Top Lawyers: Almuhtada Smith of ARS Counsel On The 5 Things You Need To Become A Top Lawyer In Your Specific Field of Law

An Interview With Chere Estrin

Chere Estrin
Authority Magazine
14 min readMar 31, 2022

--

Healthy skepticism — I’d love to live in a world where we can just “take someone’s word for it” but unfortunately lawyers cannot. We have to double and triple-check everything, conduct proper due diligence and anticipate worst-case scenarios all the time. I usually carry healthy skepticism when negotiating a deal or solving a problem for a client. That allows us to get it right and prevent something from coming back to bite you in the future.

The legal field is known to be extremely competitive. Lawyers are often smart, ambitious, and highly educated. That being said, what does it take to stand out and become a “Top Lawyer” in your specific field of law? In this interview series called “5 Things You Need To Become A Top Lawyer In Your Specific Field of Law”, we are talking to top lawyers who share what it takes to excel and stand out in your industry.

As a part of this interview series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Almuhtada Smith.

Almuhtada Smith is the principal attorney at ARS IP Law Firm, P.C. (“ARS Counsel”). With more than a decade of experience, Almuhtada regularly handles complex transactional matters, providing counsel to start-up enterprises, entertainment professionals, venture-backed companies, and family-owned businesses in areas including intellectual property, corporate finance, mergers and acquisitions, licensing, e-commerce, securities compliance and corporate governance. Almuhtada represents a wide range of companies and individuals, including media, emerging technology companies, fashion and beauty companies, authors, and individual artists.

Almuhtada spent the first decade of his career at several prestigious law firms, including nearly five years at corporate powerhouse Jenner & Block. His high-quality work led to his selection in the 2021 Southern California Rising Stars list, an honor reserved for only 2.5 percent of Southern California attorneys.

A native of New Jersey, Almuhtada graduated magna cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa, with a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Morehouse College. Almuhtada later attended UCLA School of Law, where he earned his J.D. degree. He serves as Chairman of the Board for the Los Angeles Southwest College Foundation. He is also a lifetime member of the John M. Langston Bar Association, where he formerly served on the board of directors as treasurer. When he is away from his law practice and philanthropic endeavors, he enjoys the arts, live music, and attending sporting events.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series. Before we dig in, our readers would love to get to know you a bit more. What is the “backstory” that brought you to this particular career path in Law? Did you want to be an attorney “when you grew up”?

In terms of my background/origin story, it begins with my hometown roots raised in the Aspen Place Projects of Passaic, New Jersey. Passaic is an urban city nestled between Newark and Paterson, and about ten miles from New York City. Although I grew up in a poverty-stricken area, I always felt an abundance of love and protection thanks to my family. Despite the trouble that loomed in my neighborhood, I was always shielded from negative influences. I largely attribute my family and community for helping me become who I am today. I did well enough in school to earn an academic scholarship to Morehouse College, where I cultivated meaningful relationships and life-changing experiences.

As a child, I didn’t necessarily want to be an attorney but I admired influential Black leaders and community changemakers like Johnnie Cochran. I knew that becoming a lawyer was a sign of success and “making it big” — so perhaps I did want to be an attorney subconsciously. I also observed my mom advocate for folks as a Housing Authority Commissioner and be a champion for folks in our community who were in danger of being evicted. I always planned to be an advocate for my community and decided to attend law school my freshman year at college. My education and experiences at Morehouse provided me with the opportunity to attend the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) School of Law. I immediately fell in love with the city of Los Angeles, where I’ve continued to build my professional network and community connections. After law school, I worked for several law firms, including the Cochran Firm and an AM 100 ranked firm, before hanging my own shingle. I launched ARS Counsel to provide affordable, high-quality corporate, intellectual property, and entertainment law services that centers and caters to Black entrepreneurs and other people of color at its core.

Can you tell us a bit about the nature of your practice and what you focus on?

ARS IP Law Firm, P.C. (“ARS Counsel”) is a boutique law firm that handles all facets of intellectual property, licensing, corporate, real estate, and entertainment law. We are a modern law practice that combines the reach and expertise of a large firm with the personal attention and cost structure of a boutique firm. Our services support those who are designing, saving, constructing, and/or creating the culture of the “built environment.” By definition, the term built environment, or built work, refers to the human-made environment that provides the setting for human activity, ranging in scale from buildings to cities and beyond. I’m proud to say that ARS Counsel works with some of the most innovative entrepreneurs, creators, and inventors who are shaping the world around them. As society continues to shift towards fusing the real world with the digital world, we’re also planning to expand our services into the metaverse as well.

You are a successful attorney. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? What unique qualities do you have that others may not? Can you please share a story or example for each?

I think three unique qualities I have that make me a successful attorney are 1) the ability to zoom out 2) the ability to stay calm and centered while under pressure and 3) my strong collaboration skills

I think you have to see the forest from the trees as a lawyer. Having full context and understanding the bigger picture allows you to think creatively about solutions to the problem at hand. It’s all problem solving as opposed to completing work for a client as if it’s a singular task or specific assignment.

Staying calm and centered is important when clients and co-workers are stressed out and unable to think clearly or only reactively Clear minded thinking is also important when solving problems, allowing me to focus on solutions and not get distracted from any volatile emotions.

Lastly, coalition building and working well with others is another major key to my success as an attorney. Other folks have insights and experiences that you don’t have so it’s often more efficient and effective to combine forces.

Do you think you have had luck in your success? Can you explain what you mean?

I think luck amounts to preparation to meet the moment. I always say you should stay ready so you don’t have to get ready. There have been plenty of moments when I’ve risen to the occasion due to my preparation. I am able to adapt to change and believe in serendipitous moments of opportunity. I’m also very fortunate to “make it” out of the environment I grew up in and often feel survivor’s guilt.

Do you think where you went to school has any bearing on your success? How important is it for a lawyer to go to a top-tier school?

Well, the legal field often relies on prestige and reputation for social currency, as many industries and professions do, and thus the law school on your resume definitely matters when you’re just starting out. It will matter less years down the road when you’ve added experience and an impressive track record, but it also depends on the direction you’re looking to take your career. If your goal is to work in corporate “BigLaw”, the school you attend and your grades at that top school definitely matter. If you plan to become an entrepreneur or go work for your family’s business, it matters less. If you have amazing soft skills and are great at nurturing relationships for business development, I think where you went to law school has even less bearing on your success. I think folks can become amazing trial lawyers without attending a tier 1 ranked law school as well. A lot of it depends on your work ethic and network. There are also amazing regional schools that may not be ranked in the US News top 50 but have great reputations locally. If you know you’d like to stay local to help take care of family or whatever reason, attending a less expensive regional school and crushing it there can be a better move. To that point, Tier 1 law schools can be really expensive, so your financial aid package matters as well. Attending a school ranked a bit lower for free can be better for you long term if you have a strong plan and do not want to be saddled with debt.

Based on the lessons you have learned from your experience, if you could go back in time and speak to your twenty-year-old self, what would you say? Would you do anything differently?

I would tell him I’m really proud of him for persevering through difficult circumstances and thriving at Morehouse College. I’d probably advise him to get some work experience prior to law school, consider JD/MBA programs, find good mentors, and continue to show love to family and friends. However, all of my experiences have led me to this moment and I’m grateful for the opportunity to give back, be a more vocal leader and tell my story.

This is not easy work. What is your primary motivation and drive behind the work that you do?

I love service and advocating for historically underrepresented folks. I’m grateful to my ancestors for making a way for me. I want to fight to make the world more equitable for Black folks and other people of color. I strive to be an active participant in creating the world I want to live in and would like my family, friends, and future generations to live in.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Outside of my law practice, I serve as Chairman of the Los Angeles Southwest College Foundation.

Los Angeles Southwest College Foundation is a nonprofit public benefit corporation 501 ©(3) organized to provide specialized programs and supportive services including but not limited to — resources for initiatives, programs and scholarships through fundraising activities directly benefiting the college’s students, faculty and staff while committed to making higher education attainable. The dedicated efforts of our eighteen board members support our future leaders and ensure social equity for our students who are most in need, be it because of food scarcity, homelessness, or the lack of a support system.

Los Angeles Southwest College is the product of decades of hard work, vision, and perseverance to achieve the dream of its principal founder, Odessa B. Cox. The Cox family and a small group of community members started fighting in 1947 to bring a comprehensive community college to South Los Angeles. The path to today was not easy and was the result of the dedication of many.

Today, roughly 75 percent of LASC’s students are first-generation college students, 97 percent are students of color, and 85 percent need financial aid. The socioeconomic factors affecting LASC students, call for strong commitment in facilitating and supporting an environment of excellence. LASC boasts more than 450 faculty, staff, and administrators passionately dedicated to helping students achieve academic success.

We are planning a golf tournament, a virtual event called ‘Oh Sh*t Moments’, and a number of other exciting fundraising projects.

Where do you go from here? Where do you aim to be in the next chapter of your career?

I am looking forward to the mature business phase. The next chapter of my career will be exiting the start-up and early establishment phase and entering the more sustainable expansion and job creation phase.

Ok, fantastic. Let’s now shift to discussing some advice for aspiring lawyers. Do you work remotely? Onsite? Or Hybrid? What do you think will be the future of how law offices operate? What do you prefer? Can you please explain what you mean?

I think law firms are either rapidly adapting to the realities of the COVID-19 landscape or are unable or unwilling to change. Of course, zoom meetings and electronic payments have become extremely important. Many law firms are shedding office space and that downsizing trend will continue. I work in a shared office space where I share resources like printers, conference rooms, and receiving mail. I also utilize other businesses in my shared office space — like notary services. The work-from-home experience has proven that attorneys can do without big private offices and lots of paper — cloud services are more important than ever. I prefer a hybrid work environment where I’m in the office a few days a week and work from home the rest of the time. I like to incorporate walking, meditation, and health & wellness more broadly into my day.

I think the future of how law offices operate is the hybrid environment with a focus on mobility and efficiency. I think the pandemic has emphasized the importance of health and wellness, and law firms will have to be more mindful of encouraging diversity, mental and physical health, culture, connection, and building trust among colleagues. We were also able to all sit home and witness the police killing of George Floyd and others. As we all know, those events led to a ton of corporate diversity pledges — including within law firms. We now have to shift our focus to holding folks accountable for said pledges.

How has the legal world changed since COVID? How do you think it might change in the near future? Can you explain what you mean?

Well, COVID shut down in-person court for a while. Virtual court is a new thing that is here to stay and the (virtual) court system will continue to evolve. I think there is more value in niche practice areas and differentiation is critical for law firms of all sizes.

I think online law schools will become more prevalent in the future and I think we’ll eliminate a lot of the rules around state bar exams. Passing one bar exam will allow you to practice law in multiple states with less red tape. Lastly, Legal Tech, meaning the use of technology to provide legal services, will continue to disrupt the industry. According to LegalTech Fund, venture investment in the legal industry grew from under $1 billion a year in 2018 to over $4 billion a quarter in 2021.

We often hear about the importance of networking and getting referrals. Is this still true today? Has the nature of networking changed or has its importance changed? Can you explain what you mean?

Absolutely. Networking is still very important and the nature of networking has drastically changed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It has largely moved online and social media has become more important for making these professional connections and participating in industry conversations. I enjoy making new connections, getting advice, and insight on new opportunities. More recently, virtual networking has broken down many geographical barriers. I encourage people to connect in unconventional ways with people in various sectors. As a business owner in the middle of a pandemic, I use resources like Lunchclub and LinkedIn to connect with new people all over the world. I also join groups on platforms like Facebook and Clubhouse. However, I think it’s most important to leverage your current network and rekindle relationships with folks you haven’t connected with in a while. Most of my business comes through referrals and that is due to all of the networking and relationship nurturing I’ve done over the years.

Based on your experience, how can attorneys effectively leverage social media to build their practice?

With over 4 billion active users, social media should be a critical part of any attorney’s marketing strategy. I’ve used social media to build awareness around my law firm, stay top of mind, and direct traffic to my website. I usually hire a marketing consultant to help create visuals, create a posting calendar, and assist with creating hashtags and keywords. We can also use social media to build communities and research competitors. I use Instagram, Facebook, and Linkedin to project an approachable, culturally relevant image, and share information on our services with our audience. I personally find Facebook groups of attorneys helpful. I’ve gained useful information and even worked with attorneys I met through intellectual property law groups on Facebook. I’ve received referrals from various social media groups as well. Some additional ways I plan to leverage social media this year are 1) posting client reviews/testimonials, 2) post more quality content, and 3) take new professional photos

Excellent. Here is the main question of our interview. What are your “5 Things You Need To Become A Top Lawyer In Your Specific Field of Law?” Please share a story or an example for each.

  1. Intellectual curiosity — As a business and intellectual property attorney, we must exhibit curiosity not only about the ever-changing state of the law itself but also about the economic and geopolitical factors that impact client’s interactions in today’s global economy. For example, we now have to advise clients on legal issues related to metaverse technology and business models including blockchain, NFTs and DAOs. It’s important for us to stay up to date on what is happening in the business world and how it impacts intellectual property protection. Lots of reading and podcast listening helps.
  2. Strategic relationship building / Fostering a Network of Collaborators — No one can do it alone. And no person is an island. Even the most self-sufficient of us are peninsulas, maybe. I believe developing social capital can open up doors for new opportunities, vital information and allow you to lift others while you climb and achieve your goals.
  3. Creativity — I think most great attorneys are creative. Whether it’s negotiation strategy, coming up with arguments on behalf of clients, or applying case law to those arguments, us lawyers have to go outside our comfort zones to think about problems in abstract and creative ways. Of course, lawyers are valued for logical thinking, attention to detail, and sharp analytical skills, but I think great lawyers are able to craft creative solutions and consistently solve problems.
  4. Healthy skepticism — I’d love to live in a world where we can just “take someone’s word for it” but unfortunately lawyers cannot. We have to double and triple-check everything, conduct proper due diligence and anticipate worst-case scenarios all the time. I usually carry healthy skepticism when negotiating a deal or solving a problem for a client. That allows us to get it right and prevent something from coming back to bite you in the future.
  5. Good negotiation skills — As a primarily transactional attorney, I negotiate deals for clients often. At a minimum, you should have a grasp of your client’s BATNA — which means “best alternative to a negotiated deal”. Once you know how much leverage you’re working with, negotiations should be pretty smooth.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch, and why? He or she might see this. :-)

There was a recent internet debate on whether you’d have dinner with Jay Z or take $500,000 instead of dinner. Of course, the correct answer is always taking $500,000. Jay Z seemingly confirmed this with a tweet from Tidal that simply read “Take the $500K”. So for the record, I’m taking $500,000 over a private meal with anyone! However, I’d love to share a meal with Stevie Wonder. I admire Stevie as a musical genius, activist, and greatest musician of all time, in my view. I’d love to discuss Songs in the Key of Life, Innervisions, and his role in helping to establish a holiday for my Morehouse brother, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. I’d also discuss his creativity, curiosity, passion, and inspiration. Lastly, I’d like his thoughts on one of my favorite poems by Dudley Randall — ‘A Poet Is Not a Jukebox’. I’m curious because although Stevie made some political songs, his songs about love are the most timeless and inspirational. I’d bet that in a hundred years, Stevie’s songs about love will still bring people joy.

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for the time you spent with this. We wish you continued success and good health!

--

--

Chere Estrin
Authority Magazine

Chere Estrin is the CEO of Estrin Legal Staffing, a top national and international staffing organization and MediSums, medical records summarizing.