Unstoppable: How Anthony Lipari Of Brevard Achievement Center Has Redefined Success While Navigating Society After A Severe Stroke

An interview with Kelly Reeves

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
6 min readNov 6, 2023

--

Another is that people think they know the limitations of people with disabilities, but they don’t. Almost all the people in my younger years would give me the easiest jobs because they were afraid of giving me a job that was a little difficult. They didn’t want to see me fail, but failing is a lesson in life that every person has to come in contact with. We want to be part of something that is bigger than ourselves.

As a part of our “Unstoppable” series, we had the pleasure of interviewing Anthony Salvatore Lipari.

Anthony Salvatore Lipari, 48, was born and raised in Long Island, New York. At the age of 4, he had a severe stroke on the right side of his body. He moved to Florida, because of the cold temperatures in New York, where he met his wife 17 years ago. Anthony now works as a TEAM LEAD CSR (Customer Services Representative) at the Brevard Achievement Center’s Rockledge call center where he loves to help people.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! It is really an honor. Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Do you feel comfortable sharing with us the story surrounding how you became disabled or became ill?

Yes, I am very comfortable sharing my story about how I became disabled, what I like to call “abled.”

One day when I was 4 1/2 years old, I was playing outside of my house. My mother called me in for a nap. I wanted to keep playing but my mother said just take a nap for one hour. I took a nap and while I was sleeping, I woke up crying. My mother heard me and ran into the bedroom to see why I was crying. At that moment, I was having the beginnings of a severe stroke. The doctors said that I had a blood clot on the left side of my neck which cut off blood circulation to the brain. I was one of 10 children in New York who had a severe stroke back in that time.

What mental shift did you make to not let that “stop you”?

I remember getting home from the hospital after having the stroke, being in a wheelchair on the second story of the house. I was sitting in front of a big window feeling sorry for myself. Then, something came over me and I said to myself, “Okay I have two options. One, sit here in this wheelchair and live my life, or get up from the wheelchair and start living your life.” At that time I made the mental shift.

Can you tell our readers about the accomplishments you have been able to make despite your disability or illness?

After my stroke, I remember the doctor talking to my mother and I about the things that I would and wouldn’t be able to do as I grew into, such as swimming or climbing trees. I remember hearing that, and I asked the doctor “Are you going to be working here in a couple of years?”

About 10 years later, my mother and I went back to the same hospital. As we were walking down the hallway, we came to the same doctor’s office. “Do you remember me?” I asked the doctor and he said “Yes!”

I asked him “Did you remember telling me all the things that I wouldn’t be able to do as I grew up? Well Doc, I learned how to swim, ski, and even ride a bike and more. I can do all those things you told me I wouldn’t be able to do.”

What I am saying to the reader out there is do not listen to what other people say about you, because you only know what you are capable of.

What advice would you give to other people who have disabilities or limitations?

Never give up and live every day like it is your last.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are?

The Lord above blessed me with a lot of people along the way but the two people that are special to me are:

My mother, Linda Lipari, took me everywhere. She took me to doctors’ appointments (year after year), physical therapy, and summer camp for disabled children in the first stages of my stroke. These interventions helped me to learn everything over again (walking, talking, writing, playing, etc.)

The second person is my beautiful Peruvian queen, my wife, Paola Lipari, of 17 years. Before I met my wife, I was very shy. I rarely talked to girls as I used to think that every girl would look at my right hand. I was lacking confidence in myself, but everyday I spend with her opens a big door of confidence. Now, I am so happy that I talk to people that I don’t even know. She made me think about other ways to live my life instead of always thinking about my disability. She is my rock!

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

It’s kind of a natural thing that I do, but I love to smile when I enter a room. I always try to look at things positively and treat others with kindness. This is what I say to myself, “Treat others the way you would like to be treated, with kindness and always with respect.”

Can you share “5 things I wish people understood or knew about people with physical limitations” and why.

1. The first thing that I wish people understood about people with physical limitations is that they did not have a choice, it just happened to them.

2. Another is that people think they know the limitations of people with disabilities, but they don’t. Almost all the people in my younger years would give me the easiest jobs because they were afraid of giving me a job that was a little difficult. They didn’t want to see me fail, but failing is a lesson in life that every person has to come in contact with. We want to be part of something that is bigger than ourselves.

3. Another thing is that a lot of disabled people are very patient. They understand their disability and people with true patience can help others.

4. People with disabilities have a lot of endurance. Just think a little of what we had to go through in life while others were having a good time. We, the disabled, were fighting for our lives every day, getting over obstacles and barriers in life. But in the end, we shine brighter than the sun because of our endurance.

5. In life, we want to stand out from the rest of people. We do things that most people don’t want to do, like go that extra mile, or stay a little later at your job, or make your family, friends, and coworkers feel good after a not so good day. We want to go the extra mile for others.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”?

“Never say that you can’t. But always say ‘How can I?’”

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this :-)

When I was growing up, I used to watch BodyBuilding on TV. I noticed their transformations in their bodies and the impact that made with their professional and personal careers. I loved listening to inspirational speeches from stars like Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone, and Dwayne Johnson.

Thank you so much for the time you spent with this interview. We wish you continued success and good health!

--

--