Wendy O’Donovan Phillips of Big Buzz: 5 Non-Intuitive Ways To Grow Your Marketing Career

Kage Spatz
Authority Magazine
Published in
10 min readNov 8, 2020

--

Wendy O’Donovan Phillips

It comes down to putting people first. Dig deeper than analytics. Deeper than target audience. Even deeper than target persona.

Wendy O’Donovan Phillips is CEO of Big Buzz, an agency delivering strategy and consultation to drive focused marketing efforts for executives and teams nationwide. Wendy is the author of two books available on Amazon, and she has been published in many healthcare journals.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would love to learn a bit more about you. Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

My father published several newspapers on the East Coast, so communications were in my DNA. I started my first marketing firm in 2001: a boutique copywriting agency called The Writing on the Wall. I did a lot of work for full-service marketing agencies in Los Angeles and Denver. Over and over I watched as account managers overpromised, production teams underdelivered and marketing teams and their clients became frazzled and unfulfilled. “There must be a better way,” I thought. I started Big Buzz in 2007 with one sole purpose: to create a focused team of marketers that would create…

--

--

Kage Spatz
Authority Magazine

Acquire New Customers, Build New Assets, & Generate New Cash-flow on my dime. 100% Risk-Free: only pay after New Money hits Your Account. Apply at Spacetwin.com