Trey Sazon: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became An Artist

Give yourself grace. Not everything is going to come out perfect and not everything is going to be your best work. You have to allow room for error, room for improvement and room to grow. You have to know and understand that things are going to happen and that this is the case for everyone, not just you. So be patient with yourself and be kind to yourself because not everyone is going to be.

As a part of our series about “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became An Artist” I had the pleasure of interviewing Trey Sazon.

Trey Sazon is the next big thing in the Spanish urban music scene. He has built a very loyal and engaged following on his own and has recently been signed to a record label. As life would have it, he was recently in a horrible car accident where he almost lost his life and learned the importance of living your life to the fullest and gratitude.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up with a very tight-knit family and have always been a family man. My mom has been my rock since I can remember and we were always back and forth between Puerto Rico and Chicago. Since I was a kid, I had a passion for making people laugh and for music as well. People always knew me as the life of the party and the “funny one.”

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

Music has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. As luck would have it, I started going viral on social media just for being myself. From there, I was able to grow and scale my passion for music and was then signed to a record label where I could really dive into music.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

When I got signed to a record label, we went out to celebrate. On my way home from the celebratory dinner that night, a semi-truck slammed right into me. I ended up in the hospital with severe injuries for a long time. I thought it was all over, but instead, it was just the beginning. It refueled my passion for life and music because I realized how short life can be and that we really need to appreciate every day we have on this planet.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I’m currently working on my first full album and am extremely excited! I can’t give up too many details yet, but it will be here soon!

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

I have been blessed to meet all kinds of people from all over the world. But the most interesting are always the people I can learn something from. I have met many people in the music industry who have given me advice that has stuck with me to this day. But honestly speaking, I think some of the most interesting people I have met were people in the spiritual community. Because I’ve learned that it takes working on yourself from the inside to be able to take care of everything on the outside. So, without all of the spiritual advice, I have received, the musical advice wouldn’t have been as powerful.

Where do you draw inspiration from? Can you share a story about that?

I draw inspiration from my own life. I have had really amazing things happen to me (like traveling the world), but I have also had horrible things happen to me (like multiple near-death experiences). They all inspire me equally and I’m able to express myself through my art.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I have a lot of eyes on me so I try to use that in a positive way. I love to make people laugh and smile so I try to spread happiness through all of my content.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Find a balance so that you don’t burn yourself out. I have had days where I work for hours upon hours, day after day, week after week, and when I come out of that cave I am so burnt out that none of my work came out how I wanted. It’s better to work in shorter periods and give yourself breaks so you don’t overwhelm yourself.
  2. Don’t put so much pressure on yourself that you explode. I always felt so much pressure to get things done, but I realized I was the one putting the pressure on myself and all that was doing was creating stress and overwhelm. And because of that, nothing was really ever getting done.
  3. Stay organized because without organization you’re not going to have any real direction. I used to just do things on the fly and whatever I felt like doing when I woke up, but without a plan, nothing concrete ever gets completed.
  4. It’s okay to accept help whenever you need it. I used to want to do everything myself, but letting go of that control and allowing other people to help you in areas that you’re not necessarily the best at will take your career a lot further. That’s why people have managers, accountants, advisors, etc. You can’t do everything, there isn’t enough time in the day.
  5. Give yourself grace. Not everything is going to come out perfect and not everything is going to be your best work. You have to allow room for error, room for improvement and room to grow. You have to know and understand that things are going to happen and that this is the case for everyone, not just you. So be patient with yourself and be kind to yourself because not everyone is going to be.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-

I definitely want to create a space where kids without access to the resources they need can come and work on their passion without having to worry about the finances behind it. Where we can help them become successful and teach them everything they need to know.

We have been blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she just might see this.

Eckhart Tolle because his lessons have been life-changing for me.

What is the best way our readers can follow you on social media?

They can find me at www.instagram.com/treysazon and at www.twitter.com/treysazon

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.