I’m in paradise.” However, reality hit hard when I faced 12–14 hour workdays and no air conditioning in the kitchen, which forced me to change my chef coat at least three times a day. What was truly eye-opening was seeing the local people’s radiant smiles. They were so content with so little, swaying their heads left and right, which made me see them as bobbleheads and laugh inwardly.

In all seriousness, they taught me a different perspective. While for them, working at the Four Seasons was the pinnacle of their careers, for us Americans, it could easily be just another job. I gained a lot of gratitude from this experience and am forever appreciative of the opportunity to see more of the world and different cultures.

Can you tell us a story about the hard times that you faced when you first started your journey? How did you overcome this obstacle?

The hardest challenge I faced when I first started my journey was working every single holiday and being away from my family. I eventually became desensitized to the holidays. It took me a while to get over it. Although it was a sad trade-off, I have overcome it by accepting the situation and learning how to navigate balance.

In your experience, what is the key to creating a dish that customers are crazy about?

For the longest time, I have been on a quest to learn everything about food. This journey involved a lot of experimenting, especially with specials. I discovered that it’s important to understand what customers want and are looking for. Guests are usually seeking a good chicken dish, a good fish, pasta, and salad. My creative side shines when it comes to making a dish as fresh and delicious as possible. I am passionate about the details, quality, and level of ingredients, and this passion becomes evident when customers taste the food.

Personally, what is the ‘perfect meal for you’?

The perfect meal would be my mother’s goulash, grandmother’s warm homemade bread with tons of butter and her homemade preserves. Lastly, my other grandmother’s beans, red chili, and homemade tortillas.

Where does your inspiration for creating come from? Is there something that you turn to for a daily creativity boost?

My inspiration comes from using what is available and fresh. One thing that bothers me is that people often aren’t willing to wait for the proper season for produce. I draw my creativity from local produce when it is in abundance, at its highest quality and ripeness which will usually bring better pricing.

Are you working on any new or exciting projects now? What impact do you think this will have?

We are opening Etta in Scottsdale as well as a second Guest House in Las Vegas. I maintain my excitement for the future by having an evolving menu and avoiding stagnancy. This mindset allows me to stay on top of things and remain relevant. I like to observe where guests are going and what trends they are interested in. For example, we updated the menu in Austin to include Dover sole with baked lemon and charred asparagus. We will monitor its popularity and replace it with something else if it doesn’t sell well.

What advice would you give to other restaurateurs to thrive and avoid burnout?

I don’t believe in burnout; if I did, I would leave the business. Fortunately, I can’t see myself doing anything else in the world other than what I am doing. My advice for staying in this position is to remain involved and engaged with customers. I am always excited to be part of the chaos and look forward to the new plates coming out. The challenges keep me going.

Thank you for all that. Now we are ready for the main question of the interview. What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Started as a Restaurateur” and why?

  • Long hours (12–14 hour minimum days).
  • Forget about holidays (miss out on holidays with family and friends).
  • You have to clean also (your own station).
  • Hot/sweaty environment (kitchen heat).
  • Too chaotic (affect you in negative way) easy get overwhelmed and turn to not so good behaviors.

What’s the one dish people have to try if they visit your establishment?

The chicken tenders! We do them to order, involving breading and frying. They are the best chicken tenders that I have had! Absolutely delicious.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

Honesty and respect towards everyone always bring good things.

Thank you so much for these insights. This was very inspirational!

--

--