Michael Mathias of Whereoware: 5 Non-Intuitive Ways To Grow Your Marketing Career

Kage Spatz
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readFeb 1, 2021

--

Michael Mathias

Not all of the returns are necessarily measured in ROI, but there should be a reason you’re making an investment in time, people, and capital. Just because you can do something doesn’t always mean you should.

As a part of my Marketing Strategy Series, I’m talking with fellow marketing pros at the top of their game to give entrepreneurs and marketers an inside look at proven strategies you might also be able to leverage to grow your business or career. Today I had the pleasure of talking with Michael Mathias.

Michael Mathias is Chief Executive Officer of digital agency Whereoware. Mathias has an impressive track record accelerating growth for companies at all stages, with expertise spanning marketing, software, professional services, big data, analytics, and technology.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would love to learn a bit more about you. Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

Very early in my career, I was in pure advertising, or at least I thought I was. I imagined becoming an Advertising Executive — corner office on Madison Avenue and all. At my first ad agency, I worked for a large client with very robust, multi-channel advertising needs. And unfortunately for this client, things got pretty screwed up, sending the wrong materials and feeds to the wrong outlets. So with ignorance on my side, I jumped in to sort out the “data” issues, and have found myself ever since at the intersection of marketing, advertising, data, media, technology, and analytics.

Back when I started out, there wasn’t a “digital marketing” career path, and no one sought out that type of career. Marketing technology wasn’t yet the thing it is today, and advertising usually met up with data and technology by mistake. By showing a proclivity toward the intersection of the creative and the coordination and integration piece, I ended up going into digital marketing by accident.

Can you share a story about the funniest marketing mistake you made when you were first starting and

--

--

Kage Spatz
Authority Magazine

Acquire New Customers, Build New Assets, & Generate New Cash-flow on my dime. 100% Risk-Free: only pay after New Money hits Your Account. Apply at Spacetwin.com