Unstoppable: How Alexis Lott Has Redefined Success While Navigating Society With Sickle Cell Disease

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readFeb 27, 2022

--

I wish people understood that SCD is a genetic disorder and that it is not only seen in African Americans. Anyone can carry or develop the disease as long as the SCD gene is present, no matter what their skin color is.

As a part of our “Unstoppable” series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Alexis Lott.

Alexis Lott is a marketing professional who lives in Columbus, Georgia with her husband. She was diagnosed with sickle cell disease as a newborn and began her work in advocacy as a young woman after experiencing multiple complications from the disease that required lifesaving blood transfusions. She is passionate about sharing her story to build awareness of the impact sickle cell disease has on the lives of patients and their families.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! It is really an honor. Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you share your “backstory” with us?

I have been living with sickle cell disease (SCD) since I was born. I currently I serve my world by advocating for others affected by the condition, building personal…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator